We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”
Review of Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

just got back from a week in jersey 7th april 2014 stayed at the mountview was a very pleasent hotel stayed in room 12 was a large room with a very large balcony clean and tidy very helpful staff and the breakfasts were amazing willl defintaly go back

Room Tip: r room 12 biggest room in hotel and sunshine all day on balcony with us being smokers it was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    90
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
40
90
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights when visiting relatives in Jersey. I had read some of the bad reviews on here and was a bit worried. Well, I shouldn't have been. The rooms were very clean and spacious, little heater if needed and your own en suite bathroom. The rooms were cleaned daily (including sheets changed, fresh towels, tea & coffee top up etc). I could not fault the staff, so friendly and could not do enough for you. The breakfasts are second to none, full english on request which was delicious, and cereal and toast available.
Cannot fault this hotel, great price considering how expensive Jersey is and would definately stay here again. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinee, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The island of Jersey is neither cheap or particularly good value generally speaking at any time of year however the Mountview is a real gem. Clean, spacious with good facilities this hotel for the money and star rating (only 2) is excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. It is within easy walking distance from the town centre and transport links, only the airport is a little further at approx a 15 min drive. My package at the hotel included breakfast, any variation of the full English with plenty of toast all freshly cooked to the guests' choice/s and with a fairly comprehensive selection of cereals and juices to start. The staff without exception were friendly, hospitable and accommodating The panoramic views from the front of the hotel look east over much of St Helier and have the potential to be very impressive were it not for the mish mash of architecture that blights the town, brash new sits uneasily alongside tatty old and the lack of any urban planning is not the fault of the Mountview Hotel.
The only negative point and only a minor one to me in any case was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Opt for the higher floors if possible for better views and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for 10 days at the Mount View room 46, must be the worst room available, bathroom very small and poor layout, heating didn't work and shower was a pathetic dribble that either scalded or chilled. Door lock on the room had been poorly repaired and the main entrance to the hotel left open to the public at all hours day and night. Internet access only in the foyer area near reception.
Stayed in many hotels so know what to expect ... will not use again

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TimN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Good value,for what we paid.stayed 3 nights and found this hotel adequate . Good restaurants nearby .we had a few drinks at the Grand Hotel which was nearby.we would have stayed there if we had lots of dosh.You get what you pay for and this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaredLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Probably the first time that TripAdvisor lets me down: everybody else on here seems enthusiastic about the Mountview, but sorry: I wouldn't recommend it much.

- Maybe I'm a bit of a neat freak, but the level of cleanliness of my room was... let's say challenging: the carpet was stained all over and darkened by the dirt (walking barefoot was out of the question); the wall lamp had a layer of dust on it half an inch thick; the extractor fan in the bathroom too was completely clogged up with dust and so totally ineffective; the armchair had an unidentified black piece of something stuck between the seat and the back, worryingly similar to some sort of organic waste; the bathroom was passable, but with mould developing and the shower glass that remained covered in limescale for the duration of my stay; one day the 'clean' towels came in rolled up as usual, but with a knot of someone's hair inside.

- Staff: I've met more welcoming hosts in the past. Maybe they didn't like my face or the fact that I sometimes stammer, but I can't say that I felt all that welcome or well looked-after. It's small things, like serving you toasts at breakfast without asking first if you prefer white or brown bread, or keeping the replies to your enquiries as short and smile-free as possible, what gave me this impression (note: if there is a polite, respectful customer that never complains, that is me).

- Breakfast: on this one at least I agree with the majority: plenty of choice and well-prepared food.

I don't know... maybe I got the only room in the hotel that was filthy, but next time that I am in Jersey, I'll be happy to spend a few quid more and try some other place first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeday-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at the Mountview Hotel for 5 nights got a great deal with Booking.com.The hotel is a short walk into town.The breakfast was fab better than some 4star hotels we have stayed.The room was clean with towels changed daily also had tea and coffee in our room and a hair dryer too! Will deffo be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#27 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marina Metro Hotel
Marina Metro Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 32 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview

Property: Mountview
Address: 49 St. Johns Road, St Helier JE2 3LD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#19 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel St. Helier
Mountview St Helier
Mountview Hotel Jersey
Mountview Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing