We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated - could be a retirement home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Runnymede Court Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

In need of a little tlc, room could do with a lick of paint on the louvre doors and the carpet could do with a shampoo but apart from that it looks ok. Only problem is it is next to the lift so avoid 209. Also when it rains the drumming on the plastic skylight in the shower room is annoyingly loud.
The greeting by the receptionist on arrival couldn’t have been more friendlier and she was more than helpful with directions.

Breakfast between 8am and 9am Dinner 6:30pm to 7:00pm.

Tried the evening meal and wished I hadn’t
Start options
A) Homemade Pork Liver Pate served with Cumberland Sauce and HOT toast
B) Homenade Cream of Cauliflower Soup
Opted for A, no sooner had I made my choice than it was delivered up in front of me. I doubt if the pate was homemade, the Cumberland sauce was tasteless (a bit like chilli dip without the chilli) and the hot toast was perhaps hot an hour prior to serving but when I got it the toast was cold and rubbery.

Mains options
a) Oven Baked Chicken Chasseur in a tomato, mushroom, shallots and white wine sauce.
b) Grilled Trout Amandine with brown butter and parsley topped with almonds
c) Choice of omelettes
d) Cold meat salad
All served with new potatoes, sauté potatoes, Broccoli and Sweetcorn.
Opted for A. The chicken was tender and moist, the sauce was forgettable, the new potatoes were excellent, the sauté potatoes were hard and the broccoli needed a hammer and chisel.

Desserts
a) Sticky toffee pudding
b) Creme caramel
c) Mixed fruit salad
Opted for A. Not toffee pudding but syrup and extremely sweet, cake slightly dry but cream compensated.
Had to secure a glass of wine from the bar during the meal as none of the waitresses asked but they seemed too busy making sure we were all served by 7pm. When I requested a Cabernet Sauvignon I was offered a Sauvignon Blanc or a Chardonnay. I opted for a Merlot, the guy behind the bar seemed puzzled at this but I prefer red wine and preferably a Cab-Sav.
Decent coffee.
Conclusion – the staff work very hard and very fast, they take your order verbally, never write it down, so the only way they can do it is by transferring pre-plated meals from the kitchen to the table. My mistake was for opting for option A all the time and also not going to the White Horse down the road where they do some brilliant food and a decent red wine.
Also had the resident "queen bee" hovering, I'd obviously sat at someones' table so they had to sit elsewhere and it had upset the hierarchy.

Breakfast was palatalbe, usuasl cereal and cooked breakfast, toast was warm and fresh. Fruit juices on offer and the coffee hit the spot.

This is obviously where the older generation go when Eastbourne, Bournemouth and Paignton are full. Apart from a young lady staying I would say all the other guests were older than my 60 years.

Room Tip: beware of rooms near the lift as you can hear it quite clearly in the nearby rooms. bit of a walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockhall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice & clean throughout. There is a lift, handy after a day of walking and heavy luggage. The upper rooms because of the low ceilings you cannot stand up to shower. There is a shower fitted to the bath taps so you can get by. Something to mention when booking. The restaurant is large and airy. Waiter/waitress service. The breakfast is the norm cereal, juice, full english or something lighter. The food is good and not just thrown on your plate. Evening meal is available. Nice lounge area which is the better room for Wi-Fi. Turn right when leaving the hotel, there is a place for eats and a small mini market. Further down you have the beach and swimming pool. Handy if you have small children. Town is just a 10 minute walk turning left from the hotel. Go through the road tunnel is the quickest way.

Room Tip: To the back away from the road and one you can stand up in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from our stay at this hotel. We booked 4 nights there from walking into the place to leaving the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The place is a bit dated but that did nt bother us it was good value for money, breakfast was great, the hotel is about a 5 to 10 minute walk into the centre of st helier there are two ways we found. If you head towards the tunnel then it is quicker. The place seems to entertain the more mature clientele but that was fine our bedroom was clean and bright with clean towels every day. If we return to jersey would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

this is an older property which is struggling to come to terms with the modern world. The ensuite looked like it had once been a fitted wardrobe but all the amenites were there. The room was clean and comfortable and serviced every day. The walls are not soundproofed! Luckily the other guests were mainly older people with normal bedtimes. Breakfast is good and the staff work very hard to make you welcome. The property is near a lido and good beach and is about 10mins walk to town. There is a shortcut to Liberation Square via the tunnel but don't use it when there is lots of traffic. The air quality is not that good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tendring_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from our holiday in the Runnymede Court Hotel. We can't fault it. We were allocated room 12 which faces the road and is on the ground floor. The meals were great and were served very quickly. Location is really good. The entertainment is the only negative issue, which was a shame. They advertised Bingo and a Quiz night on the Thursday and Sunday but nobody turned up, so we couldn't do it on our own. I think most people sit in their room and watch television. The hotel is just up from the beach. If you want to go to the Marin then a short cut is through the tunnel, which the receptionist would direct you to. We stayed at the Metropole last year which did have entertainment but not always good. Hope this helps !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was fine, the staff (Mary & her team) VERY friendly, helpful and could not do enough for you. We were treated like we were staying in a family B&B rather than in a large hotel. I travelled with a friend and both our disabled mums, and Mary knew that, but still put us on the half landing of the second floor, which meant that even after taking the lift, our mums had to go down 3 of 4 stairs and up 3 or 4 more stairs to get to the room. As has been said before, the clientele of the hotel were all over 65, (hence I did not think you would have many reviews as they were not wanting internet or missing their computers!) my friend and I were definitely the youngest there. Having said all this, for a town centre hotel, it was great, parking not far away and within walking distance of the sea front, shops, park etc and you could get internet in my room if you leant out of the window! or in the TV lounge.

Room Tip: Room 213 was fine, a twin room and clean and quiet but stairs to get to it whichever way you went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsRop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first visit to Jersey, staying at Runneymede Hotel helped to make it an experience we will always remember . The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean, fresh, spacious, and very comfortable. Both breakfast and evening meals were varied, delicious, of ample portion and beautifully presented by a polite and cheerful staff. The bar and lounge were comfortable and peaceful to relax in at your leisure, bar staff were keen to ensure your requests were catered for in a pleasant and friendly manner. We will definitely be returning to the Runneymede to further explore the tranquil and beautiful Island of Jersey in the near future. Anthony and Sharon, South Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 32 in St Helier
902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St Helier
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 32 in St Helier
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runnymede Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnymede Court Hotel

Address: 46-52 Roseville Street, St Helier JE2 4PN
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Helier
#17 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Runnymede Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Runnymede Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runnymede Court St Helier
Runnymede Court Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing