We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent stay after shaky start”
Review of Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountview
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
1 review
“Exellent stay after shaky start”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Had booked a twin room for a 2 night stay and were shown to a very small double room with an extra single bed, leaving virtually no space. The room was grubby, the bed linen marked and a pillowcase ripped. It took a while but we were eventually upgraded to a balcony suite, twin room, single room, bathroom and separate toilet. We decided to stay an extra 2 days and the management were happy to let us keep the same room at the original rate.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, breakfast was fantastic, rooms a little basic, but adequate.

Unfortunately cleaning standards are a little minimal. In the course of a 5 day stay, beds were only changed once and we had to ask for clean towels. The floor wasn't vacuumed at all, neither was the bathroom cleaned. We were only provided with 2 very small bath towels and handtowels.

Anyone intending visiting this hotel should be made aware that it is on a fairly steep hill, fine on the way down, but anyone not 100% fit would find it difficult to get back up again. and parking is very limited (only 4 or 5 very tight spaces). This can cause other residents to block you in, with resultant delays while the car owner is found and asked to move their car.

The website through which we booked the hotel stated they it had smoking rooms - the hotel does, however operate a non-smoking policy, although we were given permission to smoke on the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalblue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    91
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
91
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DaveW2007
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2009

If you like.....cold showers, uncomfortable beds, lack of facilities, then this is the perfect place for you. Unfortunately I prefer silly things like hot water!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I enjoyed my stay at Mountview very much, the rooms were clean and very nice, the staff were friendly and very helpfull, and the food was most enjoyable. I would certainly recommend you to anyone who is coming to Jersey. Thanks to you all for making me a very pleasant one

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
757 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

There were only a few hotels available at the last minute in St Helier. We stayed at the Mountview for one night. It is situated about a ten minute walk from the centre and a few minutes from the promenade.

When we arrived there was nobody at Reception, but there was a sign on the desk saying to ring for assistance, and the receptionist arrived within minutes and was friendly and gave us a cheery welcome to the hotel. Check-in was smooth, and given a room on the top floor. We were also given a hotel fact sheet and a large information pack on Jersey.

The room was quite large although a bit spartan. The room consisted of a King Sized Bed, Small TV, Tea/Coffee facilities and a safety deposit box. The bathroom had a cubicle shower however the water came out as a mere trickle and was barely luke warm.

The Mountview Fact Sheet stated that bar meals were available every night, however when we got to the bar it was explained to us that Saturday was the only night they didn't serve food! However we managed to find a restaurant within walking distance.

Breakfast consisted of cereals, toast, tinned grapefruit, prunes and a cooked Breakfast that is ordered separately. When my partner said that he didn't want Baked Beans it seemed to be a major inconvenience to the staff.

For the price paid the hotel is fairly good value but problems with the shower and an incorrect Hotel Fact sheet marr the otherwise pleasant hotel.

  • Liked — The King Sized beds are a bonus
  • Disliked — The shower wasn't up to standard
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We experienced quite a few negatives during our 4 night stay at the Mountview.
The rooms on the first floor road side suffer from traffic noise from the road (ours was a non balcony room) and as door banging is a frequent occurence, the accommodation is not suitable for light sleepers.
The water temperature in the shower was only warm, only made hot through flushing the toilet!!
The cooked breakfast is edible but greasy.
Although this hotel is conveniently located for St Helier centre of town, the rating is accurate at 2 star and do not want other readers to be under the assumption that they will be getting something special, bearing in mind the other reviews.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Stayed in the Mountview for two nights at the end of August and really liked it!

At only £35 a night, you can't really complain. The hotel is close to the town centre, roughly a five minute walk. The rooms are spacious and clean, however the rest of the hotel was looking a bit tired. Must admit the hotel is a bit of a maze at first and the lift is a little daunting. All in all a friendly service and a cheap price, would definately stay there again if looking for a cheap weekend away.

  • Liked — The price and proximity to the town centre
  • Disliked — The dodgy steps outside!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the Mount View in Jersey. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site regarding cleanliness. However, our in our experience, we disagree.
When we arrived, the receptionist was pleasant. We looked around the room and we were concerned to note that there was a mark on the bed linen, (which appeared to be blood) and another stain that appeared yellow. We immediately complained about this, and whilst they did replace the bed linen, we were concerned that it had been considered satisfactory to put this sheet on the bed in the first instance. Upon our return to the hotel we also noticed that there was a considerable amount of hair in the plug hole of the sink (not ours - we had not used the sink up until then). The carpet was quite dirty and needed cleaning. During our stay the door lock failed, but again after complaining they did repair this. It was only on the last day we were there that the hair was removed from the sink. Therefore to summarise, we were extremely disappointed with this hotel. The hotel`s approach to cleanliness needs to be consistant, which it clearly was not.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness, especially the dirty bedsheets.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkB2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marina Metro Hotel
Marina Metro Hotel
#29 of 32 in St Helier
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#25 of 32 in St Helier
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview

Property: Mountview
Address: 49 St. Johns Road, St Helier JE2 3LD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#19 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel St. Helier
Mountview St Helier
Mountview Hotel Jersey
Mountview Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing