We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average.!.! need to consider guests”
Review of Ambassadeur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambassadeur
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average.!.! need to consider guests”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We returned to Jersey after 15 years if regally holidaying there and we came as a large family, for old times.

When we booked the hotel we explained there was an infant in the party nada disabled member as well. We needed 4 rooms to accommodate us.

Now the hotel was aware of our needs and when we checked in after a lengthy trip we were all fairly tired and irritable to be fair.

The rooms were allocated and we headed for them, my wife and me along with our son were allocated L1 we had 3 suitcases, pushchair, baby and all the kit you need with an 7 month old, our room was on the second floor which the lift took us to, we then headed down the hall, though 2 sets of doors, then along another hall down 4 stairs to find our room last at the end.... Not practical at all with a baby.. Very difficult to access.

The room itself was spacious but very hot I mean very hot, we opened the windows and no breeze as the opposite side were the sea view rooms were the breeze swept though. I enquirer to why it was so hot and told heat rises and it's warm outside, I was given a fan which was much needed.

I would ask for another room if your allocated this with an infant... It would have made more sense to offer ground floor rooms for families. Also this room backs onto the pool and if your trying to get your little one to sleep little chance as the noise is loud all day till around 7pm.

The hotel was clean the staff were great our waitress was fantastic really tried hard was quick remembered orders and what you like always smiling.

We went half board and the food was good 4 course every night and great portions. Variety was good to fresh fish nightly,roasts, pasta really good. The only let down on the food I found was they cu corners, we were on jersey island home of the jersey royal potato, yet we we reserves salted tinned, boiled, mash not one JRP in sight. But quality was good for the price. But no high chair for the title one...

The bar was ok could do with updating the draft selection, just fosters, guinness and john smiths plus the beers or wine out of the fridges was not cold enough... White wine drinkers ask in advance for your bottle to be put on ice...for tea.

Entertainment was ok but aimed at the over 65s really some acts are far better then others. Nothing for younger adults.

Overall the hotel I good and you get what you pay for a nice stay but could improve.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view top floor M or N numbered rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    158
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
97
245
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The main word I would use to describe the Ambassadeur is meh. The rooms were clean but not well ventilated. In a single room, the open window was not enough to prevent the room from heating up like an oven in the summer. The rooms have no AC, but they do have radiators which I imagine would keep the room at a much more pleasant temperature in the winter months. The hotel WIFI was an inconvenience as well. The WIFI doesn't reach most of the rooms meaning that one has to be in the lounge area near the foyer to use the internet. The food was of an average quality. The Breakfast fry-up was not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hi I have rated the hotel with a 3 and noted as average , actually it was value for money and you get what you pay for .the standard of the room was excellent , nicely decorated and clean , we had to pay extra for sea view , the reception staff were friendly and smiley and exchanged our room as it originally overlooked the pool.
The pool was heated and clean .
Sun terrace at front of hotel was ok .
Breakfast served at the table , reasonable quality .
4 course evening meal was basic but ok .
Overall , ok , like I say .........value for money .

Room Tip: Pre book sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We requested a room with a balcony as we like to relax with a glass of wine on a balcony at the end of the evening if possible & the hotel were kind enough to grant us this even though there are only a couple of balconies where you can do this. We were in room 223 and to wake up to the spectacular view of the sea each morning was such a bonus. The room does get very warm & it is very noisy with road traffic noise but the view really makes up for it. The staff are all very helpful & friendly & obviously enjoy their jobs. It was very pleasing to hear our cleaner singing her heart out contentedly as she worked. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast. We didn't use any facilities or go to the evening entertainment, it was just an ideal base to view the island & we would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileenk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Jersey on the hottest day of the year and when we opened the door to our room it was like walking in to a furnace, we were glad we had read a recent review about the lack of Aircon and brought with us a small fan which at least moved the very warm air around

The hotel was very clean but dated, and the food in the restaurant was plentiful at both breakfast and dinner. We were lucky to be waited on by the excellent Cyprian who served everything for you, woe betide you try to help yourself.

Should we ever holiday again in Jersey we will not hesitate in staying at The Ambassadeur providing the return is not in the middle of Summer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sutt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Travelling by coach from the Airport to our late hastily arranged 5 night short holiday I began to get a bit apprehensive when one by one our fellow passengers were dropped off at hotels situated in narrow back streets in St Helier with no views to speak of. My wife and I were the only people on the coach when we arrived at The Ambassadeur and what a surprise! A modern attractive hotel in St Clement Bay with the French doors of our second floor room (208) facing south and looking right on to the shore. A spacious room (the large screen roller blind allowed the door to be left open for cooling whilst keeping out flying insects) and ideal for watching the Channel ferries go in and out of nearby St Helier whilst partaking of a glass of wine in the evening. Helpful staff, a charming waitress (table 16) and varied choices of 4 course breakfasts and 5 course evening meals. I even unexpectedly got wifi on my iPad2 in our room although I was told that it was only available in public areas. An excellent holiday with plenty to do and we didn't even think to have the TV on during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from our 11 night holiday. Our family room was spacious,modern, clean and well equipped. We had fresh towels daily,housekeeping was excellent as was all service.Nothing seemed too much trouble,always service with a smile. Every morning there was information about the days weather ,temperature, sea conditions etc and the menu for the evening meal. Food was delicious and varied over one week which was repeated the next (this gives you the opportunity to try something different from week one).Our waiter Ciprian was brilliant,great service and sense of humour!!!! The bar serves a wide variety of drinks which,for a hotel were not badly priced and again the staff were very friendly, especially Daniel .
As we have a ten year old daughter we were a little worried about the hotel being for "older" people,we were wrong as there were quite a few families with similar age children.All in all we had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday and will definitely return to the Ambassadeur.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trace_w70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clement
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeur

Property: Ambassadeur
Address: La Grande Route de La Cote, St Clement JE2 6SB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeur 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassadeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel Jersey
Ambassadeur Jersey/St Clement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing