We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short stay”
Review of Ambassadeur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassadeur
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Decided to take a short break over the bank holiday using a condor short break with ferry,car,&hotel included and chose this hotel .did not no what to expect as we all no what deals can be like.
This hotel is a gem . From the moment we arrived the staff were wonderful, friendly ,& helpful . The rooms were excellent and we had the most beautiful sea views . We ate at the hotel for dinner ,not included in the price ,but for £13 for a 4 course ,great value and nice meal .

So if your looking for a nice hotel ,bus stop just out side to get you round the island ,if you don,t want to drive then we recommend here .
We will certainly be returning and next time we will stay longer

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank robojanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Ambassadeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just spent a four night break at the Ambassadeur as part of a coach travel package, the room was kept clean and tidy, the towels were spotless and changed on a regular basis, tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room as was a hairdryer (although the lead was very short) room location was a bit of a disappointment (overlooking the pool area, but was on a lower level which meant we were overlooked by the other rooms and needed to draw the blinds most of the time) beds were fine, rooms a bit dated with dark wood panelling, food was excellent, well cooked, good choice, restaurant had a good sea view, with clean linen tablecloths and napkins, good friendly well mannered staff. The bus to St Helier stops just outside the hotel and runs about every 20 mins for £1.30 per trip, all in all nice comfortable hotel with good meals, adjacent to the beach within easy reach of St Helier, what more could you ask for? would recommend

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlyfarly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just spent 4 nights in this Hotel in lovely Jersey. This was part of a coach/ferry/hotel arrangement.
The hotel is very well positioned for the beach of St Clement's Bay and there is an excellent
bus service from stops close by into St Helier one way and Gorey Harbour the other way.
The bus service on Jersey is very efficient and a great way to get around.
The hotel was comfortable and the staff efficient and friendly. The quality of food for
breakfast and dinner service was very good indeed and the staff most attentive and
helpful. Our bedroom was not front-facing but quite comfortable albeit the bedding
could be updated with duvets and better pillows.
We would be happy to stay here again and be able to say Hello to Daniel at the Bar.
Entertainment on two evenings during our stay was very acceptable.

Room Tip: It is extra for a front facing room to see the sea but I do believe that this is over rated as in go...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from 1 week stay ,very good food, excellent restaurant service.The only moan is the bedroom and bathroom. Well worn blankets and bedspread and very lumpy pillows. T he bathroom needs replacing 1980s at least.well used and stained bath. The towels are spotless it really is just the bathroom suite. The staff are excellent,in all departments.Fantastic views. Bus stop 2 mins away .

Room Tip: Sea view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have stayed at the Ambassadeur a few times now, as my son lives on Jersey, and it is like coming home. Of course there are grander places to stay, and we have, but none as relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble, the staff are helpful without being over-zealous, but don't ignore you either!
Breakfast is good, lots of choice, and attentive service. Our son likes us to eat with them at night, but we do look longingly at the menu at times!

Stayed: March 2014
7  Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I travelled to Jersey to visit a friend and chose this hotel because it was close by. Otherwise I wouldn't have chosen the area as it was so busy, as is most of the St Helier district. I stayed as a solo female traveller. My room was OK with a good bathroom and it was kept clean and reasonably maintained.
The problems were with the dining room. On the first night I had a good table along side the other guests. The next morning I was moved to the worst table in the dining room, with no explanation given and despite the fact the dining room was mostly empty. The table was next to the service table with waiters constantly backwards and forwards. It faced the other diners and was set slightly away from them. It feels like the naughty corner. At dinner that night I asked why I couldn't have the table I'd had the previous night, the waitress stalked off barely answering. I sat down as I had no choice but could stand it no longer when a disco started up a few feet away. I demanded very strongly to be moved and the waitress grabbed my half eaten course, stalked across the room to my old table and banged it down before marching off. After this I seem to have won the fight but noted on the day of departure another solo female traveller getting the same treatment.
The disco is probably a regular feature as they hold functions in the dining room so expect to be having your evening meal to the accompaniement of semi-drunk revellers and bad dance music.
The other staff did their best and were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We returned to the Ambassadeur,due to family commitments, after previously staying here in February. On our first stay we booked into room 208 and had a fantastic view of the high spring tides, ( a little noisy at 5am when the tide was in, due to the waves hitting the sea wall.) but great to watch.
On our second visit we were given again, a seaview room on the same floor. However we discovered late in the evening that the shower thermostat was faulty and the water was lukewarm.
Before breakfast the following morning I reported the fault to the reception. As soon as breakfast was over we were given our old room back again. This made such a difference to what was going to be a stressful week for me and my wife anyway.
The staff at this hotel can not do enough for you to ensure you have a pleasant stay.
We have not eaten dinner at the hotel because relations live nearby but the standard of breakfast is very good. Reports from islanders is that the standard of other food is also very good.
On each occasion we stayed the hotel had on a function with in excess of 100 people and we were not troubled by noise on either occasion.
Parking is no problem with a very large area at the rear with a good tarmac base.
My other relations on this trip stayed at the Normandie Hotel which was slightly cheaper however the parking was horrendous and you had to leave your keys at the reception so that they could move your vehicle to let others in and out.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clement
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeur

Address: La Grande Route de La Cote, St Clement JE2 6SB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeur 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ambassadeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel St Clement
Ambassadeur Hotel Jersey
Ambassadeur Jersey/St Clement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing