We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My son and I decided to take a last minute short break in Jersey. We enjoyed a similar break last year at The Revere and were going to do so again, but they didn't bother to reply to my enquiry and it was very much a case of their loss and our gain. Tripadvisor pointed us towards the Pomme d'Or and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

As soon as you step into the lobby and are greeted by the friendly and helpful reception staff, you know that you're in a good place. The room was very comfortable, with a flat screen TV and free WiFi. Breakfast was terriffic - a help yourself buffet - the food was top quality and very well prepared. Service was impeccable and the location opposite the marina and close to the shops and bars was perfect.

The only small negative, really, was room noise. We were in a room at the side, above a busy street and had to close the window on Saturday night because of noise from passers by. Sunday night was fine but the traffic noise started before 7am. Not the end of the world and it certainly won't put us off a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
There are newer reviews for Pomme d'Or Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed at the 'Pomme' for the second time this year. Had a problem with noise last time, but hoped by requesting a quiet room this time round we would eliminate that particular problem. We where wrong, When checking in we were asked if we would like to upgrade (for £10 per room per night) to an updated room. We were also told that these rooms are further back so would be even quieter. We jumped at the opportunity. The room took a long to warm up, it really did feel cold.

The hotel is very nice and the breakfast would take some beating. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, Iron and ironing board. No in-room safe.

But the noise,especially at the weekend is a big problem. It goes on till the early hours on Friday, Saturday and Sunday (the Sunday could have been because of the Bank Holiday) there are now pubs and clubs all around the hotel
so it would be very difficult to escape the noise,which went on till 04.00 am.

Please also be careful when stepping out of the shower, the bath is higher from the floor than you expect, I did slip when getting out.

We would love to return to Jersey, but maybe will consider the Royal Yacht or the grand next time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatsoccurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Nice hotel in good location, rooms are fine, bathrooms/showers could do with an update. Great breakfasts and Friday fish buffet worth a try.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank joolsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The hotel is in a very good position close to shops and the bus terminal - it is kept in excellent condition and to an extremely high standard. Reception are very helpful and informative - The rooms have all amenities and are also kept to a hight standard the beds were very comfortable and bed linen and towels were of a high quality and very clean - Breakfast and dinner were beyond expectation and very good value. Overall the service received in the dinning room was of the highest standard and we would like to congratulate the hotel and all of the staff in making our stay so pleasureable. - We look forward to our return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shedsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed here for a late summer holiday with partner and 8 year old son - not really a family holiday hotel, more suitable for city breaks and slightly older clientel, however, we were upgraded to a suite which meant we had a completely separate room/lounge for my son which made our stay very comfortable. The room overlooked the main square and harbour which can be noisey at night, but the double-glazing coped well. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The coffee shop was delightful and good value. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but had breakfast each morning - and there lies the biggest problem. The dining room simply could not cope with the number of guests each morning. The staff, some of whom must have been working at the hotel at the time of Liberation, were surly and unprofessional - we witnessed staff rowing with each other on several occasions. The tables which were OK for 2 guests were too small for the 3 of us, or any larger parties, but we were not shown to the few larger tables in room. The breakfast buffet was just about OK but the whole experience was generally unpleasant. The hotel has almost no lounge area at all. Also, what's with the hotel 'shop' - it makes my local charity shop look like Harrods! The added benefit for us was that we could use the facilities at the Merton Hotel - the pool complex was great for my son. All in all I would recommend this hotel for older couples looking for a long weekend stay in Jersey as I think it would suit them best.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This was the third time in as many years that we had stayed at this hotel - but the first time that we had stayed in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel (booked via Expedia). Beware! The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook an extremely busy lane which is very noisy at nights with the nightclub in the lane - but worse! early in the morning the wheelie bins with bottles are emptied which makes for a very early "alarm clock". We had to sleep with the windows closed and the AC on in order to get a lie-in.The front of the hotel looks reasonably "fresh" but once you get into the very old lift in the reception area, the corridors are in need of refurbishment as are the back of the hotel bedrooms. They are perfectly clean but "tired". There are much better and more modern hotels very nearby (eg Yacht Club) which offer some good deals and prices. The Pomme is in an excellent location but as a result has a very busy front entrance late at night with lots of kids and youngsters hanging around the bus garage. Service level hasn't changed which is good - and neither has the breakfast. Just don't get a back of the hotel room!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HelloDolly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The Pomme d'Or, is in a superb location in St Helier, opposite Liberation Square, and very close to the Bus Station (Jersey buses are excellent and cheap), Hotel service is exceptional, rooms are very clean, however, they are a tad smaller than other hotels of this rating that I have stayed at. Food is good, at the higher price end.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GBOMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £89 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing