We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parson's nose: good in parts”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed four nights at the Pomme d'Or in July. The location is very convenient, overlooking the harbour and near to the bus station - the bus service is excellent. The hotel does not have air conditioning in the bedrooms and there are very noisy extractor fans close to some windows, so it is very noisy if windows are opened and very stuffy if they are kept closed, we found this most uncomfortable. Our room was serviced well, and the Café Bar staff were excellent, as was the food there. The breakfast and restaurant were OK - the carvery was poor but the 'starter' course was impressive and excellent. The staff at breakfast and in the restaurant were mixed - some good, others complacent. On return home, an email to raise issues received a prompt response, but I would rather have had the issues dealt with at the time. I would recommend this hotel if you need a clean, convenient base, close to public transport - it has a fascinating history (not highlighted enough in the hotel itself, I think) - and if you don't mind keeping your windows shut.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the extractor fans - a high-level room may be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank chrisq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will certainly review those areas where you have suggested we have under performed. However I would also like to point out to all potential customers reading this review that we do have air conditioning in every bedroom within the hotel so not quite sure how this was missed. We hope to welcome you back to the Pomme d'Or Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with our baby and our in laws.
Wonderful premier rooms and gorgeous hotel- very clean and quiet. Staff helpful and polite.
Could not fault it had a wonderful time and jersey is gorgeous. Only know what a premier room was like couldn't comment on standard room.
The location is perfect. All in all 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happyhols34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very comfortable and modernised hotel in a great location, Opposite Liberation Square on harbour front and a short walk to shopping district, banks & eateries.
Staff generally were helpful, minor incident with night staff when I requested a better mattress to replace the one in my room that was worn out, springs shot and very uncomfortable. Took over 4 hours to resolve this matter and unbelievably the staff did not know how to make a bed.
Buffet breakfast and dining room excellent and good choice of nearby cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: I found the reception staff friendly but a bit wooden, not up to the high standard of their sister h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YveTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a few days in Jersey. We have stayed at the Pomme before so it is a first choice for us. The rooms are upgraded - nice - free internet as well. They are not big, but in line with any city centre hotel. But, not a problem. The "usual" excellent breakfast. Usual is unfair as a descriptor - breakfast in the Pomme is an event - there is so much choice.
We also tried the grill and gill on Saturday night - where both meat and fish are available. Very good. We did not have it, but heard people praise the Friday seafood buffet - next time!
But the Pomme's real strength is its location - right at the heart of St Helier and well within easy walk of the bus station. For Jersey, always use the buses - they go everywhere, drivers are still very helpful and day or multiday passes are good value.

Room Tip: Go for executive room if possible. I suspect it is hard to get a marina view room, but it is not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gvs951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a lovely hotel . We had room 503 and couldn't have asked for more . The hotel staff are excellent , the bedroom very spacious and comfy. The breakfasts are brilliant plenty of choice for everybody. The hotel couldn't be more central for shopping , beach , and bus station. Will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose 4th or5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doreenandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice hotel steeped in history and in a great location. Our executive room was clean and spacious although the bathroom is a little dated and showing its age. The location is simply wonderful and the buffet breakfast superb. All in good value for Jersey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just back from an amazing first visit to Jersey with Kirst. We stayed half board for a week at the Pomme and do not have one bad thing to report. The food was great the room although at the back was first class. The staff were as good as we have ever experienced. So friendly, efficient and professional. We did miss not having a pool or sun area to sit in but the central location, 2 minutes to bus station and Liberty Square across the road we really never had that much time to sun bathe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing