We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is an excellent hotel right in the center of St Helier. The bus station is opposite which is very handy. The town center is 800 yds away. The bedrooms are very clean and modern. There is a superb restaurant for evening meals and breakfast. I would recommend this one. Ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for a business trip as needed a centrally located venue. The hotel was perfectly serviceable but felt a little dated. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again if necessary but it wouldn't be my first choice in St Helier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephDeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We travelled to jersey in August, the hotel reception staff were very nice if a little ill informed. When I asked if there were any Italian restaurants in the vicinity the young lady looked lost. But overall the staff at the hotel were fantastic as they really did genuinely seem to want to make our stay a happy one. The breakfasts were excellent , best sausages I've ever had. The rooms however although we'll equipped were slightly dated, but my main problem was that our floor (I think 3rd) seem to smell of tobacco and the carpet was old and dirty. We had a lovely time in Jersey and would not hesitate in going back o the pomme d'or, just buy a new carpet!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etoetoeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for a long weekend 26 October. Brilliant friendly welcome on our arrival and this great service continued all weekend - great staff who just seemed to do excellent customer service without really trying. Lots of hotels could come here and learn how to do it! Really good breakfast and The Harbour Restaurant Carvery was a good choice after our full day trip around the island on Sunday. Great stay in a hotel that deserves it's rating - we will look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel with harbour views - worth the extra that we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Well located in the centre of St Helier, this hotel has been around for ages, but it has improved with age. We had a room overlooking the square and marina on the 5th floor, which was very quiet even though it was a Friday night. The room was well appointed, with an attractive seating area, a smallish bed (not king-sized as advertised) and a good bathroom with separate shower.
Check-in was quick and efficient, as well as being friendly. Ditto for check-out the next day.
We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but had a snack for lunch in the cafe. Service was a little slow but the staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was very good - the buffet food was hot and well cooked. As usual, my gripe about most UK hotels (and I know that Jersey is not in the UK!) - not enough fresh fruit. I don't want to eat tinned peaches and pears.
Having said that, weighing up the pros and cons, this will now become my hotel of choice when staying overnight in Jersey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here on the weekend of 19th October, through a Groupon offer. We arrived at 9.58 pm on the Friday evening; reception staff arranged with the cafe bar that was due to shut at 10 pm for them to serve a light bite from their menu - they laid a table and gave good service throughout; even recommending local bars. Didn't manage to drink the free bottle of sparking wine provided as part of the weekend break deal on the Friday, so room service were happy to bring ice up to our room on the Saturday evening. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. Although our room overlooked the rear of the hotel there was no noise that other guests have commented upon. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the Harbour Room restaurant; buffet style starter, al a carte main and buffet desert and cheese. Great selection and reasonable bar/wine prices with attentive service. Reception staff provided information on tours and shopping and were helpful at all times, including charging an I-phone and looking after baggage after check-out. The bus station opposite was great and saved us money on taxis; buses are regular and provide a great service, especially to the Airport. Can definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can upgrade for a room overlooking the marina but standard rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garbz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

just had my sisters wedding at the pomme d'or hotel
from start to finish the whole event was faultless
vikki took care of all requirements whilst james the duty manager
made sure everything was taken care of throughout the whole day
the wedding lunch was faultless and the evening buffet was just the same
everyone and i mean every single person commented on how good the food & service was
hats off to the chef and all the staff who were brilliant
as the wedding planner it made my day an easier one

i will give them top marks for everything
and would recommend them highly to anyone or a wedding function
90 people praising the day cant be wrong

Room Tip: bridal suite was fabulous and situated at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,761 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £101 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing