We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Super hotel in an excellent location. Very good facilities, pleasant, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveKershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip in April 2011. Booked a double room with my wife but were kindly upgraded to an Executive double (I think as I've stayed here before). The room is everything you'd need for a comfotable stay and the staff are very helpful.

Although we only booked B & B, we ate at their carvery restaurant (Harbour Room) one night and the food, service and wine list were all very good. The hotel is right in the imddle of St Helier so is an ideal location for a city/business trip. For those who want to stay next to a beach, you may find it better to stay outside St Helier.

However, apart from the excellent food and drink in the main restaurant or street level bistro, being in the middle of town makes the hotel a great base to explore St Helier on foot. The breakfast was great as well - with lots of fresh fruit and a big variety on offer. I've stayed here before and would happily stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I iam a classic business traveller, in and out for one night. Don't need anything complicated but like a certain level of comfort. Pomme D'Or fitted the bill perfectly. It is in an excellent position close to the seafront and the business centre of St Helier, with other restaurants coffee shops etc nearby. Check in and check out were quick and charming, breakfast was excellent, service was very good without being overly obsequious. My room was not as classy as the general impression of the hotel but it was fine. It had an ironing board and iron in the room (always a sign of a good hotel). There was a free plug in internet connection in the room but no free wi-fi,. that is my only real beef. I have a Macbook air which doesn't have the plug in option. I need wi-fi and would have liked it in the room. I will make this my first choice hotel on Jersey in future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Thanks you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will now use the Pomme d'Or Hotel as your first choice when visiting Jersey. We do offer FREE Wi-fi throughout the hotel and in all guest bedrooms and were not aware of any problems over the period that you stayed. We will ensure that the FREE Wi-fi is communicated better to all our guests in future as we see this as a necessity, especially when staying on business. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pomme d'Or Hotel and Jersey soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

excellent location, service and food. Helpful staff . Downside no parking [but plenty of public parking around] and a shower that wouldn't turn off!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandJoy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

An excellent hotel in every way. Food, accommodation, staff and location first class. A joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Hotel evening meal very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed for the weekend of 18th-20th March in the Pomme d'Or with a group 15 very old footballers. We had arranged a weekend in Jersey to play a local team and had initially looked at staying in the Merton, where we had previously stayed in 2003.

The Merton doesn't open until April so the very helpful group reservations manager (Maggie) kindly offered us the Pomme d'Or (which is their sister hotel) as a superbly competitive price.

(Maggie was very helful with our booking in all ways, and if you are ever considering bringing a group over to Jersey then she should be your first port-of-call).

The Pomme d'Or is located in a fantastic position on Liberation Square, just next to the shops, clubs, harbour and bus station. It was a superb base for our group.

We booked on a B & B basis and the rooms were excellent with some nice touches. It's probably geared more towards business travellers and couples, and families may well be better off that the Merton with it's great waterpark.

The breakfasts were excellend, service great and staff very friendly. There's a free internet PC in reception and I think free WiFi in the rooms, but I didn't check.

Couldn't fault it and, if I return to Jersey, will stay there again.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed here for a weekend with my partner, the staff were all very professional and friendly and helpful and the food was amazing, we ate at the restaurant 2 nights where they had a buffet of hot and cold food and a carvery, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £100 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing