We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a winter pint”
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Brelade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Smugglers Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 St Brelade B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place for a winter pint”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

There is something very satisfying about having a pint at the Smugglers on a cold winters day after a walk along the beach or a paddle in the kayaks. The warm fire provides a nice welcome, the staff are friendly and there is usually something interesting from a real ale perspective. If you get the chance an evening visit when local band Sgt Pipon are playing is an added bonus. The food is good value and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Last night was the first time I'd been here for a couple of years, as I felt on my last visit it had let it's game slip a bit, and with so much choice in Jersey you go elsewhere next time...
They had 3 real ale beers on last night, not as many as some pubs in the UK would have, but more that other pubs in Jersey I could mention.. so beer chosen my thoughts turned to food.
The 'Tennerfest' menu had plenty of choice so eventually I had the hot breaded brie to start, very tasty... then flame grilled chicken espetada with chips & salad which was ok, the chicken was a little dry and not quite as much of it as I would have liked.. but the desert was lovely, strawberry meringue.
All it all it was good value for money, £15 for the 3 courses.
So overall an improvement on my last visit, but just let down on a few points short of excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
719 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This pub is our favourite place to eat when we visit Jersey and on our last week's stay, we visited it three times. That still wasn't enough!

The choice of food is excellent and the staff are friendly, if a little rushed due to the pub always being busy. The food is good value for money and extremely tasty. I had the best scampi here that I've ever had anywhere!

The atmosphere of the pub is good and quite cosy and atmospheric. Read up on the place mats about its history and look at the artifacts on the walls. After your meal, walk down to the beach and take lots of photographs of this lovely view! Large car park across the road from the pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The title says it all...great food and huge portions...a place that is not artificial with very friendly staff.
A rather drunken foul mouthed local (I think) added some unwanted colour to our visit but left just after our food arrived meaning we enjoyed out meal in a more peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

To be fair we didn't eat. We just wanted a nice pint at a 'camra' pub. Well perhaps I've been spoiled! My local offers a warm friendly welcome with at least 6-10 great beers to choose from-sadly 2 beers, 1 cider and a lager in a dark, sparce environment did not 'cut the mustard' What a disapointment!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

There was 20 of us which the accommodated for us perfectly. Seated all together and service was very efficient. The atmosphere was great and no one minded us bring a little louder than the normal crowd. Food was a really good standard. And we has a great evening.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
690 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Situated near the beach this old pub offers a wide selection of well kept real ales and a good range of traditional pub food (which is sensibly priced and the portions generous) in the winter there's a log fire and there is usually a good blend of locals and visitors. The road down is narrow and steep but there's a large car park opposite the pub and a super beach to walk off the trip to the pub.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
578 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
762 reviews
3.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
741 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
3.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smugglers Inn

Property: Old Smugglers Inn
Address: Quaisnè, St Brelade JE3 8AW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in St Brelade
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Old Smugglers Inn Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing