We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.04*
and up
Jersey Heritage Pass: 4 for 3 Attractions
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 29 March to 29 October - Daily - 10am to 5pm. Nominated for a Visit England Best Told Story Award. Absorb yourself in interactive exhibits, understand the tides and learn how to design and float a ship. Immerse yourself in songs and stories of the sea, and investigate the Island's myths and legends. The Maritime Museum brings alive Jersey's maritime past. Winner of Visit England 'Best Told Story' Accolade. Find out about our Heritage Pass - four visitor attractions for the price of three on our website or at any of our visitor attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I thought this was interesting. there was some interactive things to do, also on display were the tapestries depicting the occupation which was made by island residents. A couple of hours is all it takes to visit but enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maurjam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    206
    57
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Didn't expect much, what a revelation!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have a partner with a thing for boats so I tagged along not expecting much. It was great. History of maritime activity in Jersey was great for kids and adults alike, and the tapestry (again I thought "yawn" in advance) is utterly fabulous, honestly. Not so interesting for kids but there's plenty of other stuff to keep them busy while you soak in what honestly will be as important a record in the future as the Bayeux tapestry. It is marvellous, an island-wide effort supported by a really moving video. We spent over two hours there, it's great. Don't miss the definitions of each type of wind strength under each flagpole outside, and be sure to start at the light breeze end so as not to ruin the punch line!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“maritime”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

more geared up for the children, lots of things to try out for them but I was a bit disappointed could have been better, not worth the money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amv0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormesby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

they have a tappestry there showing the occupation plus a video telling the story,The maritime section is very good with a lot of imformation dont miss the steam clock outside

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grizzlyOrmesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Hants, Berks borders
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lots and lots of interactive things for kids and adults alike. The ships cabin was an experience and not one for the sea sick! The Nazi Tapestry was a difficult one to explain to the kids but worth a viewing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nogrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing