We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Sale UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Savoy in Jersey. Fabulous hotel, super staff and award winning breakfasts. Good honest value for money. Haven't marked the hotel as a 5 as we did not dine in the evening as there was the opportunity to share Tennerfest and chose to eat in a local pub The Adelphi - so good we returned each of the 3 evenings. We would have eaten in the hotel had they participated in the Tennerfest. Pool also was closed as it is now the winter season......looked very inviting though.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 95 which overlooked the pool. Would definitely stay at the Savoy the next time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Gaynor B,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

It sounds like you had a nice stay, I am glad to hear you found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and perhaps next year we will consider taking part in the Tennerfest festive.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    393
    123
    30
    13
See reviews for
162
619
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Breakfast - English breakfast was amazing and selection of other items for breakfast. Service was not so good - the waiter just asked for room number then wandered off, when i asked him if there was actually a table for 3 anywhere he just walked off and we had to set our own table up as there were only tables of 2 available. The yoghurts and milk were warm as they were not in a refrigerated area or even in an ice bucket as in most other hotels we have stayed in-this has got to give some people a dodgy stomach, as I am pregnant I steered clear of them.

Service-I asked for some hot milk to be sent to the room one evening and got told to go to the bar and get some.
Arrival and departure service was really good and taken to our room etc - this was done by the same lady who was good on customer service.

Not so hot on local area - I asked where we can go with kids, and got told Pizza Express have a play area which they don't, also asked where Pirate Pete's was in Portlet again, he didn't have a clue! A bit of local knowledge would be helpful.

Fire Door by our room the hydraulics were obviously broken and never been fixed this slammed all of the time and woke us several times in the night although we were at the far end of the corridor.

Room - The room it self we were really happy with it was modern and spacious especially having a separate adjoining room for our son. The shower was terrible and I couln't wash my hair in it as the pressure was awful more like a dribble so when we went to the AquaDome on the last day I washed my hair there.

Iron and Ironing board in the room which is good and TV in both rooms.

Kettle - after waiting around in the bar for hot milk, we got to the room and went to fill the kettle up - it had brown water in the bottom and I looked inside and the element was completely rusted, I phoned downstairs and a replacement was brought up by which time our milk was cold for the hot chocolates but we used it anyway. Aero hot chocolate was lovely.

Reception and bar area were really nice and we didn't eat in the restaurant as my son is 4 and he would probably be too loud as it looked quiet, but the menu looked good.

I would say overall our stay was good value for money, was satisfactory and we would consider staying again however I feel that these little things could have been avoided and was more like a 3 star than 4 in some aspects but not in others.

Room Tip: the family rooms are really spacious as they give you a double and a twin where as a lot of hotels j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemgemsGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear GemgemsGuernsey,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I note that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return. Your other positive comments about the hotel are noted. However it is with regret that you found some of the area of service poor, I can confirm that your disappointment to the service has been discussed personally with the Restaurant Manager to ensure incident of this nature do not occur again in the future.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologies for the poor impression you have received of the restaurant on this occasion. All the staff at The Savoy Jersey are constantly striving to maintain the high standards of service and presentation which are required of them and I very much regret that we failed to live up to expectations on this occasion.

I hope that sometime in the near future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Perhaps at that time you can contact me personally to make the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked this hotel on a fantastic offer, on arrival received our room keys only to find the room already ocupied. No assistance with luggage yet in the hotel questionnaire one is asked how one found the hotel porter.
With the tenerfest events being held in most restaurants and a hotel with a good write up for their restaurant how can they not want to compete with other local restaurants, during our stay when returning to the hotel we found the bar closed.
Generally the breakfast was good and the rooms good.
Would we stay there again Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Coity11,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
In general sounds like you gad a good stay, I am pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and you liked the breakfast and your room.
I am sorry for the shortfall with regards to porter service, your comments will be reviewed with my team and we all looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Cannot fault the reception/welcome we received upon arrival at the Savoy Hotel. Our flight was cancelled due to fog so we had to contact the hotel to see if we could change our original booking from Monday & Tuesday night to Tuesday & Wednesday night. The hotel were great with this request and very understanding and changed our reservation free of charge.

Room was warm and comfortable and we were informed of all the relevant information we needed. Complimentary parking is available infront of the hotel for guests which was a great addition because in St Helier most parking is chargeable.

Considering the hotel was on a main road and our room overlooked it, it was very quiet and soundproofed. The hotel itself was very quiet and had a nice friendly atmosphere from the minute you walked in. Newspapers were provided each morning along with a local news/hotel newsletter.

Breakfast was lovely, hot drinks and cooked breakfast was ordered through a waiter with special requests, a selection of cereals, breads, fruits & juices were available. Staff were friendly and helpful in the breakfast room, plates were cleared when they were finished with and there were no dirty tables left around the room.

The only downfall of the room (room 36) was the TV position. This was on the wall but was blocked by the bathroom wall, so from the left side of bed you could only see the right half of the TV. However, the hotel was only used as a base for us so this didnt effect our trip too much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaJ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Jessica J90,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel facilities and service to be of an excellent standard.
Your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here at short notice for 2 nights whilst on business on Jersey. Has to have been the best value for money in any hotel I've encountered all year. Lovely room, stylish, modern, well appointed. Relaxing, nicely decorated bar, decent food. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Stephen H,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and you found us to be good value for money. Thank you for recommending us, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back at The Savoy Jersey again soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

On arrival Reception (and in fact the whole ground floor) seemed deserted. After a longish wait we were eventually checked into a room which, whilst very clean was also quite dated. It had a faintly musty smell, the old fashioned wallpaper seemed to be bulging from the wall in one area but the bathroom was OK. Had the reservation been for more than one night I wouldn't have stayed.
The public areas of the hotel, in contrast, are quite smart having obviously been renovated fairly recently. Perhaps other rooms are better, but as the receptionist volunteered the information that they had plenty of availability I really don't know why this room was used at all.
At breakfast, despite only a few tables being occupied, no-one seemed to notice our arrival and we eventually had to request that our order was taken. The cooked food was fine, but the cold buffet a little sparce.
The staff we encountered were pleasant but seemed poorly managed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWDW106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear PWDW106,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Hotel.
I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations for which I do sincerely apologise. Your feedback will be reviewed with the hotel team.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Unfortunately this hotel does not live up to any 4 star standards expected apart from their restaurant (which is amazing)!
Unfortunately numerous things added up lead to my partner and I feeling really underwhelmed with our stay.
On arrival and departure we had no help with our luggage, our room was very cold and we were advised that the central heating is not turned on in the building until later in the year so we were supplied with an electric heater. The bathroom also did not have any heating and the shower had terrible water pressure. A window in our room wouldn't close properly leaving a draft and whistling of wind and in general our room was very unimpressive with paint peeling from the ceiling... On the plus side the bed was comfy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jali2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Jail2012,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
I am sorry to hear you are unsatisfied with your stay at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the poor impression you have received during your stay. All the staff at The Savoy Hotel are constantly striving to maintain the high standards of service and presentation, which are required of them and I very much regret that we failed to live up to your expectations on this occasion.
I hope that sometime in the near future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing