We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of De L'etang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De L'etang
Ranked #1 of 20 St Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here following trip advisor information and were not disappointed. We had the front room on the second floor with the balcony and woke to the waves crashing on the beach just across the road every morning. Yes, the road was busy at certain times, particularly from 7am onward but it did not deter from the comfortable and clean bed or our sleep. Breakfast was everything we expected and all staff were pleasant and extremely helpful at all times. The owners are attentive and make a great effort to ensure that your stay is special and always had a kind and personal word with all those resident at the hotel. Centrally positioned and a short walk to all main shops. We had read that the bar becomes noisy at times but having stayed there for 6 nights did not have one disturbed night. One small down point as mentioned in other reviews are the provision of a kettle and cups in every room but no tea, coffee or milk provided but after all the bar is just down stairs and open as long as you need it so improvise!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJ260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    40
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
66
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I tend to travel for work and stay in upmarket hotels. But the breakfast that I had in De L'etang was among the best that I have had. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean, large and functional. Ideally located for buses and for the centre of St Helier. Excellent value for money for a room so close to the centre. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylanmarlais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had a basic single room which suited my needs. Although there was a kettle, mug and spoon provided in the room, you had to provide your own tea, coffee milk etc which I found a little disappointing. However the owners where really friendly and the breakfast was good and I also had an evening meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We just thought we would share with you our wonderful experience whilst visiting Jersey. The De L'etang is a little guest house on the sea front at Havre des Pas in St Helier and we were made to feel so welcome by John, Rebecca and all the staff which really made a difference . They were always around to give helpful advice and pass the time of day. After lovely days out on this beautiful island it was so nice to go back to the guesthouse and receive the same warm welcome every time.

Having booked in for bed and breakfast, which are really superb, we thought we would sample many of the local restaurants at night however the little restaurant at the guesthouse was just perfect - there was no need to go elsewhere. The food, all cooked by John, is quite delicious, reasonably priced and very moorish mmmmm. It was a shame we had to leave before they had one of their monthly themed "Greek" nights in the resturant because the locals we met gave rave reviews about these nights and I am sure we would have loved it.

The bar has a lovely atmosphere with the guests and locals all mixing together and having lots of laughs. This place is really a must if you are going on a visit to Jersey and even if you have booked elswhere we would recommend you at least go for a meal in the restaurant and then relax in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are visiting Jersey I would have to advise you to go and see John and Rebecca at the De L'etang. This is a fantastic place and you are really made to feel welcome. You can relax in the sun with a nice glass of wine or beer then into the little restaurant where you will not be disappointed. The food is top quality, very reasonably priced and all fresh - we saw the fishermen delivering the catch of the day which can be on your plate in a matter of hours. To finish off your night you can go into the cosy bar which is buzzing with life and so friendly. No words can describe how great John, Rebecca and their staff they treat you like you are a member of the family and nothing is too much trouble for them. Without a doubt the De L'etang is SIMPLY THE BEST.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Me and my Mother stay at De L'etang for the first week in May 2013. I was born on Jersey and it was my first time back as an adult.
From the word go the owners (who we plan to keep in contact with) were unbelievably friendly, welcoming, and very very hospitable. I actually cannot fault this beautiful little guesthouse. Perfect location, stunning views and the food, well it was out of this world! A wide breakfast menu was included in the price of our stay and was wonderful every single morning. The greek style restaurant that is also part of L'etang was excellent. Fresh authentic greek that was so good and reasonably priced we felt like we were robbing them!! It was beautiful! We ate there almost every night. The lovely little bar in the guesthouse has a wonderful atmosphere. We had a brilliant time with guests and locals alike.

We will defiantly be coming back next year. There was lots to see and do on Jersey and we felt De L'etang was very central and it was easy to get anywhere from..St helier town centre was a pleasant walk away. The guesthouse is on the sea front and we found the spot quiet and relaxing. You could literally through a stone to the beach. We would like to thank everyone we met and especially Rebecca, family and staff for a fantastic stay and a wonderful holiday!! WE MISS D L'ETANG!!! See you for Liberation day 2014 xxx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkw1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

just returned from st helier in jersey we stopped at the De L etang b&b in st helier the guest house was very clean and the people friendly the food was excellent both at breakfast and evening meals local transport passed the b&b into the bus station in st helier where you can catch the bus to go anywhere on the island. at the weekend the bar is very busy so there is a bit of noise in the b&b but we was given notice of this so was expecting it untill midnight but it was a good b&b for our first visit to jersey. It is quite expensive for meals and food so be carefull and shop around

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are quiet noisy from the bar but the view over the bay are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john668551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'etang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'etang

Property: De L'etang
Address: 33 Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'etang 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your De L'etang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Etang Hotel St. Helier
De L'Etang Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing