We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the location and bar/restaurant facilities with a few faults”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of November. The rooms were pretty basic and the shower was poor. The water pressure is really slow so it was not pleasurable to have a shower as I have long hair and it took for ever to wash with the slow water pressure. The rooms were clean and had tea/coffee making facility and a flat screen tv. The walls were thin so I could hear people stomping about and the next door person snoring. Breakfast was included in the room rate and we had plenty to choose from the buffet and a la cart odering for the hot choices. In summary it was ok for the price but I would not recommend it mainly for the poor shower and we had a poor room downstairs facing a wall and the thin walls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElfieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear ElfieB,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I am sorry to hear your comments, they all will be reviewed with my team.

If you decided to stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will personally deal with your reservation.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for The Savoy Jersey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Great location. Lovely room. Didnt realise we could have swapped pillows as didnt read hotel info until next day. No lock on the bathroom and the water pressure was terrible are the only complaints we had. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Debby W,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

All in all it sounds that you had an enjoyable stay and like the location of the hotel and facilities.

Thank you for your comments again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The Savoy is clean and comfortable, and with the car hire package offers superb value for money. We stayed in a family room which had 2 adjoining bedrooms with shared bathroom, excellent as travelling with teenagers. Parking is free, and the hotel is an easy pleasant walk to St Helier`s shops and attractions.
Didn't use the restaurant as it was very expensive compared to other paces (particularly as we visited during Tennerfest). Staff seemed to be thin on the ground, but helpful when we tracked them down for some extra pillows.
Rooms are clean and comfortable but not luxurious. The bathroom has a small bath with shower, which suffered from poor water pressure and occasional hot water shortage at busy times.
The walls are very thin, so if a lot of noise from the neighbours bothers you, book somewhere else. We had a very rowdy group on our first night.

Room Tip: There are stars in wierd places, so if mobility is a problem stress this at the time of booking.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Debby W,

Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.

I am glad to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us during your visit to Jersey. It sounds like in general you like the hotel facilities and found us to be superb value for money.

Thank you again, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of everything at 'The Savoy Jersey'.
Food was excellent- room excellent- staff excellent- cocktails excellent.
Only negative would be the language problem with bar staff.
Nice and close to the shops, ten minute walk but through a pleasant park.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Lindsay F,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey,

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be excellent.

Thank you again and we are all looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Enjoyed the hotel very much. Ideally situated with nice 15 walk to town.clean rooms , excellent breakfast. Would like to thank Liga and sam on the reception who helped us out when the ferry was cancelled and we needed assistance.....thanks ladies

Room Tip: Downstairs you can hear people above
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Clrowlands,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you out with your travel issues.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a special offer from the internet.We got excellent value for money. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and furnished and the staff very obliging. The breakfast was buffet style for fruits, breads, pastries but waitress served for hot food, which was great as it avoided food being left on a hot counter for ages.There is an outdoor pool ,which looked very nice but is shut for the winter now. It would be lovely in warmer weather.Our room was large with a sitting area and everything you would need including hairdryer, iron , ironing board and trouser press.The only negative was that the curtains did not meet, otherwise no problems. This is a lovely hotel within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.We did not dine in the hotel as there was the "tennerfest" in Jersey at many restaurants, offering special value menus in October. We would recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Eve108,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel facilities and staff to be excellent. I am also delighted that you mentioned the excellent value for money; we know that it is very hard out there and if only we can we always try to help our customers with very competitive rates.
Thank you again, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

The Savoy is located reasonably centrally and importantly for St Helier has enough parking for the hotel.
The hotel has been fairly recently redecorated and all the communal areas are immaculate. The bedroom was a good size and well equipped, just slightly let down the damaged ceiling and wallpaper coming loose (think decorators did a bodge job there) and being freezing (though a plug-in heater was supplied within 40 seconds of commenting to reception!).
The hotel is a converted town house so it's always going to have quirks like that, but I liked it as it gave character you don't get in chain hotels
The staff were extremely attentive and eager to help - cannot fault them at all. The restaurant served very nice food in an upmarket setting, not quite Michelin starred, but very good value.
The bar is stylish and had live jazz playing on Friday night when we were there, which made the atmosphere.
The breakfast was fantastic - cooked breakfast included, but a really good continental spread too with cereals, fruit, breads, etc. - they even had marmite available, which is a rarity in a hotel!

For the price paid (got a discount deal) the stay was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBusinessTeam, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Eve108,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Savoy Jersey.
It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel facilities and staff to be excellent. I am also delighted that you mentioned the excellent value for money; we know that it is very hard out there and if only we can we always try to help our customers with very competitive rates.
Thank you again, your comments will be passed to my team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tim Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £54 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing