We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth Castle

Elizabeth Castle
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: ELIZABETH CASTLE IS CLOSED UNTIL MARCH 23 Built on a rocky islet in St Aubin's Bay, Elizabeth Castle has watched over Jersey's main seaway for more than 300 years. At low tide you can walk out along the causeway or, if you want to experience a different way to travel, catch the amphibious Castle Ferry at low or high tide. Elizabeth Castle is the perfect place to spend a day exploring Jersey's history. Climb the battlements dating back to the 1590's, when Sir Walter Raleigh was Governor of Jersey from 1600 until 1603. Explore the grounds which gave refuge to King Charles II during the English Civil War and uncover the bunkers which were re-fortified to command the sea approaches to Jersey during the German Occupation in World War II. Marvel at the hermitage where St Helier is thought to have lived around 550 A.D, take part in Living History demonstrations and experience what life was like for the soldiers who were garrisoned here. Find out about our Heritage Pass - four visitor attractions for the price of three on our website or at any of our visitor attractions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great day at Elizabeth Castle; exploring all the nooks and crannies. We waited for the tide to be out so we could walk across. There is so much history to learn about and it is quite fascinating. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diving9773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    603
    156
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect outing for a sunny day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful castle,rich in historic interest set in a pretty bay near the town of St Helier.Surrouned by water at high tide and accessible by amphibious vehicle or on foot at low tide.Lots to do for young and old. Refreshments available. Fun and educational.See the hermitage where the patron Saint of Jersey was martyred

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerseymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“yes great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

worth a visit had a great day lovely views, we walked back but got the boat / ferry over

Enjoy the rooms to your left on the forecourt before you commence the castle WILL MEAN A LOT MORE TO YOU

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went to Elizabeth castle a couple of days ago, we were really surprised at the lack of information around the castle and the general maintenance, especially as we had visited Mont Orgeuil castle the day before which we absolutely loved!

There were scaffolding poles just left in a pile, along with a sheer drop onto rocks with no barrier - we don't have children but I don't think I would feel comfortable taking my eyes off them for a second if we did! Disappointing compared to all the other lovely attractions on the jersey passes we bought - would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Moleseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Jersey bay castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Duck ferry across was a bumpy ride (tide was almost out) but good fun.

We missed the presentation which was a shame but it was a nice, well maintained set of buildings and interesting to nosey about in. Would have liked to have seen more displays about the history of the castle though.

Walking along the breakwater on the other side of the castle was good and it was interesting to see the site of the hermitage of the original St Helier and imagine him living there so many centuries ago (although a shame no sign posts about this, perhaps as not part of the castle itself).

We opted for the walk back along the causeway, which was lovely in the sun.

Worth a visit for a couple of hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing