We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homely comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Runnymede Court Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from staying for a week here. Although rated a 2 star hotel I would give it a 3 star. Rooms were clean, towels changed everyday. There were tea and coffee making facilities in rooms. Breakfasts were very nice comprising of tea,coffee,juice,cereal and cooked fry up of your choice. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Hotel was in good location of town centre being a 10 minute walk, Howard Davis Park a 5 minute walk and Havre de Pas beach a short walk. Cosmetically the hotel is old and a bit tired but full of character. If decorating it, I wouldn't go too modern. I would definitely change the sliding bathroom ensuite doors though.

Room Tip: If disabled or elderly try for a ground floor room. There is a small lift which I wouldn't use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Distoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights and found the staff really friendly and helpful.I had my own table each day and enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast although I would have enjoyed fruit or yoghurt as an option.The hotel was clean and the bedrooms cosy.It only lacked air conditioning as I stayed when the weather was at its hottest.Its central for both the beach and the town centre, 5mins walk either way. There is a 3 course meal offered with coffee for £12.50 each day and its really good value for money. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 0151angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent value 2 star hotel - good size, clean rooms and staff who are pleasant, friendly and helpful particularly Mary. Food is fairly plain but excellent value. Hotel is just 2 minutes from Harve de Pas sea pool/lido and beach and 5 minute walk to top of main street for shopping etc. No parking but large pay & display (scratchcard system) approx. 100yds away. No in-hotel entertainment but other hotels around have and details, together with all other activities available are posted on the notice/information board each day. Good base for exploring the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked this hotel through booking .com and was a very good choice and excellent value for money, I stayed in a single room which was spacious and clean. location is brilliant in a quite part of town and only a short walk away from the beach and bathing pool. The staff are very friendly and provide an excellent standard of service and I was never kept waiting! If I return to jersey this will be my first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good value for a two star hotel. Convenient location and a friendly atmosphere. Staff are most welcoming. Food is OK but good value in a costly resort. Rooms are clean and spacious. No on-site parking so sort out scratch card system for local car parks before you get there if hiring a car.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

although this a 2 star hotel the service from Mary and her team is 5 star
nothing is too much trouble .The meals which are all excellent are served promptly and
extremely courteously
we had really enjoyed our week and would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We found Runnymede Court via the tourist office in St Helier. We could hardly believe the prices quoted - so much lower than alternative places that we feared the worst. As it turned out, we could hardly have done better in terms of value-for-money. My sole criticism is one that applies to too many places - over-soft beds.
The staff, and especially the lady managing the operation, deserve special mention. I don't think she takes any time off and is involved directly in everything that happens. Whatever they pay her, it's not enough. Her staff training and management are exemplary.
The place itself is ten or twelve minutes' walk from the centre and 200 yards from a superb south-facing beach. Maintenance and cleaning seem to be done well, but the atmosphere is more 1960s Torquay than 2014 London; however, if I had to choose between 'boutique' and this, it would be this every time. They seem to be trying to maintain an echo of the full-service hotel of yesteryear to make guests feel comfortable (eg linen napkins) but on a low-cost budget. Breakfast was honest and good but not superb (at this price I can live with that); dinner (three courses for £12.50!) was perfectly adequate but redolent of what my wife calls 'pensioners' school dinners' - though the soups were clearly freshly-made by someone who knows how to cook.
I fear their ability to keep it up: if the manager leaves I'm sure they won't be able to and yet another hotel will become apartments.

Room Tip: The garden rooms surround a pleasant garden at the back of the hotel, ground-floor, motel-style. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St Helier
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#5 of 31 in St Helier
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
249 reviews
1 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 31 in St Helier
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runnymede Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnymede Court Hotel

Address: 46-52 Roseville Street, St Helier JE2 4PN
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#17 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Runnymede Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Runnymede Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runnymede Court St Helier
Runnymede Court Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing