We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Settle in for a cosy drink”
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Brelade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Smugglers Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 St Brelade B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a gem of a pub. It's a delight. It is a real, old school, un-trendy, intimate drinkers pub at the end of a Lane, with nothing beyond except the stunning beauty of st Brelades bay and it's glorious golden sands, big sky and dramatic rocks. The Smugglers looks as though it hasn't changed in a century, dark wood, warm fire, fantastic beer. Friendly landlord, what more could you want? Thank god this is not a children's playground, a family cafe or a revamped theme pub, and it doesn't do push- chair friendly, (although I am sure families are welcome of course) but definitely dog friendly, walker friendly, plenty of standing room, plenty of bar room, and lots of charm. I could settle in for an afternoon's soak with pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Old Smugglers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Visited twice in the last week, had a great ploughmans lunch on Thursday, so good we went back Sunday for the roast dinner. Great pub with friendly staff, excellent service and VERY good beer! Giant free car park outside. Visit for lunch, then walk around the bay to St Brelades. You won't be disappointed. A very atmospheric genuine old smugglers haunt.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank shorty1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great Inn with plenty of seating, it was very busy when we visited but we were made to feel welcome and the service was good and friendly. The food was lovely, and it was great to see homemade desserts.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We parked in the huge car park opposite and ventured inside this olde world pub and we weren't disappointed. They had plenty of choice on the menu and specials on the board. I had salmon which was beautifully cooked and presented, my husband had a curry which he said was delicious. Service was very good despite it being a busy evening.
If the weather is good you can have a lovely stroll on the beach afterwards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Parked in public car park virtually opposite (& just up from the slipway & beach).

Very quiet inside, with only two other tables at out lunchtime visit, which probably explains why we were served by the barman as there was only one other member of staff front of house. In any case we were warmly welcomed & chose to sit in the bar area.

Beer was excellently kept (they have been accredited by Casque Mark & are recommended by CAMRA), my wife had sea bass fillets which she said were excellent, my fish & chips were quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I was out last sunday(12th May) with my daughter for a drive+then lunch.As we were getting hungry and were around St Brelades area we decided to visit The Old Smugglers Inn.We thought this was a safe bet as we had been before and were very pleased with everything.

We were seated by the first of the two waitresses on duty in the rear of the restaurant.Very polite
and attentive.Recommended various dishes on the menu.Unfortunately she then dissapeared and left us in the company of her colleague the second waitress.This lady took our order with
very little interest.She was abrupt when i asked her for some more bread and instead of smiling and getting some she thought it better to" Very Firmly " state that it was chargeable
with a very unfriendly look.At that point i felt like leaving the place,but reluctantly and privately swallowed my dissapointment.I thought i was imagining it all until my daughter pointed out that
i wasnt.
We were never once asked if the meal was ok or if we needed anything else.
Not even when we quickly finished our meal and paid the waitress at the till with the plates
still on the table and the fact that we werent leaving a tip(which i usually do).

The restaurant itself had a cosy feel to it.It was about half full.
The food was timely and good.
Our table was unbalanced.The top was loose,so that if you put your arms on it the other
end would tilt upwards.A bit like a see-saw.
However the service was frankly shocking.
We were not made to feel welcome.
Doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kaleem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Visited here in early evening and there did seem to be quite a few locals about. The staff were very friendly and efficient, but the food (although piping hot and quickly served) was very much 'pub food'. I would class it more of a drinkers pub that serves food, than a restaurant.. But good if you've come off the beach and don't feel like dressing up!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Niamh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
2.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,023 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,985 reviews
4.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay View Guest House
Bay View Guest House
#5 of 21 in St Helier
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smugglers Inn

Address: Quaisnè, St Brelade JE3 8AW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in St Brelade
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Old Smugglers Inn Jersey/St Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing