We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Runnymede Court Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“old style hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

this is an older property which is struggling to come to terms with the modern world. The ensuite looked like it had once been a fitted wardrobe but all the amenites were there. The room was clean and comfortable and serviced every day. The walls are not soundproofed! Luckily the other guests were mainly older people with normal bedtimes. Breakfast is good and the staff work very hard to make you welcome. The property is near a lido and good beach and is about 10mins walk to town. There is a shortcut to Liberation Square via the tunnel but don't use it when there is lots of traffic. The air quality is not that good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tendring_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    71
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
92
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from our holiday in the Runnymede Court Hotel. We can't fault it. We were allocated room 12 which faces the road and is on the ground floor. The meals were great and were served very quickly. Location is really good. The entertainment is the only negative issue, which was a shame. They advertised Bingo and a Quiz night on the Thursday and Sunday but nobody turned up, so we couldn't do it on our own. I think most people sit in their room and watch television. The hotel is just up from the beach. If you want to go to the Marin then a short cut is through the tunnel, which the receptionist would direct you to. We stayed at the Metropole last year which did have entertainment but not always good. Hope this helps !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was fine, the staff (Mary & her team) VERY friendly, helpful and could not do enough for you. We were treated like we were staying in a family B&B rather than in a large hotel. I travelled with a friend and both our disabled mums, and Mary knew that, but still put us on the half landing of the second floor, which meant that even after taking the lift, our mums had to go down 3 of 4 stairs and up 3 or 4 more stairs to get to the room. As has been said before, the clientele of the hotel were all over 65, (hence I did not think you would have many reviews as they were not wanting internet or missing their computers!) my friend and I were definitely the youngest there. Having said all this, for a town centre hotel, it was great, parking not far away and within walking distance of the sea front, shops, park etc and you could get internet in my room if you leant out of the window! or in the TV lounge.

Room Tip: Room 213 was fine, a twin room and clean and quiet but stairs to get to it whichever way you went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsRop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first visit to Jersey, staying at Runneymede Hotel helped to make it an experience we will always remember . The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean, fresh, spacious, and very comfortable. Both breakfast and evening meals were varied, delicious, of ample portion and beautifully presented by a polite and cheerful staff. The bar and lounge were comfortable and peaceful to relax in at your leisure, bar staff were keen to ensure your requests were catered for in a pleasant and friendly manner. We will definitely be returning to the Runneymede to further explore the tranquil and beautiful Island of Jersey in the near future. Anthony and Sharon, South Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Hotel was clean & the staff very friendly. However the decor & layout was very dated. Every time I walked into the building I felt I was stepping into a time warp! It is worth mentioning that most of the clientele are over 65. I travelled alone with my 10 year old son & he was very disappointed that there weren't lots of children in the hotel to make friends with. Parking is also worth mentioning. Whilst I was aware that there was no parking at the Hotel, I had no idea it would be so difficult to find parking nearby. I found that we had to be back from our activities before 4pm each day to ensure we were able to find a parking space. This also meant that I would not go out in the car in the evenings for fear of being unable to park when we returned. All of that said we had a lovely week in Jersey & will return, just not to Runnymede Court.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a two star hotel where staff work extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible, nothing is too much trouble for all of the hardworking staff. Food is excellent. Hotel is situated in walking distance of beach and shops. There is a lovely garden to sit in after a day of sightseeing, chatting to other residents whilst enjoying a glass of wine or two.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

A very good two star hotel . The location was good both for buses and shops . The beach and park are at the end of the road .

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast plentiful and well cooked . The rooms clean and and comfortable.

The only let down the was the weather .

A most enjoyable stay and would certainly return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.2 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#25 of 32 in St Helier
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 32 in St Helier
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runnymede Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnymede Court Hotel

Property: Runnymede Court Hotel
Address: 46-52 Roseville Street, St Helier JE2 4PN
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Helier
#17 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Runnymede Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Runnymede Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runnymede Court St Helier
Runnymede Court Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing