We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is across the road from the bus station' bus from airport to hotel, £1-80p each very good value, hotel staff very helpful and friendly, rooms clean, everything you could think of for breakfast
Tours can be booked across the road at the kiosk, good value, you can also get your boarding cards for your return journey printed at the hotel,also the ferry is only a few minutes walk away to go across to France. Would recommend this hotel, and will be going again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    493
    133
    31
    17
See reviews for
186
799
49
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is living on its past reputation. Whilst the service in general is very good there a few concerns.

Some of the rooms are very small - be cautious if you booking a double.

The carvery food was poor with some of the items cold and under cooked. Someone should also tell the person cutting up the meats that it is not acceptable to appear as though you have been sleeping rough for a month - a wash and a good shave would leave a far better impression!

There are far more better hotels on the island available at a much more realistic price.

Room Tip: Watch out for very small double rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We regard Tripadvisor as a very important tool and we have been extremely fortunate retain an excellent reputation on this medium for many years. Whilst things can go wrong in a hotel, we encourage our guests to let us know at the time in order that we can take swift action and resolve the isue to their complete satisfaction whilst in house. Of course, sometimes things can slip through and it is always disappointing to read about them afterwards.
Nonethleless, based on our particpation in this forum and the nature of the vast majority of previous reviews, I hope that you will trust us to rectify any shortcomings that you may have experienced and that we can reassure other readers that this scenario is entirely out of character and not a refection of our usual standards.
Once again, I am grateful that you have taken the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for a recuperating break, and that us what we had. Situated perfectly near the quayside, short 8 minutes walk to the beach, one to the bus station, and two to the main shopping area.
All staff were happy, professional and helpful. Excellent breakfast, although a few minutes to wait for seating but worth it! Although you have access to the leisure facilities at the sister hotel, it is a 10 minute fast walk. A fridge would have been useful, but iced water etc supplied on request.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCHertfordshire_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel was excellent the staff were brilliant and the food was ace especially the breakfast. Would recomend this hotel to friends , and would certainly visit this hotel again.The bus station is about 100 yards down the road so no probs getting about the island.The Durrel is worth a visit great zoo and the war tunnels also worth a look .

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel looking over St helier . If you want a sea view the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sconbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

its in good location right in city ,but you get all the noise on friday ,sat nights until 0430 ,not good,then the delivery traffic from 6am,
the check in staff friendly,the corridors to your room very nice ,then you open the keyless door,and dissappointed,the room basic,and looked like it needed a good clean,
the bathroom dated,with an old shower curtain,and after a few days,needed a good clean,which room service not that good,then the sleep quality after everyones slams there doors to go to bed,waking most up,you fall into the middle of the bed,after the 3rd night we turned the mattress and end to end,which was better,but left too long needed a new bed,so my advise go elsware.
then theres the pool ,none there at a sisters hotel 10 mins away,no gym,i was trying to think of the good things well its next to town,thats it we was 3 floors up room 319,so i hate to think of the noise lower down,so my advise find a nice hotel ,not this one .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked The Pomme D’Or for a family holiday in August, hoping it would meet the standards of the rest of the stunning Island. Unfortunately it fell short in a couple of areas. First, the positives. We booked a Standard Room for our family of 3, and the room was exactly as advertised. It was compact, but not uncomfortably so, and was clean. There was a decent sized flat screen TV in the room with access to UK Freeview channels – this proved very useful, as the weather at the start of the week was not the best, meaning we spent more time in the room than we’d originally planned! The bathroom was also clean and functional, although the shower would benefit from being replaced with something a bit more modern, and the shower curtain with a shower screen.
The staff at the Hotel were always extremely polite – this ranged from the Reception staff, to the Bar staff and to the Chambermaids, who always greeted us with a friendly “good morning!” each day we left our room.
Sadly however, there were a couple of things that tarnished our stay. Firstly, the noise on Friday and Saturday nights. Our room was on the 4th floor, and overlooked a Nightclub and a Snooker Club. The noise from drinkers outside of these establishments meant we got very little sleep on the Saturday we arrived and the Friday before we departed. It was still going on at nearly 3am on the Friday night. When I mentioned this to Reception on check out, I was told we should have reported it when it was happening, as they could have involved the Police. The Hotel must be aware that this is an issue with rooms at the rear though; would it be too much trouble to check from 11pm onwards that there’s no excessive noise coming from the opposite side of the road?
The second issue was that The Pomme D’Or really doesn’t give the impression that it welcomes Children, despite the brochure in the room welcoming young guests. There is no Children’s Menu in the Café Bar – the most informal restaurant of those on offer. When we asked about this, the waitress looked at us blankly, and said the best they could do would be to offer a smaller portion of a couple of the items on the menu. Is it that difficult to offer something for younger guests, or are they not the kind of visitors the Hotel are looking to attract? Whilst on the subject of the Café Bar, we were also refused an Afternoon Tea because it was 1.30pm, and they had a company policy that stated they could not serve them before 2pm. Little things like that really don’t help, especially when it’s not made clear on either the menu, or the advert for the Afternoon Tea in Reception!
In conclusion, our stay at The Pomme D’Or didn’t spoil what was a lovely week in Jersey, but it didn’t enhance it either. I can’t see us returning, as the one thing you need on holiday is a good night’s sleep, and I wouldn’t feel confident that this Hotel could offer that.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a Nightclub, and are very noisy at weekends. Avoid if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here on 30/0814 form2 nights and went for the seafood Buffett all in for £25.

We both agreed it was good value and quality, nothing special but for the money was good.

The desserts were a little disappointing.

Would we go again. Probably not, once was ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing