We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 1st trip to Jersey....especially without a car”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for 1st trip to Jersey....especially without a car”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after booking through Airmiles.
Location; we got the bus from the airport which took 20 min & literally dropped us off 20 seconds walk from the front door. The bus station was so handy, clean & easy to use, so the Pomme d'Or is in a great spot if you don't hire a car. The main shopping area is less than 5 mins walk & bars, pubs & restaurants are even closer. The hotel overlooks Liberation Square, & to the right, as you look towards the harbour, is a newish, small shopping area called Liberty Wharf which has a Costa Coffee, & a rather delicious pasty shop/cafe; again, only about 30 seconds from the hotel lobby.
Room: our standard room was clean, comfortable & very pleasant. I would liken it in style & size to a good Holiday Inn. Our room was at the back of the hotel & overlooked a side street with a nightclub but we didn't hear a peep from outside. There was stacks of piping hot water which meant the bath filled very quickly compared to most hotel bathrooms & the shower was powerful. The tea & coffee tray is well stocked with drinks & biscuits(I recommend the hot chocolate!) There's quite a good choice of TV channels for a hotel room.
Food; we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The standard hot items are available but you can ask for poached eggs, kippers etc, Our poached eggs came quickly & cooked just right. There was a really good choice of fruits, yoghurts & pastries. Coffee was delicious. It was a typical breakfast buffet for this standard of hotel, but very well done & the added bonus of the restaurant being on the 1st floor means a delightful view of the harbour while eating.
Overall impression: we found all areas, including corridors, to be in good repair, & the lobby & reception area are particularly nice. The reception staff were extremely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place & I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    493
    133
    31
    17
See reviews for
185
799
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I called twice during the night and was told by the staff that since the party below our room was booked and paid for, they were allowed to have their music played as loudly as they wished until 1:30 am. They did not seem to get the logic that I had paid for a hotel room to sleep in, not hear all the tunes popular in the nineties "woooooed" over by drunk patrons. They offered us another room, but only half my family was struggling to sleep, and how could I pack up a five and seven year old at midnight and move two floors up? The manager needs to do their job and reconcile the differences between two venues. The party could have surely continued at a much lower volume and I would have slept during the night that I had already paid for.

Clean, spacious, loud with uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Pomme d’Or Hotel. We are extremely sorry to learn that you felt your stay was spoiled by the music from our event suites and that a suitable resolution was not agreed.

Members will notice from this forum that this is not an issue that has previously been raised as a complaint. However, since this review has highlighted a problem for the writer, we are absolutely committed to ensuring that it does not affect any guests in the future. We are grateful for this feedback, which allows us to improve our levels of service even further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northallerton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Really enjoyed the hotel itself and parking wasn't the problem I thought it might be. Very handy car park a couple of minutes walk away. Great location for the town and so for pubs, restaurants in the evening .. without needing to drive anywhere. Nice food, very friendly and attentive service, lovely hotel.
My only small negative was the use of facilities at the 'sister' hotel. I'd hoped to go swimming in the pool at the sister hotel but it wasn't a short stroll, it was actually a 15 minute brisk walk and I didn't particularly like the dark and quite lonely road you had to go down past the park. It wasn't a pool but a leisure / fun pool - not suitable for 'proper' swimming.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Pomme d'Or for 4 nights in February for business. The standard room was perfectly suited, although I spent one night in the executive room which was a lots nicer for only £10 more. Great buffet breakfast and carvery dinner has a great selection, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: get an executive room if it's not too much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicvowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Have stayed here now four or five times. Rooms are very good and well equipped. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The food is good and great value. Breakfast is really nice with a vast selection of cooked and continental foods. Checkout is quick and efficient. Have stayed in other hotels in St Helier which may be plusher but for overall service and hospitality this is the one I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Speeds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in room 538 for four nights. Great view over the marina. lovely, helpful staff, especially Tony, restaurant manager. Astonishing food in atmospheric restaurant. We had the Gills and Grills on the Saturday........ the best starter fish buffet ever. Room was very good. It was a pleasure to stay here. Location fine. Only wish is that they could 'do' with their own car park as 'car parking ticket management' can be a pain.

Room Tip: Go to fifth floor and negotiate a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a deal. On arrival at the hotel, the receptionist was extremely professional and very helpful. We had a room right at the top of the hotel overlooking a side street, not the best view in the world but we weren't staying there for the view. As we were there over a weekend we were a bit concerned as other reviewers had said it was very noisy in the site street at night but I'm pleased to say we didn't hear a thing being so high up. The room was pleasant enough with a small seating area, very clean plenty of cupboard space and an adequate bathroom, fairly typical of a central hotel. We did find the room rather cold but this might be because we were at the top of the hotel. There are rooms which overlook Liberation Square and the Harbour but we didn't think it was worth paying a premium for these.

Breakfast in the Harbour Room was excellent with plenty of choice from continental through to full English. However, we only ate from the Harbour Room carvery buffet on one night and sadly were not impressed. The roast beef was overdone to the point of incineration, the gravy was cold, potatoes undercooked and generally a real disappointment. We also ate in the Cafe Bar on the ground floor and this was an entirely different experience. Fabulous food, amazing staff, great prices. I would really recommend that if you stay here and want to eat in the hotel in the evenings then give the carvery a miss and go to the Cafe Bar.

Normally when we go to Jersey we hire a car but this time we decided to try the buses which is why we chose the Pomme D'Or. It's a 5 minute stroll to the central bus station, with a maximum fare of £1.70 anywhere on the island. The buses are clean and always on time. We were there at the end of October so they were on Winter timetables, not as frequent as the Summer timetable but we still managed to get everywhere we wanted. It's also only a 15 minute walk to the Harbour where you can get ferries to Guernsey.

The hotel has a lot of history, Victor Hugo stayed here but it's biggest claim to fame is that it was from the balcony in front of the Harbour Room where the liberation of Jersey was proclaimed in 1945.

Although the rooms themselves were clean and well furnished the corridors appeared to be tired and faded and could do with renovating.

Certainly, if you want a central hotel with good public transport then the Pomme d'~Or is for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing