We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Hotel”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a 4 day visit to Jersey staying at the Pomme d'Or Hotel I would like to say that the Hotel accommodation was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and the restuarant food was of good quality with extremely efficient waiting staff. My only one complaint was that the check in should be 3 pm (not 2 pm) and check out should be 11 am (not 10 am). Breakfast is served until 10 am. Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

A very good hotel in an excellent location on Liberation Square, two minutes from the bus station. We used the buses to travel all over the island and would recommend this form of transport as car parking is very difficult especially in St Helier.
Staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, the meals and service are first class. The Friday Night Seafood Buffet is especially good.
We thought we had a problem with the air conditioning in the room but found that the card slot at the door is not for the lights but to switch on the air on.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank furnacefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited Jersey for 3 night break in June and stayed at the Pomme d'Or given that few other hotels were full or expensive for what they offered.
Jersey is a joy and my wife and I were fortunate enough to travel during a mini-heatwave in June 2014. We really enjoyed our time in Jersey and only wished we allowed for a longer stay.
The Pomme d'Or has a prime position for St Helier and the bus station if you do not plan to hire a car and explore the Island by public transport.
The hotel itself is well appointed and the staff are very good and friendly. We had a problem with the air conditioning which needed external servicing and was acted upon promptly and efficiently, sadly it was only fixed in time for our final night.
Our room, standard size, was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay. The bathroom was a little tired but the toiletries provided were considered very good by my wife.
We would definitely re-consider the Pomme d'Or if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From our arrival to departure, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived with our push bikes which were stored behind reception, meaning we had to get the staff to let us in and out to get the bikes. This was no trouble whatsoever, always with a cheery hello and a smile. We had an executive double which was very comfortable with nice toiletries and a bath robe. There was even a fridge in the room with still and sparkling water provided. It was my husbands birthday whilst we were here and the staff brought up a lovely birthday cake to our room, so thoughtful! The Breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful. The location is excellent with easy access to the beach and the shopping areas. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Pomme d'or! We will see you again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilldoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Pomme d'Or is a very nice, historic hotel, superbly located for St. Helier's traffic free shopping precinct. Nicely modernised and well located, it appears well run, well staffed and well organised.

The good stuff. Great location for central St. Helier. All the staff were very helpful, friendly, kind and did their jobs very well. It is smart, very clean, prestigious and the food and service in the restaurant is of a good standard.

Disadvantages. Parking is not easy in St. Helier. Like any town centre hotel, parking your car is a problem. Jersey has a system whereby you advance purchase one-hour parking tokens to place on your dashboard in one of the many busy car parks. From 8am to 5pm you need nine such tokens. This might mean dashing out by eight o'clock to lay out your tokens for the day! You can avoid this nuisance by staying out of town, then getting buses or cabs into St. Helier, or thinking ahead and guessing how long your car will remain parked.

We had a Superior Room. Very nice too, overlooking Victory Square and a marina. Such rooms are pictured and proudly promoted in the hotel lifts. There is a cunningly positioned step running the full width of the room, between the bedroom area and the sitting area. On the first day my wife tripped up the step, fell into the glass topped coffee table conveniently positioned just a foot or two away. The glass top slid along the top of the table, knocking one of the bottles of water to the floor. The following morning, having set my phone alarm for 7.30am to dash out and attend to my parking tickets, I too crashed into the step in the gloom and stumbled onto the laminate floor. "Ouch," I ejaculated. After those incidents we memorised where the strategic booby trap was and had no further accidents. But beware upgrading to a superior room!

The main lift is small and very slow. Four or five people can travel in it, or two or three if bearing luggage. A four minute wait for the lift is not unusual. However, there is another lift at the other side of the hotel that is used less often and it also stops adjacent to the dining room on the first floor. Get to find this lift is your best bet.

Apart from the booby trap step, the room was a good size, had a nice shower, a separate bath and enough shelf space to park all your toiletries. The hot water comes through in seconds, as an added bonus. Robes, flannels, tea, biscuits, coffee, etc. are all supplied, as you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

Checking out time on your last day is 10am, which is also the time when they stop serving breakfast. Breakfast is buffet style and is very good without being exceptional or exceeding expectations. Dinner, too is a buffet which also was good without being exceptional. But as I have mentioned, the staff are all very good and the food is certainly acceptable.

All things considered, the Pomme d'Or is a very nice hotel and very probably as good as it gets in central St. Helier.

Room Tip: Perhaps the Executive Room is a good compromise. Or get a Superior Room.... but do Mind The Step!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FileUnderPopular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from two nights at the Pomme d'or hotel.
We used the bus transfer, costing just £1.80 per person each way.
We arrived at the hotel too early to check in, so we left our bags at the hotel and went to explore St helier.
Our room was ready at 2 o'clock and well worth the wait. We had upgraded our room and had a lovely view of Liberation square and the marine. (Room 535).
We had a spacious bathroom with a bath and a walk in shower. Good size bed and a spacious sofa area.
Breakfast was delicious which was all buffet style. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel.

Overall a lovely clean hotel with excellent staff and should we return to Jersey again, we would definitely use the Pomme d'or!
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Exceptional hotel in a prime location overlooking the Marina and Liberation Square, upgrade if possible to a Premier room, worth the extra just for the views. Windows are quadruple glazed so there is no noise as it overlooks a busy road. Rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable with soft fluffy towels. Reception staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Eat out of an evening but the breakfasts were of an exceptionally high standard. The Drift at the side of the Yacht Club has excellent food and the Halfpenny Bridge at the other side is great for a drink with a lovely atmosphere. A must is a visit to the War Tunnels and the Full Day Island Tour, reception will book this for you. Thank you Pomme D'or excellent few days holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premier Room, more expensive but on the front of the Hotel with excellent views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing