We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay near the marina and central to St Helier. The Hotel room/service/food/check-in/check-out were all exceptional and the staff were eager to please - nothing was too much trouble. Even when it seemed that everyone wanted their breakfast at around 9am, Carlos (the 'Breakfast Manager' [sorry, I don't know his proper title]), didn't flap and calmly directed proceedings so it all ran smoothly even though over 90 hungry people turned up.

Some people mentioned the difficulty of parking but I didn't hire a car because the bus service was excellent with the bus terminal being less than a 2-minute walk from the Hotel foyer. Jersey is a small island, (only 9x5 miles), so taxis and buses are inexpensive and frequent.

If you are on holiday in Jersey, I recommend 'the petit train', very twee but most informative about the island and things to see and do.

Also, don't leave Jersey without tasting the 'Real Dairy Jersey ice cream' from the kiosk in Liberation Square - DELICIOUS!

Room Tip: Room 539 is large with a view over Liberation Square and the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowfoxrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting my niece. The staff were very welcoming and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is very convenient for tours and shopping. The breakfast was excellent. Nice big bath towels! Slept really well and not affected by any external noise - windows were quadruple glazed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is good the staff are friendly and they are happy to help you wherever possible. The location of the hotel is ideal right in the centre. The only criticism is there is no parking available there is a busy car park where you must pay with scratch cards from 8am until 5pm. This was not a massive issue for us as we were visiting other areas of jersey during these times.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flashash2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Great staff, nice clean room, fantastic food, sadly if you are at the rear of the hotel you may need ear plugs due to the busy and noisy pubs and clubs behind the hotel, even the double double glazing isn't enough and there isn't much else they can do to make it quieter.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a Premier room which was excellent overlooking the harbour. Reception staff were very friendly and always helpful and so where the vast majority of all other staff except one restaurant manger who was rather abrupt and in polite. Down side if anything of the hotel is the poor choice of evening food in a lovely restaurant. A carvery meal consisting of just two meats beef and turkey the later not even a full turkey only a rolled breast joint, and a starter of a help yourself buffet all for £18.50 not great value for money. For a 4 star rated hotel the menu in the restaurant could be so so much better. The menu in the Cafe Bar was more appertising looking but lacked the ambience wanted whilst celebrating a silver wedding anniversary.

Breakfast was a buffet affair again but provided ample choice for all. Only complaint was that the offer of anything else was not forth coming, poached eggs where stated but never offered.

Downside was that the hotel puts a lot of effort into the conferencing side with lots of delegates at the hotel all the time.

Location wise this was superb for the centre of town and if your mode of transport was bus the main bus station was just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can opt for the Premier Rooms if on pleasure for peace and quite and a bit of luxury very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

What a find, Lovely little cafe overlooking the square, but it was the food that was unbelievable, beautifully cooked. varied menu, my daughter (normally very fussy when eating out) loved the meals as did I, The staff were friendly and efficient.Amazing historical hotel which was once the headquarters of the German occupation force. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the end of August. This hotel is near everything, marina, restaurants, museums, shops, bus station for trips, etc. Hotel staff are very helpful, pleasant and simply nice, and they can not wait to help you. I have stayed in many hotels over the years from cheaps to expensives but I have never stayed in a hotel where every single staff is so pleasant. If you choose B&B and might like to explore restaurants in the town, but you must try its Harbour View restaurant. It is informal and buffett style but with all the luxury of formal dining and the food is super, great! Good room, powerful shower, but I could have done with much lighter cover on the bed than heavy duvet. I did not have any problem connecting to their free Wifi. Very useful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atsuko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St Helier
2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing