We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location - recommended”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location - recommended”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a deal. From the first phone call to the hotel till the final check out the staff were charming and helpful. We stayed over my birthday and think i only mentioned it during my enquiry with dates during booking. To my great surprise in our room on our first evening was a bottle of champagne on ice and a birthday cake. It was such a lovely and much appreciated touch.
The hotel is in a perfect location, 2 mins from the Liberation Square with the central bus station.( £1.70 for bus from airport to station - runs every 20 mins) and a taxi's right outside. The restaurant and some of the rooms over look the harbour. To add to this you are just on the edge of the town itself, close, but not too close.
Our room was smartly decorated, and perfectly adequate for us. It felt like it had been recently refurbished compared with the hallways, which are fine but may appear a little dated. The bathroom had a great bath and shower all clean and a pleasure to use.
Our deal gave us breakfast each morning, and what a breakfast! there was everything you could want, and as much of it as you could want. It was lovely to sit and eat breakfast overlooking the harbour and square.
We would have no heistation on returning to this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family if they were to visit.
The staff were lovely, always served you with a smile and showed a genuine interest in helping you.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xhe1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    504
    137
    32
    18
See reviews for
192
837
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
692 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel offers good value evening dining with a different option each evening. Our Friday evening visit was for the impressive fish feast. The help yourself, all you can eat buffet, is excellent. On this occasion there was smoked fish soup along with a vast array of cold fish and seafood starters which included crab claws, oysters, cockles, winkles, whelks, salmon, various prawns, graveaux, various mussels, etc etc there is also an excellent range of salads, sauces and accompaniments plus a few meat starters too.

The selection of hot dishes included sea bass, skate wing, crab cakes, salmon, swordfish, mussels etc again there were a couple of non-fish options including Thai green curry chicken. Desserts (if you manage them) included cheese, various cheesecakes, trifle a blueberry sorbet, etc tea or coffee is included all for £26.50 per person. There is a good wine list too. It is popular with locals and visitors, so booking is probably wise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a really lovely trip to jersey and enjoyed our stay at this great hotel which has a good location right near the city centre...The staff were absolutely professional and very helpful in every regard. Thanks so much for a really lovely stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambleton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Location is difficult to beat (across from bus station; car hire next door, Liberty Wharf across and well worth a visit), history also as this is the balcony from where liberation was declared in 1945 and has stood on the same spot for 175 years. Good room size, good breakfast, modern and fresh communal areas/toilets, the only "tired" area of the hotel we observed were the corridors, maybe that they are planning on renovating over time as we relaise money isn't always plentiful in the hotel industry. The staff were very friendly and helped with any request, even the food in the cafe bar was pretty good, although there are stunning places to eat so this is only a needs must (we had had an amazing lunch in St Brelade's Bay and just needed a snack late evening hence why we tried it) - definitely recommend as value for money, great location and a good spot from which to explore the fabulous island of Jersey!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelMar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, and frankly cant say it was anything particular. The rooms are all fine, although rather bland and boring. The one plus, staff are friendly and accomodating. All in all, a very bland and uninteresting stay, and given the other options in St Helier, i dont think i'll be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ned8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on business in Jersey.
Public areas of hotel furnished and decorated very well, bedrooms and hallways around bedrooms adequate but looking a little tired. Having said that the room was functional, comfortable and provided everything required for a good stay. I did read in the hotel info provided in the room they are currently refurbishing rooms although to what extent wasn't clear.
The only problem I had was it being an adjoining room and I always find this means you can hear a little more noise from next door, but that's the same in all hotels.
Used room service one night, ordered steak which was cooked as requested and tasted very good. Used the carvery restaurant the other two nights and again food was good although could get repetitive if you were staying here longer term. Breakfast was a good selection of the usual (juices, cereals, cold meats, fruit, yoghurts, cooked etc.) and no complaints.
Staff very helpful on reception, in the restaurant and generally polite throughout.
Would stay there again if returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomJonesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We went for 5 days over January. The hotel is really well located, 5 Min walking from the Liberation Station (from the airport you can take the 15 and takes no more than 30 min! the ticket is £1.70) The reception staff was really friendly and very professional all the time. We had an issue with internet, no connection in our room as was in the corner, not much to do. They offer us a room move but the room in the corner was nicer. Internet works very good in the Lobby and restaurant. Buffet breakfast was included, a very good choice. We had dinner one night as well, very good. I will thank Tony, at the Restaurant and Ewa (I think that's the name of the Head Receptionist) They been really friendly.
A positive point on the Fitness facilities, they are in their sister hotel about 10 min walking, nice and the staff there was very good. We will be back!

Room Tip: The ones on the corner (where you can make the extra bed) are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,937 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing