We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located hotel with professional friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located hotel with professional friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Pomme d'Or for 3 nights and enjoyed it. All the staff members were very polite, helpful and smiling. Breakfast was really good, with a lot of choice.
We didn't eat at any of the restaurants.
The hotel is very well located: a 2 minute walk from the bus station, a 5 minute walk from the tourist information centre, a 15 minute walk from the pier where our boat arrived, which saved us the price of a taxi.
The hotel is very close to the city centre. The bus network is very convenient.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit noisy because of the air con and the view was not nice. I would have chosen a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    473
    124
    30
    15
See reviews for
176
762
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The bus service is great but the ques can be huge. Move early or get a taxi, they are not expensive and the drivers are good fun.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wack503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The service in the hotel was very good. The breakfast was really nice. The 'Wharf Bar' service was very friendly. The food you could buy in the 'Café Bar' was really tasty, especially the seafood pasta!

The room was big and clean. The beds were comfortable!

The Hotels location was in St. Helier's city centre. It was in front of the 'Marina' and a 3mins walk to the Post Office!

The best things were definately the Location and the excellent Breakfast. But I also liked our room!

Nothing was really bad in the hotel. There wasn't a shower but a combined bath tub and shower, which was ok. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Excellent hotel and amazing breakfasts. The hotel is well situated for travelling around the island on their public bus service as hotel is a five minute walk away from bus station and a £6.50 day pass allows you to hope on and off bus that day stopping at attractions at will.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great Location, great breakfast, professional and friendly staff. We were over for the weekend for a friend's wedding and chose one of the rooms over looking Liberation Square and the harbour.

Several friends had chosen boutique hotels and all reported less than impressive reviews. Whilst there doesn't seem to be anywhere especially budget friendly on the island, it was well worth the comparative little extra and we would stay again if we visit Jersey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GShutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here for the first weekend in August. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were very helpful and friendly (they sold us the parking tickets & showed us how to use them - very complicated!)

Our room was nice, on the 5th (top) floor facing inwards - we had e-mailed the hotel requesting a quiet room on a high floor (having read other reviews) and this is exactly what we got. You could hear the air con units outside when you opened the window, but as it was pretty warm we slept with the air con on and the window closed.

The lifts are a bit old and slow, but they got you up & down! The breakfast was lovely - great selection, and the fry-up was fab. We didn't try the hotel bars or restaurants.

I would say the main selling point for this hotel is the location, right on Liberation Square just across from the harbour with everything to hand. We hired a car for 24 hours which was a great thing to do - explored the whole island and stopped wherever we wanted, which would be a bit tricky on the bus. We weren't lucky with the weather, but still had a great time and thought Jersey and her people were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a nice hotel in a convenient location. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful!
Rooms are clean and modern.
The only downside is the lack of car-parking facilities. It's necessary to use a nearby public
car park and finding a free bay may not be so easy. They should consider acquiring a
number of dedicated bays free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing