We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The reception staff were excellent .The rooms were spotless and well appointed .The dining room ,staff and food were great .
the biggest asset is the staff they are so good at what they do ,coupled with a centrally located hotel ,this is definitely the place to stay .

Room Tip: Whilst it is preferable to have a room at the front or side of the hotel ,whereby one gets a view .O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    502
    136
    31
    18
See reviews for
191
817
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at the Pomme D'Or Hotel in St. Helier for one night whilst in Jersey on business. The hotel is located in a prime location in St. Helier, next to Liberation Square and right on the sea front. The staff on reception at check-in were pleasant and helpful, and I received good service throughout my stay, particularly at breakfast the next morning.

The room itself was a bit dated looking and could do with an upgrade, but despite this was clean and spacious. The bathroom in particular looked quite old with a poor shower, particularly in comparison to some of the other pictures posted on here of bigger rooms. The air con unit wasn't very good and it was quite noisy without any real effect on the room's temperature. My room rate included breakfast the next morning, which was very good. The breakfast was a standard type buffet with all normal breakfast items included, although the quality was very good.

Overall, for the rate paid, I think the room could have been a better quality and it would have probably been worth it to upgrade to the bigger rooms/suites that are shown in pictures here, which look a lot better/more modern. The standard double rooms aren't really worth the money and if/when I return to St. Helier, I think I will look at other hotels before considering Pomme d'Or, or otherwise look for a better room in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here with my wife for a 5 day break in Jersey in June 2014
The hotel is ideally situated just a minutes walk from the main bus station (& the bus service is excellent, & each trip costs no more than £1.80 one way to anywhere on the Island)
Also excellently situated for the shopping centre, tourist information centre, restaurants, pubs etc
Lots of the reviews on here suggest you pay a little extra for an upgrade to a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Liberation Square, but unfortunately this wasn't an option open to us as these rooms were all taken.
We were given a room on the first floor at the back of the hotel.
Unfortunately, whilst the room was okay it overlooked a side street that had several bars in it, & these were noisy at night, particularly as the World Cup was on so they stayed open til after 1am.
However worse than this was that directly beneath our room was the hotel's service doors to the street & these metal concertina doors were being noisily opened & shut from about 5.30-6am, wakening us up both mornings that we were in that room.
We asked to be moved & the reception staff were very apologetic (but didn't seem in the least surprised, which seemed to prove to us that it was a regular complaint)
We were moved to a larger & brighter room on the third floor, at the side of the hotel, again overlooking a street but this one didn't have the noisy bars (& doors!). This was next to a room that appeared to be used by the staff (possibly a storeroom) & again we had some noise in the mornings, but this wasn't as bad.
The hotel was very clean & the staff were all very friendly.
A 10 minute walk away is a sister hotel & you can use their indoor & outdoor pool & gym facilities.
We did use the pools once & they were good.
At £110 a night, room only, I'd have preferred a Premier Inn, but there isn't one in Jersey & you have to pay their prices, so as long as I didn't get a room at the back of the hotel I would use it again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manxmanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived after a 2.5 hour delay @ the hotel check in was fast & efficient from a very pleasant group of receptionists,s they informed us of meal times & restaraunts and said that we could book an evening meal if we wanted to, it was all left up to us. They also informed us of various tours that can be booked from the hotel but were not in pushy @ all.
We had booked a premier room overlooking Liberation Square & we were glad that we did as it had a great view of the square & 2 marinas, the room had everything that we wanted ample storage, safe, tea / coffee, ironing board & hair dryer, we also had a raised area with a double sofa & small table & writing desk. Double bed was fine with good quality pillows & bed linin, bathroom was again of a good size with both bath & shower, toiletries were replenished as required as were tea / coffee ect.
As it was late when we arrived we decided to have the evening meal in the hotel which was a carvery, I have to say that the soup was only lukewarm & the carvery meal was not of a good standard, I brought this to the attention of the staff and to be fair we were not charged for the starter & was given a complementary desert.
Breakfast next morning was totally different, I have to say that the choice of continental or full English was as good as I have had in any hotel, the quality of the food was excellent, I had full English each day it was that good, it certainly set you up for the day ahead.
We did book our coach tours with the hotel who deal with Waverley travel & recommend anybody to do the same as they were excellent.
I would recommend anybody to stay @ this hotel when in Jersey as it is in a prime location close to all that St Helier has to offer both shops & restaraunts.
Thanks to all @ the Pomme d'or for a most enjoyable 4 night stay.

Room Tip: If you can book a room overlooking Liberation Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel, on the harbor in St Helier. The hotel speaks of old world elegance. The service is excellent. The location is perfect for wandering the harbor, King street, or exploring by ferry.
The hotel is perfect for hosting groups, as well as families. The breakfast is expansive.
The group dinner at the evening restaurant was great..There are many good restaurants and museums, as well as shopping within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were on our first trip to Jersey,at the hotel check-in we were greeted by a lovely smiling Kim.The procedure was very efficient,we did an upgrade,viewed the room first and were pleasantly surprised as the room was spacious ,well presented and as we found comfortable. Kim was a great source of info.,about parking,resturants and Jersey itself. We also met and enjoyed the company and chat with Douglas in the Harbour bar,on the tues.evening. Carlos led us to a great table on our first morn.Views over the Marina,sunny day too.Food and service first class.Would recommend this hotel for ,location,great staff and food.The island has a weath of history.If you are a lover of fish/oysters etc.,visit the Oyster Box at St.Brelades bay. Fab views too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a 4 day visit to Jersey staying at the Pomme d'Or Hotel I would like to say that the Hotel accommodation was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and the restuarant food was of good quality with extremely efficient waiting staff. My only one complaint was that the check in should be 3 pm (not 2 pm) and check out should be 11 am (not 10 am). Breakfast is served until 10 am. Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,652 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing