We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in St Helier”
Review of De L'etang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De L'etang
Ranked #1 of 20 St Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“A good choice in St Helier”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I spent 4 nights at the De Létang at the beginning of March 2012.

This hotel is rated 3 stars. The owners are extremely polite, the breakfast is good, the room and bathroom were very, very clean and, finally the bed was comfortable. There is a little bar where we spent some time cosy time in the evening.

De L'etang's location is about 10-12 minutes walk to the city center.

In the cons department I'll mention that you won't find coffee or tea in your room so remember to take some with you. Maybe I could mention too, that the room has some 70's feeling as other reviewer mentioned elsewhere.

We were looking for a hotel with sea view but we really didn't want to pay the price that other hotels (fairly enough with more stars) in St Helier were asking for. So it was a big surprise to see that room 15 with sea view and own balcony cost 60 £ per room per night.

So all in all I think we got extremely good value for money: wake up with that nice view and you will understand!

This is not the Four Seasons but it has its heart in the right place!

Room Tip: Remember: room 15 if sea view is your priority!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
65
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at De L'Etang for a family wedding. The owners were really welcoming and went to a lot of trouble to make sure everybody was comfortable. We ate in their restaurant once, where the food was super. Though my room at the front was clean and spacious, the noise on my first night was awful as I had to be up early the next morning. There was a party in the bar and I had to turn up my tv to try and relax and then eventually resorted to putting in my flight earplugs to get some sleep! I don't understand early check out times. Everywhere I have travelled abroad checkout is midday so 10 am seems pretty early to me though we were allowed to put our belongings in the lounge for a couple of hours. The view of the bay from my window was beautiful. My daughter and her partner, who had a room a the back, were woken early one morning by people arguing in the kitchen below but fortunately they thought it was quite funny.

Room Tip: The front room/s have a lovely view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Our short trip to Jersey on my wife,s retirement took us quite by chance to this friendly hotel overlooking the outoor pool at Havre de pas, where we were well looked after by the owners John & Rebecca. John, who is from Pathos in Cyprus,( which by coincidence is where we go in three weeks,) ran the kitchen and gave us the best breakfasts on the island, while Rebecca ran the cosy bar which was full of regulars who have been holidaying there for many years. Everyone made us feel welcome including the rest of the staff,which meant we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ericjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I booked a surprise trip to Jersey for our 36th wedding aniversary. I only wanted something cheap because I knew the weather could be a bit dodgy. I had visions of dodgy weather and dodgy guest house. I was half right, the weather was bloody freezing. The guest house though was just the job.
John and Rebecca made great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were basic but very clean, the bed was made every day.
The breakfast was nice and set us up for the day, but an extra tea bag in the pot would of been nice, but if I had asked i am sure we would have got one.
We had a nice view of the sea from our room and did not find the road noisy, but we did have the windows shut. I would have no hesitation in booking this guest house again if I went back to jersey. The bar was well stocked and we made a friend in Brian a local drinking buddy. Mick and Gill Spillane

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank studs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex,uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

this place,like so many in jersey seemed to have reviews very negative,which put me off before i went,but to no avail.The place was clean,excellent varying full english breakfast
well cooked by john,and plenty of it.It set me up for the day,he seemed to do so much in the guest house and was always cheery and good with the customers,his wife seemed to stay out of it,but this place doesent deserve any critism excellent value for money and well run,i would definately return,and so many returning time and time again.the road outside is preety busy and you can hear people late at night sometimes if your facing the road.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank czex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I was more than a little worried about this hotel as I booked it before I read any reviews. I needn't have worried though. Considering the low price, this is a lovely hotel. We had the room at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the beach so that was really good and didn't cost too much extra in my opinion.
I found the owners and all the staff very helpful and accommodating and the breakfasts, though not huge, were well cooked.
The bar is very popular and I agree with others who say this hotel seems to get a lot of repeat guests of the older generation but that was fine with us.
I have two gripes to make about the hotel - firstly, our towels still hadn't been changed by day 3 despite us leaving them on the floor of the shower as a hint. Still we asked the staff and they were changed straight away, no hassle. My second gripe is that there is a kettle in the room but they don't supply tea bags, sugar, milk etc. Thought it a bit daft having a kettle in the first place. Still we popped to Spar and stocked up so that was ok.
Would I stay there again? Yes, because it's really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippiehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Have just stayed at the hotel for the first time and would just like to say that the owners and the staff made our stay a very enjoyable stay, have never been to Jersey but Rebecca helped us to sort out our sightseeing trips, the food was lovely both the breakfasts and the evening meals really good porportions and the staff always had a friendly smile and took the time to chat with us, really enjoyed our stay here and will definitly be going back again, in other reviews read about the cleanliness, we had clean fresh towels every day and our bed was made and the bins emptied and ensuite cleaned every day. The decor is a bit on the 70's side but who cares its the people who make or break your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaygirl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,902 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'etang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'etang

Property: De L'etang
Address: 33 Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'etang 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your De L'etang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Etang Hotel St. Helier
De L'Etang Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing