We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but wouldn't revisit”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but wouldn't revisit”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just got back from 4 day break to Jersey, had been highly recommended to the hotel, but on arrival we felt a little deflated,reception was stunning but the bedrooms could do with a freshen up and were tired.
It was so hot in our room we slept on top of the sheets due to the heat in the room with the windows open, as there is no air conditioning, the downside for us was the noise from a constant barking dog next door to the hotel and real noisy seagulls waking us every morning at 5.00am, (we know that's not the hotels fault).
Breakfast was ok, nice selection,the tea was disgusting and as other reviews said, We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but had drinks in the bar and found the staff very friendly and welcoming.
Location of the hotel, once again like a few other reviewers have mentioned not good in my opinion if you do not have a car, we felt quite uncomfortable walking through the park and surrounding area as there were a lot of groups of down and outs hanging around, and we chose to travel out by taxi which was a shame,which added extra costs, due to a good 15 minute walk to the shops and bars.
The Light switches are on the headboard, so when you put your head back onto the pillow, the main light goes on then you turn over and the bedside lights go on,this happened to us a lot,so we took the door key out of the slot to kill the power so they didn't keep going on and off all night, this maybe down to us having a booked a twin room, can't say if it's the same for a double. The beds are very comfortable, nice crisp clean linen.
Toiletries, like other reviewers mentioned, 1 shampoo 1 conditioner 1 shower gel, to be replaced at cost! Thought that's a little old fashioned idea, especially as people travel lighter nowadays on short breaks with cabin luggage cannot take large shower gels / shampoos etc.
Room was ok, slightly dusty in places not dirty just needs a facelift.
Plus points, hair dryer iron and board and safe, No water in rooms, but kettle and tea and coffee good selection and biscuits every day, lovely friendly cleaning lady.
Check in and check out was efficient, friendly staff throughout..would book taxis when we asked without a problem.
Would we stay at The Savoy again, sadly not, prefer a more central location to the shops,bars and seafront.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyQ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Suzy,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

In regards to the points you made, I'm happy you found the breakfast to your liking and that overall the stay was pleasant.

I’m sorry to hear that your breakfast tea was not as you would have liked. We are currently looking at how the tea and coffee is brewed to make sure its to our high standards and thank you for your remarks.

In terms of the down and outs you saw, I’m not sure what groups you refer to, but the park you mention is in central St Helier, called Parade Gardens. It is the centre of St Helier, which is one of the safest places I can imagine, there really is no need to worry. I would add that many St Helier hotels are even closer from the same park and as far we are aware, there has never been a safety issue.

Lastly in terms of toiletries, we offer THE WHITE COMPANY brand in 50ml containers, not 25ml or 30ml as other hotels do (which are also a premium high-street brand) we believe that this way our guests can enjoy these fantastic products. Other establishments offer cheap alternatives in small bottles that do not compare, and we prefer to offer a quality product. Due to recent feedback we currently restock these large 50ml bottles every 3 days, with the change of linen and have more toiletries on offer (at cost price) if they require more. We regard this as a fair policy for such a high quality offering.

I thank you for the feedback, it motivates us to keep improving and working on issues that can improve our guests stay in Jersey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    417
    135
    33
    13
See reviews for
167
663
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Hotel was very nice with just a few negatives. Room was fine, plenty room for us. Food was good and music in bar was good. Breakfast was very nice but, but, but the tea was the worst we ever had. Waitress comes to the tables with a thermos jug. Much better if we could make our own. Our room was above a function room and my husband was sick on Friday night so we retired around 9.30 pm. The noise coming into our room from the function was unbearable. Thought it would never finish. Another bad point was the toiletries supplied by the hotel. We had three small bottles between my husband and myself and a sign in the bathroom said if we needed more we would have to buy them. In all the hotels we have stayed in this was first time seeing such meanness. Location to the town wasn't bad. Don't think I would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Terry,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

In regards to the points you made, I'm happy you found the breakfast to your liking and that overall the stay was pleasant.

I’m sorry to hear that your breakfast tea was not as you would have liked. We will take a look at how the tea is brewed to make sure its to our high standards and thank you for your remarks.

In terms of the noise that you experienced after retiring early we are sorry that you were bothered. As you can appreciate we occasionally host functions, which we advertise to guests throughout the day to minimise any impact and to inform everyone properly. As our main focus is on our guests wellbeing we insist all functions are over by 11:30pm. In this case you were inconvenienced and so we are sorry to hear this, but will take a look at the sounds emanating from our function room to see if we can improve the current levels of soundproofing further.

Lastly we understand that it might seem mean to only give toiletries on the day of arrival, but as we offer THE WHITE COMPANY brand in 50ml containers, not 25ml or 30ml as other hotels do (which are also a premium high-street brand) we believe that this way our guests can enjoy these fantastic products. Other establishments offer cheap alternatives in small bottles that do not compare and we prefer to offer a quality product.

You are right we do have a very small restocking fee which we do not profit from, should you run out, but as 50ml normally is enough for our average stay (3-4 days), it is not normally a problem. We do take your remarks into consideration and it helps us to decide whether a change of policy or products is needed.

I thank you for the feedback, it motivates us to keep improving and working on issues that can improve our guests stay in Jersey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmarley D'Abitot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travelled to Jersey with friends and stayed for 3 nights at The Savoy over a long weekend.
Having travelled from the airport by bus (not a well thought through decision!) we caught a taxi from the bus station in town to the hotel as it was a fair walk with luggage (the fare was about a fiver).
We were checked in with no problems by a very friendly receptionist who also showed us all the facilities. As we arrived mid-morning our rooms weren't ready but they were happy to look after our bags which had been delivered to our rooms by the time we came back later in the day.
The rooms were fairly basic but clean and comfortable. We had rooms 53 and 54 which were on the ground floor over looking the pool. The bathroom was clean with an endless supply of hot water and White Company products. A kettle and the usual satchets were supplied and there was also an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe.
On waking the first morning we did notice a lot of noise from the surrounding bathrooms (shower running upstairs, toilets flushing etc) which did get a bit annoying.
Breakfast was great. A good selection of fruit, yoghurts, cheese, cereals, bread, juice etc as well as a good cooked selection. The scrambled eggs were especially yummy!
We had a couple of hours next to the pool one afternoon. The pool itself is not heated and was freezing! Only the brave would attempt a swim! There was a bit of a fight for sunbeds but they do provide a good supply of clean towels at the poolside and the bar staff were happy to bring drinks out to you as well!
My husband used the gym one morning and was impressed with the selection of equipment but did say that there was no air con or circulation of air in the room which made it quite oppressive.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town which was fine, and was ideal as we had tickets for a concert at the Opera House which was also only a short walk away.
Check-out was pain free and again they were happy to hang on to our bags until later in the day.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and we'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 53 and 54 over-looked the pool and were spacious but you could hear bathroom nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear visitor,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

I do think that the best option is to travel directly to the hotel via taxi as this only works out at around £12-13 and is the most direct and hassle free option.

In regards to the points you made, I'm happy you found the breakfast to your liking and that overall the stay was pleasant. We will continue improving on all aspects to make your next stay even better.

We are currently working on ways to reduce the noises that occasionally occur, in an effort to make guests more comfortable, although we have to deal with what is a fairly old building in some parts of the hotel especially (dating back to 1840!!) although the wings were you where situated are newer, they still pose a challenge in this regard and we have some ideas how to improve this and are implementing them.

I thank you for the feedback, it motivates us to keep improving and working on issues that can improve our guests stay in Jersey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

All in all, good value. Nice restaurant and bar. Lots of staff on hand. The Friday night jazz band and meal is well worth a visit. Gets busy, so book a table in advance. Informal affair and seems very popular amongst the locals. We spent our 20th anniversary weekend here. Was a good base to go out walking from. If I was asked to find any negatives I would say that the room was looking a little tired, and on this hottest weekend of the year we missed the air con. Had the windows open and woken at 6am by a noisy pump or some machine. But breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit and chilled juice available and a bit of variety if you prefer cooked breakfast. You can check out late and they'll store you're luggage so you can still go walkabout after checking out. We would go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Bob,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

Your remarks were very kind and its great for the team and myself to know that we are getting things right for our guests. I’m delighted your 20th anniversary was enjoyable and we hope to have you back some time soon, where we will endeavour to make your next visit even better.

In regards to the rooms, we have some great improvements that are currently being rolled out and you can expect the rooms to be a notch or two better on your following stay.

I thank you for the feedback, it motivates us to keep improving and working on issues that can improve our guests stay in Jersey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and were hoping for a lovely holiday, it was perfect. The hotel was lovely, the staff were attentive, polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were extensive and delicious. A superb stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Hayley,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

Your remarks were very kind and its great for the team and myself to know that we are getting things right for our guests. I’m delighted your 25th wedding anniversary was so enjoyable and we hope to have you back some time soon, where we will endeavour to make your next visit even better..

We have a number of improvements we are currently implementing and hope to get your view on them upon your return. Thank you again for your flattering comments, I will pass them on to the team, I’m sure it will brighten there day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Had a three night stay at the Savoy and was pleasantly surprised of the quality of accommodation for the money. The family rooms have two bedrooms with their own televisions. Excellent for a bit of adult privacy. The breakfasts are of a high standard and the staff are very efficient and helpful. Not a Jazz fan but the entertainment was very pleasant. Location fine and as I say a great hotel for the money. Really pleased with our experience. Our friends upgraded (£10) for a balcony room and it was huge with a large balcony a definite must if travelling without children. Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank birdieinShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

We are very happy to hear you and your family regard the Savoy as value for money and liked the family rooms we have created for our guests, they are proving very popular and often are the first to be booked up.

Thank you for your comments on the Jazz night, believe or not I am not (originally) a jazz fan either and yet have probably become one throughout the talents of Brian white and his group, who are fantastic. It has now been 5 years they have played with us and we feel lucky to have them.

Your remarks were very kind and its great for the team and myself to know that we are getting things right for our guests. I’m delighted your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to have you back some time soon, where we will endeavour to make your next visit even better..

I’d also like to mention that we have a number of improvements we are currently implementing and hope to get your view on them upon your return. Thank you again for your flattering comments, I will pass them on to the team, I’m sure it will brighten there day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at The Savoy and would recommend it. If yr mobile and active it's location is perfect for walking to the centre of St Helier to enjoy the shops, cafes and bars.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
It was lovely sitting by the pool with a drink in the evening.
The hotel provides entertainment in the evening but it's not noisy or intrusive.
A hair dryer for the wife would be useful but it's a minor point with everything else being so good.
We would return without hesitation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaJersey, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Carl,

We thank you for your review, we value all remarks and opinions as they helpful to us in our efforts to improve.

Your kind remarks regarding your recent 2 night stay well received by our team, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Jersey and found the hotel to be up to the high standards we want for our guests.

I will endeavour to find out why you did not have a hairdryer in your room during your stay as they are standard equipment. Possibly it was faulty and not replaced. I do apologise for this oversight.

We do hope to have you back some time soon as you mention in your review, where we will endeavour to make your next visit even better..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing