We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to jersey”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Enjoyed the hotel very much. Ideally situated with nice 15 walk to town.clean rooms , excellent breakfast. Would like to thank Liga and sam on the reception who helped us out when the ferry was cancelled and we needed assistance.....thanks ladies

Room Tip: Downstairs you can hear people above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Clrowlands,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you out with your travel issues.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a special offer from the internet.We got excellent value for money. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and furnished and the staff very obliging. The breakfast was buffet style for fruits, breads, pastries but waitress served for hot food, which was great as it avoided food being left on a hot counter for ages.There is an outdoor pool ,which looked very nice but is shut for the winter now. It would be lovely in warmer weather.Our room was large with a sitting area and everything you would need including hairdryer, iron , ironing board and trouser press.The only negative was that the curtains did not meet, otherwise no problems. This is a lovely hotel within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.We did not dine in the hotel as there was the "tennerfest" in Jersey at many restaurants, offering special value menus in October. We would recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Eve108,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel facilities and staff to be excellent. I am also delighted that you mentioned the excellent value for money; we know that it is very hard out there and if only we can we always try to help our customers with very competitive rates.
Thank you again, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

The Savoy is located reasonably centrally and importantly for St Helier has enough parking for the hotel.
The hotel has been fairly recently redecorated and all the communal areas are immaculate. The bedroom was a good size and well equipped, just slightly let down the damaged ceiling and wallpaper coming loose (think decorators did a bodge job there) and being freezing (though a plug-in heater was supplied within 40 seconds of commenting to reception!).
The hotel is a converted town house so it's always going to have quirks like that, but I liked it as it gave character you don't get in chain hotels
The staff were extremely attentive and eager to help - cannot fault them at all. The restaurant served very nice food in an upmarket setting, not quite Michelin starred, but very good value.
The bar is stylish and had live jazz playing on Friday night when we were there, which made the atmosphere.
The breakfast was fantastic - cooked breakfast included, but a really good continental spread too with cereals, fruit, breads, etc. - they even had marmite available, which is a rarity in a hotel!

For the price paid (got a discount deal) the stay was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Eve108,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel facilities and staff to be excellent. I am also delighted that you mentioned the excellent value for money; we know that it is very hard out there and if only we can we always try to help our customers with very competitive rates.
Thank you again, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed four nights - excellent deal was on offer. Very enjoyable experience. Found service helpful and effiicient and in contrast to other reviews found checking in and out pleasant, courteous and efficient. 'Public' areas were good - bar, restaurant and lounge. Good choice at breakfast and was served quickly and efficiently. Room was fine and a reasonable size. Had afternoon tea which was good value for £8.75 per person - good selection of food and served quickly and with a smiling face. Location is a little bit out of the way, but it suited our purposes and it was a relatively short walk into central St Helier and also the beach. Would recommend and would stay again, particularly if same deal was on offer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Martin N,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I am delighted you had pleasant stay and found all aspect of the hotel to be of high standards. Your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A nice hotel with suitable price and great service. Staff are efficient and food in the restaurant is really good. The hotel is reasonably close to the city center. There is probably no fitness or spa in the hotel. There is a pub besides the restaurant which also serves food, however I only ate at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandeliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear PandeliLondon,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and like our facilities and offerings together with the service of the staff.

Your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Savoy in Jersey. Fabulous hotel, super staff and award winning breakfasts. Good honest value for money. Haven't marked the hotel as a 5 as we did not dine in the evening as there was the opportunity to share Tennerfest and chose to eat in a local pub The Adelphi - so good we returned each of the 3 evenings. We would have eaten in the hotel had they participated in the Tennerfest. Pool also was closed as it is now the winter season......looked very inviting though.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 95 which overlooked the pool. Would definitely stay at the Savoy the next time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Gaynor B,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

It sounds like you had a nice stay, I am glad to hear you found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and perhaps next year we will consider taking part in the Tennerfest festive.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Breakfast - English breakfast was amazing and selection of other items for breakfast. Service was not so good - the waiter just asked for room number then wandered off, when i asked him if there was actually a table for 3 anywhere he just walked off and we had to set our own table up as there were only tables of 2 available. The yoghurts and milk were warm as they were not in a refrigerated area or even in an ice bucket as in most other hotels we have stayed in-this has got to give some people a dodgy stomach, as I am pregnant I steered clear of them.

Service-I asked for some hot milk to be sent to the room one evening and got told to go to the bar and get some.
Arrival and departure service was really good and taken to our room etc - this was done by the same lady who was good on customer service.

Not so hot on local area - I asked where we can go with kids, and got told Pizza Express have a play area which they don't, also asked where Pirate Pete's was in Portlet again, he didn't have a clue! A bit of local knowledge would be helpful.

Fire Door by our room the hydraulics were obviously broken and never been fixed this slammed all of the time and woke us several times in the night although we were at the far end of the corridor.

Room - The room it self we were really happy with it was modern and spacious especially having a separate adjoining room for our son. The shower was terrible and I couln't wash my hair in it as the pressure was awful more like a dribble so when we went to the AquaDome on the last day I washed my hair there.

Iron and Ironing board in the room which is good and TV in both rooms.

Kettle - after waiting around in the bar for hot milk, we got to the room and went to fill the kettle up - it had brown water in the bottom and I looked inside and the element was completely rusted, I phoned downstairs and a replacement was brought up by which time our milk was cold for the hot chocolates but we used it anyway. Aero hot chocolate was lovely.

Reception and bar area were really nice and we didn't eat in the restaurant as my son is 4 and he would probably be too loud as it looked quiet, but the menu looked good.

I would say overall our stay was good value for money, was satisfactory and we would consider staying again however I feel that these little things could have been avoided and was more like a 3 star than 4 in some aspects but not in others.

Room Tip: the family rooms are really spacious as they give you a double and a twin where as a lot of hotels j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemgemsGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear GemgemsGuernsey,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I note that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return. Your other positive comments about the hotel are noted. However it is with regret that you found some of the area of service poor, I can confirm that your disappointment to the service has been discussed personally with the Restaurant Manager to ensure incident of this nature do not occur again in the future.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologies for the poor impression you have received of the restaurant on this occasion. All the staff at The Savoy Jersey are constantly striving to maintain the high standards of service and presentation which are required of them and I very much regret that we failed to live up to expectations on this occasion.

I hope that sometime in the near future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Perhaps at that time you can contact me personally to make the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £54 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing