We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Fish Buffet”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friday Night Fish Buffet”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a treat this was. So much choice of fresh fish. There were oysters, prawns, poached and smoked salmon together with so many different types of shell fish including crab claws. Many salads and coleslaw too. Hadn't realised there would be a hot buffet as well as a cold one with hot vegetables rice and potatoes. There was even a course of hot soup Lots of desserts and a lovely cheeseboard with crackers. And coffee and plenty of mint chocolates. All in all excellent for £27.00 per head.
Very good service too and nice surroundings. Would definitely visit again on our next visit to Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    502
    136
    31
    18
See reviews for
190
816
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights from 13 June 2014. We thought the location was perfect, the room very well fitted out and comfortable. The staff very attentive and helpful. The breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice.
The highlight of our stay at the Pomme was undoubtedly the Friday night Seafood Buffet - unbelievable!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Liberation Square and the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived on Monday 9th June after a flight delayed by two hours. Our welcome to the hotel was very warm and friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the harbour and it was very well appointed. A lounge area at the window end of the room with a sofa desk and chair. Very comfortable! The bed was very comfortable and the linen of a very high quality.
All staff we encountered were very friendly. polite and had a can do attitude and went a long way to ensure everything was up to standard and that we had the best stay we could.
Thank you to all at the Pomme de Or. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to the Premier rooms with views over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for one week, location perfect (facing the square) and near the bus station. Staff are excellent. Rooms well equipped also with towelling dressing gowns and a mini fridge. Just check bill for evening meal as we had two courses but you are automatically billed for three. Would recommend this hotel as high standards are obviously maintained.

Room Tip: A room over looking the square is best. Although Saturday evenings get noisy With local young peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VickytheViking187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited on a quite Sunday night. . Waitress very attentive. Clearly a problem between serving staff and chefs. Chef who carves the meat growls at the other staff. Meat very nice veg has been hanging around and wss cold. Would give it another try

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adboperations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014


A great location, located next to the harbour and main shopping streets. Very friendly and helpful staff who made me feel welcome. Very comfortable bed and huge compliments for the feather / down pillows and duvet which add a touch of luxury. The room was clean and comfortable, if slightly a little dated in its design and the lighting was dull / gloomy. I liked the towel heater in the bathroom which made the towels nice and cosy and the towels were lovely and fluffy and white. There is an iron and, as an added extra, a trouser press. There is also a handy safe. The kettle was a nice touch but it was slightly tarnished inside so I did not use it. The free wifi worked well which is a refreshing change for hotels. The breakfast was very good: a brilliant selection, quality ingredients, and was fresh. Breakfast is also served at good, long, hours which is another welcome change for hotels.

The biggest let-down for me was my room which overlooked the generators and air con units; even with double glazing there was a loud drone throughout the day and night, and pigeons were often flapping around. I would have asked to change rooms had I not unpacked, so I just endured the drone. I was on the top, 5th, floor so imagine the noise must be even worse on lower floors. The room also smelt a little musty. I could also hear some noise from the room next door owing to thin walls. My room was also in close proximity to the elevator which meant I could hear it.

Annoyingly there were no plug sockets next to the bed. The room service food choice was also poor (over a three day period a number of items - especially desserts - were not available). However the food which was available tasted nice, eg the cashew nut and cheese burger.

For a 4 star hotel there is no pool in the hotel itself.

I think 4 star is pushing the hotel rating a bit; more 3 star.

I would like to give this hotel another chance for the positive points noted above but I would definitely ask for a room not overlooking the generators.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank svphighstandards12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for long weekend in May. Great location, fantastic food, wonderful bedrooms and extremely professional staff. Room rates fantastic value and would not look any further than this hotel when we return which we will.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing