We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We attended with a group of friends from all over the UK. Everything was clean and in good condition. The room was spacious although I had problems getting the shower to work as I didn't understand how to control the water flow!!
All the food was delicious but the seafood buffet we had on Friday evening was outstanding! Oysters, mussels and crab claws were piled high and so good I missed the main course to have more seafood!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeandJenny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    483
    127
    30
    16
See reviews for
181
780
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I were booked into this hotel for 5 nights in October 2013. Upon arrival, we had an issue about the payment because the company who brought me to Jersey had not tied up the payment on our behalf. However the reception staff were patient and nothing was too much trouble to sort out for them. The room was standard, nothing special. The bed was comfy. If I had my way, I would've moved the bed to the other side of the room (nearer the window) because my husband and I had to keep squeezing past each other and jumping over our laptop / phone cables (for which plugs are not allocated next to the bed but near the TV) in order to get to the bathroom or to the door. That's another thing - I don't know why hotels don't have plugs located next to the bed for plugging in phones at night - very inconvenient and its not just at this hotel I've come across this. Additionally, thank goodness for double glazing, which kept the night sounds out, which we were especially grateful for considering there was a sports bar just across the road from us!

The staff were very helpful generally, twice I rang reception and asked for more milk and sugar for our tea tray and they were very obliging. Aggrey, the Kenyan who worked at the Café Bar downstairs is so helpful and friendly, we really enjoyed chatting to him.

The food was of high quality, breakfast buffet had everything that you could want. The breakfast lounge is lovely, bright and airy and the staff are very prompt and friendly.

The location of the hotel was perfect for my work activities, it is very close to central St. Helier with everything within 5-10 minutes walk. It's also located just across the road from the harbour so you have a beautiful view of the boats and the hubbub of morning activities from the breakfast room (our hotel room was situated on the side of the hotel so we had a view of rooves of businesses across from us - not much to look at).

The only thing I had a severe problem with is the parking situation. We hired a car and were told that we were unable to park in front of the hotel (drop off and pick up only) and that there were several car parks in the vicinity. The hotel did not have a special arrangement with local car parks or allocated spaces at any of these for hire cars, so we had to pay for our parking 'scratch cards' by the hour. This meant that we would have to ensure that our scratch cards for parking were ready the night before for 8am the next morning. We struggled to understand how the parking system worked initially (Europcar were not very helpful with this information), and it would've been very helpful to have some kind of guide when we arrived to explain to us. It would also be good if the hotel mentioned on its website or in it's guest information pack in the rooms where good place are to park, where you can buy parking scratch cards and how the system operates. The one way system in St. Helier is extremely frustrating - so plan your route to the hotel from the airport in advance, so you don't get caught in trying to do ever diminishing circles in order to get to the hotel.

The only other thing which frustrated me was the lack of information in the guest information packs in the hotel room. Usually, these encompass information on the hotel restaurant's menus - but it did not have this, it only had the room service menu. It would also be good to have information about local restuarants and which ones are recommended. I also had to ring reception on our last night to find out what time check out was, because this information is not included in the pack. Places to see/visit in Jersey would also be nice to see as part of this pack.

Lastly, the hotel does not provide much information to guests about the leisure facilities at the Merton Hotel including how far it is to walk / cycle / drive, what the leisure facilities include and a mention that you can hire towels there (£5 deposit which is returned once you bring the towels back) and lockers which can be hired at £1. We used the leisure facilities there which are excellent (they even switched the supertibe on for us!), but be warned if you take your car. There is a hotel parking lot - but you have to go into the hotel reception, mention you are guests of Pomme D'or, show them your hotel card and they will give you a parking badge to put in your car if you park in the hotel carpark across from the hotel. The Merton is about a 5 minute drive from the Pomme D'or, but again, watch out that the one way system doesn't catch you out.

I guess we would probably stay at this hotel again if we came to Jersey, but might be inclined to try the sister hotel, the Merton because of the parking and the leisure centre located on premises. However, for access to St. Helier, Pomme D'or was excellent, the service very good and all in all I could not fault the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have the money to upgrade, do it. We heard a lady asking for a discount on an upgrade at rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kznaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

As with all good cricket tours, a minimal amount of time was spent in the hotel but the breakfasts were huge and excellent and the service both efficient and friendly. The bedrooms were clean and tidy and the chambermaid very friendly and helpful as were the reception staff - always very important as the first point of contact. The site could not have been more central.

Sadly, the only other facility we used was the bar - which ran out of beer very quickly (and not all our fault!).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to Jersey for a short stay to run the Marathon. We took the Marathon-Offer that is basically the same price but includes a very high standard breakfast buffet that includes porridge, boiled eggs (these two very suitable for marathon runners) different kinds of fruits, all kind of choices (including my favourite: black pudding) to tailor-made your own english breakfast. The rooms are spotless and the bed very comfortable with a choice of pillow with and without feathers. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. However when it came to request a late check out on the day of the Marathon, we had to pay £40 extra which I found it a bit odd since they know the marathon starts at 9am. So, even if you win it you'd have only 30mins to take the shower and check out. Usually, most hotels we've been to, give us a couple extra ours for free unless the hotel is fully booked!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindicavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 20th September to 24th September during my trip to Jersey. I normally stay at the Radisson but because there was no availability on this trip I stayed at the Pomme d'Or. The hotel is a very good hotel. They have a restaurant at the first floor which serves buffet dinner. It is actually a feast going for this buffet. The hotel is right opposite to the bus station. All you have to do is get down and cross the road to get a bus to any place on the island. Rooms are big and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Cleanliness is maintained. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a really difficult review to write – everything that the other reviewers have said is by and large true – it is a really nice hotel. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and spacious, the restaurant is very good and the breakfast buffet is one of the best. So your thinking what has happened to call it the worst hotel I have stayed in – quite simply it is the lack of basic fire safety standards throughout, it reminds me of an early 1970’s hotel – a very basic fire alarm system (Category L4 – should be L1) with no smoke detectors in the bedrooms, the fire doors to the bedrooms themselves do not have self closers and with few exceptions no fire doors have an intumescent strip/cold smoke seal fitted – these are all very basic precautions that even the most modest UK B&B’s have – they are all designed to first of all give warning of and then contain a fire and so allow the occupants to escape safely. At the moment if a fire starts in a bedroom (or any other room without detection) the first anyone will know about it is when it breaks out of the room and into the corridor, unless, and this is possible, there is a common ventilation system between rooms, in which case the smoke will spread throughout the building. How it has been allowed to carry on as a hotel without these basic requirements I do not know, presumably the local fire service don’t carry out fire inspections like they do in the UK, or perhaps there is no requirement for these basic standards in Jersey. So my tip is – if you are going to stay there take a domestic smoke detector with you.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a bit dearer but you get a lovely view of the marina over the dual cariag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silfinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel but extremely disappointed to read your further remarks about our fire safety standards. We are pleased to advise that the Pomme d’Or Hotel is regularly inspected by the States of Jersey Fire Service and is fully certified as such. The safety of our guests is absolutely paramount and we would have welcomed the opportunity to allay any concerns you had in person, whilst you were staying in the Hotel, rather than learn about them through this medium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Pomme d'Or Hotel friday through Monday. It was superb. Friday night was seafood night,..superb, and saturday night was carvery plus sea food. Was the best culinery weekend of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing