We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for lunch!”
Review of The Goose

The Goose
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great spot for lunch!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A pub that is really great for a leisurely lunch - also good for dinner, having been there both, but personally I feel for tourists to Jersey, it is a pub that is very much inhabited by locals in the evenings. Whilst this is fine for many, it can feel a little intimidating and full on for some.

The onion rings are simply sublime...absolutely massive, not at all greasy and truly delcious! The Goose Burger is also well worth a shout...very very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    92
    37
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport gwent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yummy pub grub”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Mmmm first decent meal from a week in jersey! I had a steak and ale pie, and by far one of the best meals iv ever had.... So yummy and reasonably priced!! The only thing I would say about is the way it's dished up, the pie was in a mini cauldron potatoes in a mini bucket and all placed on a wooden slab, which made it impossible to eat.... Would much prefer an old fashioned plate where you can enjoy your food much more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantelb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

really nice place, didnt look much from the outside but inside the decor is bright and clean. Food good and well presented. Reasonable prices too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just popped in here randomly with my mum for dinner, had been here before and not been overly amazed in the past. But this time I was blown away by the food, my mum had a duck curry which was really tasty and I had a steak with mushroom sauce and chip. You could tell it was all home made and it all exceeded our expectations and BIG portions to! Will definitely be coming back for more soon :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

After not being at The Goose for a while we decided to go at the weekend for lunch with friends. Immediately after walking in we were served by a very cheery barman and shown to our table. The wine was good and the service was really good. I chose the large mussels and they were really delicious. All our friends equally enjoyed their lunch too. I look forward to going back for a lovely pub lunch again!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mezz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goose also viewed

St Aubin, St Brelade
 

Been to The Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing