We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class!”
Review of Ambassadeur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassadeur
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a ten day break staying at this hotel, it was excellent! Entertainment and 4 course meals with coffee (on half board) were most enjoyable and staff were also very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. A short walk from bus stop (about 150 yards, which seems more if you are slow on your feet, like me) with a very regular bus service with two bus fares (£1.20 for short journeys and £1.70 for longer). A lovely bright room with a sea view, just the thing when you arrive after a busy day travelling or shopping. Plenty storage room for clothes in wardrobe with lots of hangers. Will certainly consider this hotel again if visiting Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    161
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
98
248
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spacious revamped room overlooking the pool, large windows let in light. Meals tasty/filling and waitress service attentive and efficient. Great car park. Entertainment, bar prices good. No garden, some benches at the front of hotel. Packed lunch great they ask what you would like in it. Happy customers, happy hotel. Would recommend and go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with view may have road noise. Pool view quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matchsticklegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Everything about this 3* hotel was very good bearing in mind its rating. We booked B & B only, but once we had sampled the 4 course evening meal with coffee, (£13) there was really no reason to go elsewhere. Drinks were reasonably priced and comparable to pub prices. Our waiter was particularly efficient and helpful, always doing his best to give us whatever we asked for. We took our own car so the good sized car park was important. The view at the drive entrance is very restricted so it is best to use the pull-in at the front of the hotel to either access the short drive to the car park (when entering) or the main road (when leaving). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious although could have done with some wall- mounted coat-hangers rather than having to put everything in the wardrobe. We had a chuckle at the 70s style avacado coloured bathroom suite but everything in there was spotlessly clean. The suite in our friends' room was more modern so it appears they are updating rooms. We would definitely return if visiting Jersey again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Having just returned home I feel compelled to write and say a huge thank you to everyone involved with the running of this hotel. I travelled with my two friends and stayed in a very clean and very spacious triple bedded modern room with a wonderful seaviews. Plenty of space for the clothes of three of us. The hotel gave us an immediate home to home feeling because of the willingness of staff to help everyone nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent and served in such a friendly manner. I usually don't like hotel lifts but this one was brilliant. Spacious and even talked to us! very efficient. One evening we had the privilage of listening to a guitarist who I felt was amazing. This was echoed by so many other guests. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview well worth it. Triple room brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at The Ambassadeur and I have to say we couldn't fault it. The staff are fantastic, Daniel the barman is a real asset to the hotel, the food was great and the accomodation everything you would expect. A great hotel which we will definately return to and would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This Hotel is well situated on the long flat sandy beach of Greve D'Azette about a mile outside St Helier. The Hotel has a large car park which only fills up when there is a function on at the Hotel of which there were 3 in our 1 week stay. Walking is a little tricky since there is a busy road directly between the hotel and the beach and the footpath is narrow, so the best way is to take old walking shoes and walk on the flat beach. There is a bus stop near by with a regular service, shops nearby are a M&S Simply and a Spar.

Since our last visit in 2011 the rooms in the Hotel have been refurbished to a nice standard with wood panelling, new furniture, good quality lighting and a 32inch Flat Screen TV with Freeview Channels. The room we had, that we have stayed in before has been much improved by sealing up the communicating door to the next room and improving the sound insulation.
On arriving at the Hotel we had a very warm welcome from the receptionist, it almost felt like returning home. All the staff were friendly and would speak if you met them in the corridor.
Particular thanks to Edi (Eddie) our waiter for most if the week, who made sure every meal was served promptly and correctly.

The meals in the dining room were simple but with good quality ingredients, in particular the beef based dishes were exceptional quality. We were on half board basis so had a good english breakfast and an evening dinner. The dinner menu repeats every week and has not changed for years which is not necessarily a bad thing.

The facilities in the Hotel include a heated swimming pool in an enclosed courtyard, which we did not use because the winds were a little cool, but would have been nice in the warmer weather. There is a TV room and quiet reading room away from the bar area. On the ground floor is a large function room which is frequently used for outside parties, wedding receptions etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are generally quieter providing they do not overlook the kitchen. South facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a 5-night stay at The Ambassadeur. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and were not disappointed. We paid a little extra for a sea-view room and requested through the travel agent whether we could have one of the four sea-view rooms with balcony. I contacted the hotel direct with my request for a balcony and this was arranged, which was wonderful. Our room (room 121 first floor) was at the end of the corridor, so very quiet. Recently refurbished - very clean & modern. Plenty of drawer/hanging space. Tea/coffee refurbished daily. Plenty of hot water, good shower and clean towels daily. The chambermaid was very good and our room was serviced promptly. Lovely view over St Clements Bay. Even though the hotel is on the main coast road, no real traffic noise. There is a very nice outdoor swimming pool with loungers - very clean and quiet.

As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is waiter service, rather than buffet, which we prefer. Good menu choice with something for everyone. Even though the hotel was fairly full, breakfast service was excellent - don't know how they manage it. The staff work very hard, but always with a smile and very friendly, particularly Daniel (barman, but who also served breakfast too!!).

On our first night, we ate in the restaurant from the a la carte menu and we were not disappointed. The Jersey Plaice was delicious! Good service again.

The Ambassadeur is a very friendly, comfortable hotel, spotlessly clean and extremely well run. A big thank you to the General Manager, Joseph (Jose) and also to all the reception staff - especially Laura - who was so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for her. We had the privilege of meeting the owner during our visit. He struck us as a hands-on hotelier who really cares about the service he provides.

Just a word of warning (nothing to do with the hotel) - taxi fares in Jersey are horrendous. St Clements - St Helier roughly 1 mile = £7.00 - so on a couple of evenings, we walked just across the road and took the bus - very good bus service £1.20 each!!

Thank you Ambassadeur - will will certainly recommend you.

Room Tip: The hotel only has 4 sea-view BALCONY rooms, so request one ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnyhythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clement
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeur

Property: Ambassadeur
Address: La Grande Route de La Cote, St Clement JE2 6SB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeur 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambassadeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel Jersey
Ambassadeur Jersey/St Clement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing