We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.83*
and up
Jersey Heritage Pass: 4 for 3 Attractions
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 29 March to 29 October - Daily - 10am to 5pm. Nominated for a Visit England Best Told Story Award. Absorb yourself in interactive exhibits, understand the tides and learn how to design and float a ship. Immerse yourself in songs and stories of the sea, and investigate the Island's myths and legends. The Maritime Museum brings alive Jersey's maritime past. Winner of Visit England 'Best Told Story' Accolade. Find out about our Heritage Pass - four visitor attractions for the price of three on our website or at any of our visitor attractions.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I love this museum. There is so much to do and see and there are lots of interactive sections. It's very reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    194
    55
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tennerfest”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Food is so good never had a bad meal here the service is very good you can watch chef preparing your food has good atmospheir the tennerfest menue is ten out of ten

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great visit! Tucked away by the marinas you would never guess at the insides. We found it great fun, both educational and fun. My 22 year old son just loved the challenge of getting the boat to sail in the tank and we all loved the giant globe with the moving bits. The museum illustrated the maritime history really well.

As a needle woman I adored the tapestry. It told a fascinating story of the Jersey occupation through the stitching. The films were good too.

Would recommend this to everyone. All ages too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could have stayed all day”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Occupation Tapestry should be viewed after a visit to the War Tunnels, we think. There is so much to see and do in the museum, lots of little hands-on exhibits, even if all you have to do is open a small door. So many pictures of Jersey people with stories to tell.
Before we went, we weren't convinced we'd be very interested - in the end we were captivated. The exhibits, by way of framed pictures and posters, extend beyond the galleries themselves even into the toilet block: I was a bit surprised to find instructions for donning a life jacket on the toilet door!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Homburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The tapestry part of the museum was really interesting telling the story of the occupation. The rest of the museum was also very good and a family with children could really spend half a day there. I also thought the flagstones and seats around this part of the harbour were very inventive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinWBadHomburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing