We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of De L'etang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De L'etang
Ranked #1 of 21 St Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were only there a couple of nights. The location and cost decided my booking. A very good choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our window was what being at the seaside should be. The 60s songs in the bar on Friday night were great fun, a bit of a sing along and a dance. The room was what was needed for stay, comfy bed, clean linen and a shower. As for being no tea and coffee in the room, didn't even realise it until we were checking out, after all who needs tea and coffee when you are on holiday? Saturday night we let ourselves back in with no problem well after midnight. I would certainly go back if I'm ever in Jersey again. The 70s décor has been mentioned in reviews. I was really looking forward to it and slightly disappointed it wasn't as 70s as I'd come to expect (no avocado sinks in sight). To me it was 'normal', but that may be my age!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J0444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our first visit to Jersey and what a stay! 3 days at The De L'Etang but could easily have been 3 weeks. 5 Star welcome and service. Lots of laughs and excellent food all at 3 star prices. John & Rebecca (owners) plus all the staff made our Jersey visit brilliant. Staying at The De L'Etang is a must and we can't wait to go back. ~ Geoff & Ann Southend-on-Sea, Essex England

Room Tip: Don't look around, just book The De L'Etang
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I chose De L'etang from the internet as position and price. I was concerned that all would be exact, as it was to be a Surprise 30th Anniversary Present for my wife. I need not have worried. The Hotel was absolutely "spot-on" We were met by Rebecca (Owner) and instantly made at "home" The Hotel is a family run place. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. It was well fitted out but, if you want your own "morning/afternoon-cuppa" you will have to pick some supplies yourself. Later we met John; Owner and SUPER COOK !!!! Breakfast was a MEAL to last the day !!! Good choice and plenty of it. I booked B&B so that we would not be "locked-into" meals that may not have been up to standard. Should have NEVER feared. The evening meals; (we had six of them!!); were spot-on !!! Again, lots of choice, well cooked, (not wishy-washy veg:) and good value for money. To round the night off, we spent in the small friendly bar. We met some really lovely "local-people" there who used the bar, as a regular haunt. As we had driven up from the south of Spain, they were MORE than intrigued by our adventures !!! All in all, Our 30th Anniversary was made VERY SPECIAL by the owners. Many thanks to Both.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LosRomanesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I spent 4 nights at the De Létang at the beginning of March 2012.

This hotel is rated 3 stars. The owners are extremely polite, the breakfast is good, the room and bathroom were very, very clean and, finally the bed was comfortable. There is a little bar where we spent some time cosy time in the evening.

De L'etang's location is about 10-12 minutes walk to the city center.

In the cons department I'll mention that you won't find coffee or tea in your room so remember to take some with you. Maybe I could mention too, that the room has some 70's feeling as other reviewer mentioned elsewhere.

We were looking for a hotel with sea view but we really didn't want to pay the price that other hotels (fairly enough with more stars) in St Helier were asking for. So it was a big surprise to see that room 15 with sea view and own balcony cost 60 £ per room per night.

So all in all I think we got extremely good value for money: wake up with that nice view and you will understand!

This is not the Four Seasons but it has its heart in the right place!

Room Tip: Remember: room 15 if sea view is your priority!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at De L'Etang for a family wedding. The owners were really welcoming and went to a lot of trouble to make sure everybody was comfortable. We ate in their restaurant once, where the food was super. Though my room at the front was clean and spacious, the noise on my first night was awful as I had to be up early the next morning. There was a party in the bar and I had to turn up my tv to try and relax and then eventually resorted to putting in my flight earplugs to get some sleep! I don't understand early check out times. Everywhere I have travelled abroad checkout is midday so 10 am seems pretty early to me though we were allowed to put our belongings in the lounge for a couple of hours. The view of the bay from my window was beautiful. My daughter and her partner, who had a room a the back, were woken early one morning by people arguing in the kitchen below but fortunately they thought it was quite funny.

Room Tip: The front room/s have a lovely view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Our short trip to Jersey on my wife,s retirement took us quite by chance to this friendly hotel overlooking the outoor pool at Havre de pas, where we were well looked after by the owners John & Rebecca. John, who is from Pathos in Cyprus,( which by coincidence is where we go in three weeks,) ran the kitchen and gave us the best breakfasts on the island, while Rebecca ran the cosy bar which was full of regulars who have been holidaying there for many years. Everyone made us feel welcome including the rest of the staff,which meant we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ericjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I booked a surprise trip to Jersey for our 36th wedding aniversary. I only wanted something cheap because I knew the weather could be a bit dodgy. I had visions of dodgy weather and dodgy guest house. I was half right, the weather was bloody freezing. The guest house though was just the job.
John and Rebecca made great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were basic but very clean, the bed was made every day.
The breakfast was nice and set us up for the day, but an extra tea bag in the pot would of been nice, but if I had asked i am sure we would have got one.
We had a nice view of the sea from our room and did not find the road noisy, but we did have the windows shut. I would have no hesitation in booking this guest house again if I went back to jersey. The bar was well stocked and we made a friend in Brian a local drinking buddy. Mick and Gill Spillane

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank studs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
806 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#5 of 31 in St Helier
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 31 in St Helier
619 reviews
0 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
421 reviews
6.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'etang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'etang

Address: 33 Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'etang 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De L'etang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Etang Hotel St. Helier
De L'Etang Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing