We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, pleasant staff, very noisy”
Review of Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountview
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you buy a 15 year old S Type Jaguar for £800, you know that you're driving around in what was once a magnificent car worth over £40,000 with all the extra's and luxury that come with it. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite work the same way with this hotel. I imagine that once upon a time it was luxurious and grand, but now it is run down and tired.

The welcome is warm and the staff are nice and friendly. Our room was a reasonable size, with a clean carpet and nice wooden cabinets, though the dust around the skirtings and windows was quite thick. We had a nice veranda, looking out towards the bay which was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom is tiny, smells a little stale, has a rusty old "ladies bin", and a shower which dribbles and had run out of hot water by 9.30am - I don't like cold showers in any hotel, whether it's a two star or a five star.

Sleep quality here is dreadful. The walls are so thin that we could hear TV's from at least two other rooms along with their occupant's conversations. Everytime someone in the room above us moved, all the floorboards creaked and groaned - and when they flushed their toilet, it was like a tsunami was washing over the side of the hotel and through every room.

The saving graces? Breakfast was outstanding, it almost made up for the poor night's sleep, and the location is good. Only a 15 minute walk to The Mansell Collection in one direction, or the town centre in the other. There are good restaurants just five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiodave102FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break staying at the Mountview. Hotel is clean and comfortable, staff exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was superb, choice of fruit, cooked breakfast and cereals, cooked breakfast, tea or coffee and toast all served with a smile. Lovely patio area for chilling out during the day, bar not staffed all the time but someone always around to open it up for drinks, very reasonable prices. Room serviced daily, tea, coffee and milk topped up. Would definately stay again, very good value for money. A little way out of town uphill but the taxis are only about £5-£6 per trip from the seafront.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. If you are a smoker there are rooms on the first floor which had a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryFEssexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at the Mountview Hotel for four nights.

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the centre of St Helier, which is a little further than most other hotels in the town. We arrived about three hours before the advertised check-in time. The manager checked if the room was available, which it was, so we were able to access the room right away.

We had a twin room, which was a good size. There was tea & coffee facilities in the room. The room was pretty comfortable, and had a small TV with a reasonable selection of channels. Wi-fi is advertised as being available in the public areas, although I was also able to access it from our room, which was a bonus. The bathroom was pretty big, but there were no toiletries aside from soap, so make sure you bring what you need. There was no hairdryer in the room, although I’m sure I could have asked for one if I needed it.

The breakfast was excellent. There was a selection of fruit, cereals and juice laid out to help yourself to. Tea or coffee and toast was brought to your table. The best part was the full cooked breakfast. You could have the full works, or just the items you wanted, and eggs cooked any way you wanted - poached, fried, scrambled. It was a really lovely experience, and definitely set you up for the day. Most days, we didn’t need to get lunch.

I would recommend this hotel to others, and would happily stay again if I was returning to St Helier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front on the third floor - the view is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel to be more than adequate for our needs, breakfast was amazing and set you up for the day,the rooms where cleaned daily with fresh towels provided, it was only about 15mins walk to the town centre and the bus station. Definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend this to hotel to anyone thinking of going to Jersey

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyanthamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mountview hotel, our room was quite big and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat - especially the full English which you could have with poached eggs too! Marie and the staff were delightful and they always had time for a chat. Parking is a challenge as there are only 4 parking places but a little creativity goes a long way and we always managed to park in front of the hotel. You can walk to the centre of town - less than 10 minutes which makes it an ideal location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizzynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just had a super 6 day stay primarily to see the Battle of the Flowers so was in an ideal situation. Arrived on the Condor from Weymouth so had no car, just as well as there is only a small carpark. Would recommend the hotel to any of my friends who wanted to come to Jersey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I must say that I was impressed with the overall standard of cleanliness and attitudes of the staff. The room was more than adequate for the three of us and along with a door leading to a small courtyard was very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent quality in fact the best I ever had. Towels were replaced daily and rooms tidied. The were a few downsides, the shower was over a bath and no handrails were provided for safety,steps into the hotel and further steps to the foyer could be difficult for the more disabled and car parking was limited. So for those with disabilities this may not be the best place. Distance from town was about 15 minute walk. This is only a Bed and Breakfast hotel but no place is very far away in Jersey. Would give five stars for staff.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.3 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 31 in St Helier
314 reviews
1 mi away
Runnymede Court Hotel
Runnymede Court Hotel
#21 of 31 in St Helier
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#28 of 31 in St Helier
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#26 of 31 in St Helier
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview

Address: 49 St. Johns Road, St Helier JE2 3LD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel St. Helier
Mountview St Helier
Mountview Hotel Jersey
Mountview Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing