We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here this last weekend. As we pulled up to the hotel it looked really fancy and we were excited. The communal areas/reception and bar are all quite swanky and nice, so we had high hopes.

The room itself was large enough and had nice carpet but a little dated, with a few bits of peeling wall paper and scuff marks. The shower was ok- nothing special. The bed was comfy enough.

The problem for us came as we tried to sleep, as someone else said- paper thin walls. We could hear pretty much word for word a conversation that the couple in the next room were having, every cough and even yawns! It was quite intrusive as it felt like there were four of us in the room! It didnt help that the couple both had really bad coughs. At 6am I wanted to knock on their door and offer them cough syrup! Maybe I'm just a light sleeper but it made me feel quite uncomfortable.

Breakfast was ok, however on sunday they seemed quite rushed off their feet and for some tables it was quite a wait to get served.

If I was to go back to Jersey I would try a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingermrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    381
    120
    28
    13
See reviews for
153
607
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nice clean hotel with a relaxing atmosphere. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only negative is that the hotel is slightly out of the centre of St helier, about a 10 min walk, 15 mins to the bus station but not a great problem. Breakfast was very pleasant and the bar meals were of a good standard.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is lovely, however the noise from a function was not acceptable. We where in room 25 and the function room was below us, the disco finished around 2am which then following on by a big arugment outside room 26 which my mum was in on her own with 5 people from the party swearing and shouting. It did not end, room I beleive was 22 decided to hold an after party in there room with screaming girls and men very drunk, I eventually got to sleep at 5am.
Went to reception to check out and to let them now of the party and was told that the disco was suppose to of stopped much earlier. My question to them was then why did the management not stop the noise , and why was the porter not walking around the hotel to stop the noise. I was told by the receptionsit well what was we suppose to do with them. Well you can imagine my response. Dont get me wrong people are supposed to enjoy the xmas times but this was just over the top.
It was a weekend that should of been a relaxing time for us but ended up felling more stressed then I arrived. I was in bed at 8am last nightat home in my cosybed noise free. Now thats relaxing.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I am currently in room 27 unable to sleep due to excessive noise from the party below. I called reception to be told they had no spare rooms and to speak to the manager in the morning!! It is unacceptable that they didnt warn us about the noise. I will update tomorrow on the reasoning behind this once i have spoken to the manager. Right now i am unable to sleep and very disappointed with the reaction of staff when i called to express this

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecA3413ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Ives
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a smashing stay last week. The staff were brilliant. Could not fault anything apart from noisy guests in the room above. Highly recommend this hotel for sit seeing and shopping. The main St Helier shops are only 15 minutes walk away. The carp ark is great if you have hire car

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyVdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and we were disappointed by the hotel as we felt it was not the standard for a 4 star hotel.
The room was cold as the heating was only on for short periods and the radiator was small. We stayed in this hotel a few years ago and found the same problem. The bed was uncomfortable, too hard for us. The walls were paper thin and we could have joined in the conversation with the people in the room next door.
The food in the restaurant was good and well presented but the menu needs to be changed on a more regular basis. The Asian theme in the restaurant does not suit all tastes.
The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.
I would not recommend this hotel for stays in the winter, they need to revise their heating programme.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Only ever visited the bar but it has a classy atmosphere and great background music. The food is good but the real.attraction is the friendly bar staff. Karolina is the reason I keep coming back - always happy to chat, greet you with a smile and makes you feel welcome!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing