We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely and informative St Ouens Bay walk with Roger

Thoroughly recommend the tour we did with Roger at the beginning of this month. Despite it being a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
AliC423
,
Jersey, United Kingdom
Ghost Walk with Kary

We would thoroughly recommend the ghost walk tour with Kary. We were a group of adults and children... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
Nikki M
via mobile
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
70
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue badge guide guided walk guide roger private tour elizabeth castle fascinating tour hour tour st brelades bay historical knowledge great island german occupation a lot of fun excellent tour all ages kary stories tours
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Nicky Mansell of Jersey Uncovered led us on a very exciting and informative cliff path walk from Letacq, past Grosnez Castle and all the German gun emplacements nearly to Plemont and then on down a steep path to La Cotte a la Chèvre, a cave which was inhabited by Neanderthral Man. Not for the faint hearted.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Juliet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-at-JU, Owner at Jersey Uncovered, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Juliet W

The Jersey Uncovered team appreciate you taking the time to post a review of Nicky's 'all action' tour and its great you had a good time with her. I hope after all that exercise you treated yourself to a very large Jersey ice cream!

We at Jersey Uncovered do try to ensure that we offer tours for all, whether you are more of an adrenaline seeker looking for an experience that incorporates both information and physical exertion, to those who fancy something a little more laid back.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Tour guide Tracey took us to both Elizabeth Castle and Mount Orgueil and what a difference it made. Tracey was able to place both sites within both their historical and geographical context. The information received covered the historical and trivial; the support of Charles II and the toilet facilities of the occupants! This mix of information keeps all ages engaged but the main attraction is her obvious love and enthusiasm for her subject, the island and its inhabitants; both historical and contemporary. This variation of information gives an overview of all those who have inhabited these sites through the ages and left their mark on the island, good or bad, thereby enhancing ones appreciation of this island. It also brings the different sites alive through the guides knowledge and enthusiasm. An absolute must for anyone who wants to know more about the island people, their lives and the impact of this island on the wider world. Jersey is anything but boring.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank _jennifergibson826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-at-JU, Owner at Jersey Uncovered, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Jennifer

Thank you for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your tours of the castles, Hougue Bie and Gorey with me. It was a pleasure to show you this beautiful island.

I love telling visitors and locals about Jersey's past and present and setting it in the context of the wider world. Jersey might be small but it does have a huge number of links to well know events and people throughout history! I'm very glad you enjoyed the lighter moments too :-)

Please come and see us again and discover more about Jersey's big story.

With very best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

On Sat July 30 we took a private tour with Kary Day. She picked us up at the dock and took us out of St Helier and told us SO much about the history of the island and of the German occupation. Later we toured St Helier and had some yummy Jersey ice cream!

Great to learn firsthand from a native who loves showing off her country. Would LOVE to come back and see more and will definitely use her again!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank sbasbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-at-JU, Owner at Jersey Uncovered, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear sbasbury

Thank you for the glowing review of your recent tour with Kary and I'm so pleased you had a wonderful day. She asked me to say she throughly enjoyed it too. You seemed to have gained a great insight into Jersey's past and present even though your time was limited, and you experienced one of the 'must do' things on any visit to Jersey; you sampled a delicious Jersey ice cream!

Please do come back to Jersey; there is so much more to see and hear about. Kary and the rest of the Jersey Uncovered team look forward to welcoming you in the future.

With best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We had a fun and super informative walk with Nigel around St Aubin and to the headlands at Noirmont point. The headlands feature German bunkers and gun emplacements which Nigel told us all about their construction and history. We had a nice visit to the Portelet Inn for refreshments, again another place with history dating back to 1606. We continued on to St Brelaide's bay where Nigel pointed out cave used by Neanderthals. This tour is about 3hrs long and totally worth checking out, my wife and I really enjoyed it!! Nigel you were awesome thanks!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank petey708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-at-JU, Owner at Jersey Uncovered, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Hi petey708

Your review of Nigel's St Aubin walk is much appreciated by him, and also by the rest of the Jersey Uncovered team, so thank you for taking the time to write it.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed exploring the charming little village of St Aubin and the surrounding cliffs. They are packed with history from many centuries, and give a great overview of this island's fascinating past.

Please join another Jersey Uncovered tour if you visit Jersey again, we would love to see you.

With best wishes,

Tracey

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We went on a Sunday morning 3 hour tour with Nigel and learnt more from those 3 hours about not only the history of Jersey but current events too which provided a real 'feel' for the Island and its people. Nigel is highly knowledgeable, great fun and the time flew past incredibly quickly. We will return to the Island and will ensure we go on another Tour with Nigel and would highly recommend others to do so - you won't be disappointed! Many thanks Nigel!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-at-JU, Owner at Jersey Uncovered, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Hi Maria

Thank you on behalf of Nigel and the rest of Jersey Uncovered team for your review. We are very appreciative and so pleased you enjoyed your tour.

We love telling Jersey's story, which not only includes its past but its present and this hopefully helps our visitors get a feel for island life.

It was a pleasure speaking to you when we were arranging your tour and we look forward to welcoming you back on another Jersey Uncovered tour before too long.

With best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews