We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pontac House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another return visit”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We came back to the Pontac for our regular September visit, and found everything just as we remembered. We were all in need of an escape from our busy lives back home, and it was lovely to be looked after in such comfortable surroundings. New beds too!

Everyone is so helpful and friendly as always, and this year there was the addition of Emma - such a delightful person, taking a warm and genuine interest in everything and everyone.

We have booked again for next year - as do so many people. There were many familiar faces among the guests. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    46
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
34
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at The Pontac House Hotel the 2nd week of September, our 1st visit to this hotel. I was impressed how friendly all the staff were. We had booked B&B because we like to eat at lunchtimes but did have a couple of evening meals in the hotel, and very nice they were too. Both breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The waiting staff were extremely organised. The number 1 bus that passes in front of the hotel (bus stop right outside) runs every 15 minutes during the week to Gorey one way and St Helier the other. We hired a car and found there was always space in their car park. Our sea view with balcony room number 305 had a large double and large single bed. The only fault I have to mention is the shower over the bath, it didn't have much power to it, I don't know if that was general or not. When we went for breakfast at 8 every morning by the time we got back to our room the maid had cleaned it, we were impressed with that.

Room Tip: It's always nicer if you can afford a seaview and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family have been using this hotel for a number of years now, after bein recommended by another hotel (since ceased trading) who could not fit us in. Have never gone back since then to the old one. The standard of cuisine in the resaurant is what would be expected in a 4 star hotel. A wide choice, with vegetarian options if needed, every day. The sea food is a speciality that always casues a stir as it arrives in the resaurant. The rooms are well appointed and equipped. The temperature of the outdoor pool is like a soothing warm bath!! All the staff make you feel like part ofthe family, in fact the owner gets involved just as much as everyone else. Popular with the locals and it is clear why. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Even singe rooms are of a good standard - not squashed in the back of the building>
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burhave, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wonderful small hotel, run by portuguese family and staff, helpful and outstanding
service. Take the halfboard, dinner and breakfast are fresh and excellent quality!
Good wine-card, all at low prices. Bar is nice, pool clean and warm.
VERY good value for money, if we return to Jersey it will be the "Pontac House"
again, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anke t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is outstanding! The food is first class, a huge breakfast and a four course evening meal with excellent choices all freshly prepared. The front of house staff are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The waiting staff are friendly and accommodating and the rooms are kept to a very high standard. There is a regular bus service right outstanding outside the front of the hotel into St Hellier making it in an excellent location.

Room Tip: I guess a balcony would be an advantage although we stayed on the back of the hotel overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The restaurant here serves excellent food and caters for all tastes.
You need also a good sense of humour as the staff always keep us amused.
Well worth a visit. There is a beautiful pool area . However just across the road is a great beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been visiting Jersey regularly since 1989 and have stayed in many different hotels and locations on the island. Pontac House was recommended to me by my parents and it has become my favourite on the island of Jersey.
The staff are friendly and your greeting on arrival is warm. It's a family run hotel and I think this helps with the welcome. You know most of the staff by name pretty quickly, they are knowledgeable about the island and this helps with their recommendations for things to do. They also showed us how to get money off vouchers for some attractions we planned to visit. I travelled with my four year old daughter and she was also treated very nicely by the staff. She was lent a bucket and spade by the receptionist when we arrived so that we could use the beach across the road until we were able to purchase some for ourselves.
We had a family room at the rear of the hotel (country view) as I didn't think a balcony was suitable for my young daughter. This was in the old part of the building and was spacious and clean. All of the sea view rooms have balconies. The rooms in the newer wing are smaller but by no means cramped. Decor is maybe a little dated but not radically different to anywhere else I've stayed on the island. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, on the first night I requested to borrow an ironing board and this was delivered to our room within ten minutes.
I would recommend half board accommodation as the food is fantastic, especially the evening meals. We found it was possible to just have a small snack at lunchtimes as the breakfast really sets you up for the day and the evening meals are tasty and filling with up to five separate options for main course each evening. Supplementary dishes are available at extra cost on request, including fresh lobster! Childrens menus are available and they too are generous on portion sizes! Restaurant service is efficient despite only four staff waiting tables and bar. Certainly in contrast to some other hotels where you seem to wait an eternity between courses.
The hotel bar area is bright and welcoming, but small. However it is reasonably priced with a separate games room with a pool table and games machine. There is also a tv lounge area separate from the bar.
The outdoor heated swimming pool is small, but clean and sits within a well presented garden with sun loungers and outdoor tables and chairs available.
The hotel is around 15 minutes drive from St Helier and the harbour, and 25-30 minutes from the airport. Everything is in easy reach if driving, although daytime traffic out to the west towards St Aubin is often heavy. There is a car park at the hotel, which can be tight in even a small car when full. However for those not driving bus route 1 between St Helier and Gorey is frequent and stops outside the hotel on the coast road. It also runs until midnight so you can still go into town or Gorey after your evening meal. There are also buses on route 1A which serve St Clements Church on the inner road, which is just a five minute walk from the hotel along Rue de Jambart.
Across the road from the hotel is St Clements Bay, a tranquil beach only seemingly used by a handful of locals as there are no real amenities. It also has one of the largest tidal ranges in the world, with the sea coming right up to the wall at high tide, and stretching out beyond a distant tower on the horizon at low tide. The top of the beach is sandy, but its quite rocky as the tide falls - great for rockpool fishing though!
We have already booked to return here in 2014!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robbo84klfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Clement
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
838 reviews
152.7 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#1 of 3 in St Clement
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
148.3 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
971 reviews
151.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,862 reviews
153.9 mi away
Beausite Hotel
Beausite Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grouville
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pontac House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pontac House Hotel

Property: The Pontac House Hotel
Address: La Grande Route de La Cote, St Clement JE2 6SE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pontac House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pontac House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pontac Hotel
Pontac Hotel St Clement
The Pontac House Hotel Jersey/St Clement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing