We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely long weekend”
Review of Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountview
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely long weekend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed from Sat_ties was a nice clean hotel with friendly staff and lovely breakfasts. Tea and coffee in room and free safe. Short walk to high street and liberty square where u can book all your trips or catch the bus anywhere. The hotel is on a hill but walkable without panting. Had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 24 on third floor, nice view. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    92
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
42
92
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the family room. Marie, Bailey and her team were fantastic, very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean, light and airy, the beds were comfortable and the added extra of access to the court yard from our room was an added bonus, this also was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was amazing egg (any way you liked), beans, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, Tomato, all the toast, tea, coffee & juice, as well as fresh fruit & cereals, enough to set you up for the day. Great location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbq68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a three night stay in April 2014. Marie and the team made us really welcome. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very promptly cleaned (whilst we were at breakfast if we got up in time, if not cleaned later). Talking of breakfasts, they were were fantastic - full English (sorry, Jersey), with all the toast, tea, coffee & juice you could handle, as well as fresh fruit & cereals for the more health aware (not us!). Totally set us up for the day.
A great location, just a 5 minute walk into St.Hellier town centre. If we come to St.Hellier again, we'll definitely stay at the Mountview. Buses and bikes available in St.Helier, so this hotel is an ideal base to explore the whole lovely island.
The Jersey war tunnels are well worth a visit ! ..liked the H'appeny bridge pub in St.Hellier centre as well. Good ale (liberation ale IPA = yum).
Enjoy your stay, Ian & Liz.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The breakfast was nothing short of AMAZING!!!! Tons of lovely food to eat which kept us going all day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us loads of coffee and milk to make drinks in our room. Rooms were basic but had all the facilities we needed (even wifi!) and were cleaned every day. The bed was very comfy (although pillows could have done with being replaced) and we had excellent nights’ sleeps. According to earlier reviews we probably had one of the worst rooms – at the front on the first floor; but it was fine. We weren’t disturbed by any neighbours but maybe there weren’t any at the time. Traffic in Jersey is heavy but the traffic noise didn’t disturb us. Rooms on higher floors would have a fabulous view of the town/sea. There are only 6 parking spaces but we went at a quiet time of the year so had no problem parking. Easy walk from the town (only the last hundred yards is up a very slight incline, hardly a hill even by our unfit standards) and only 15 minutes to the centre.

Jersey is probably overflowing with tourists in August so I imagine all hotels would suffer because of this. Probably not a good idea to visit Jersey in August if you don’t have to!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor would have a stunning view and rooms at the back would be quieter but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnQ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel ideal as a base for exploring St Helier and the island of Jersey. The hotel was clean, had a very comfortable mattress, friendly staff and constant hot water so ticked all of the boxes for me. All St Helier pubs and shops are within 15 minutes walk, and plenty of tourist information is available in pamphlets by reception. Although not modern, everything worked well and was ideal for a 2 night stay. Breakfast was tasty and well cooked.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

just got back from a week in jersey 7th april 2014 stayed at the mountview was a very pleasent hotel stayed in room 12 was a large room with a very large balcony clean and tidy very helpful staff and the breakfasts were amazing willl defintaly go back

Room Tip: r room 12 biggest room in hotel and sunshine all day on balcony with us being smokers it was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights when visiting relatives in Jersey. I had read some of the bad reviews on here and was a bit worried. Well, I shouldn't have been. The rooms were very clean and spacious, little heater if needed and your own en suite bathroom. The rooms were cleaned daily (including sheets changed, fresh towels, tea & coffee top up etc). I could not fault the staff, so friendly and could not do enough for you. The breakfasts are second to none, full english on request which was delicious, and cereal and toast available.
Cannot fault this hotel, great price considering how expensive Jersey is and would definately stay here again. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#21 of 32 in St Helier
286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#26 of 32 in St Helier
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#27 of 32 in St Helier
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marina Metro Hotel
Marina Metro Hotel
#29 of 32 in St Helier
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview

Property: Mountview
Address: 49 St. Johns Road, St Helier JE2 3LD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#19 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel St. Helier
Mountview St Helier
Mountview Hotel Jersey
Mountview Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing