We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the Savoy. Could not fault it. Staff pleasant, polite and courteous at all times. Breakfast superb. We stayed in room 100 which is a junior suite and the bathroom is amazing with a double jacuzzi bath and roman statues Tips for eating out: Aroma's. Pomme d'Or and the quaint bistro Bolero almost opposite the hotel. Don't be put off by the appearance, the food is excellent. Tip: No need to hire a car. It's a small island and the bus service is very good and the various organised trips are very good value for money. Jazz night very good, but you don't have to eat in the hotel as there was plenty of room for all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    414
    133
    33
    13
See reviews for
166
658
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I don't often bother to write reviews however i found this Hotel to be truly wonderful from the moment i arrived.I was lured by the sound of jazz music to Robertos Jazz bar for a quick pre check in refreshment. The barstaff were very friendly and well versed on their wine list. After feeling rather relaxed courtesy of the first class jazz band i checked into my room. Which was very clean bright and welcoming. I booked a reservation at the restaurant which i was blown away. I live in NYC and spend half of the year in Europe so its safe to say i have quite a good palet. To conclude this is a very fairly priced Hotel for what you get and i would recommend highly. I would also mention that i have been visting Jersey for the last 20 years and this is the best all round package i have found i will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecrstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a four night stay19-23 July
We were checked in very quickly and efficiently then the young man showed us the main areas of the hotel breakfast room,bar,restaurant etc.
We were in room 25 which was a lovely big room,alarm bells rang when we saw the floor standing fan!
However we were very grateful for it as the hotel is in such an old building it has no air-con.
This room can be a little noisy first thing in the morning when the kitchen staff arrive for work as it is just below the window but we are early risers so did not trouble us too much,neither did the police or ambulance depots which are just across the road no problems during the night.
We ate in the hotel bar every night food superb!! Also can we just say Katriona and Diogo are a credit to your hotel.
Breakfasts very good choice great quick service only complaint which is everyone's and needs to be addressed! The tea and coffee is in big pots and a little strong.
We would recommend you to everyone parking easy and never full,hotel spotless,staff very friendly.
We will stay again when we visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank smokiecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am sure it's possible to work the system to get a 4 star grade but its doesn't mean you deliver 4 star service or accommodation. Tick swimming pool for points, add lift for more points and so on.

So why was this a 3 star stay. Room was good but no airocon so on a hot night it was scorching even with the windows open. The flat roof was superheated and just radiated right through the night, like lying underneath a toaster. The seagulls didnt mind though, mewling and screaming as they were. Nearly shouted for "Fawlty" to chase them away.

Went down to explore the bar and restaurant at 7pm. Waiter service but try as he might he was never going to get to me. Not a problem. Was then informed that although the restaurant was completely empty the earliest they could serve me would be 8.45 or 9. Really? Anyway found the Little Thai in the town, can recommend it. Its a 15 minute walk but worth it.

At this point you start to notice the grubby carpets, the peeling paint. Breakfast was in a really nice room. Eggs Benedict were good too. But team out of a jug was so black and stewed that it would have needed Dulux brilliant white to give it a light colour.

Reception on both check in and out was highly efficient, clinical even, certainly not welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are under the flat roof. Those at the front have the view and noise of the police...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanMoya, Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Savoy Jersey.

It is with regret that you found various shortfalls with the standards of the hotel. I note the comments you have listed and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the poor impression you have received of the hotel on this occasion. This summer has been especially hot but like other hotels in Jersey we do not offer air conditioning in our rooms. Nevertheless, we do offer cooling fans to our guests to be sent to rooms if requested at the reception. Regrettably we cannot control the protected seagulls as they can land where they may across the island.

All of our rooms meet the grading requirements of a 4* Hotel, and all the staff at the Savoy Jersey is constantly striving to maintain the high standards of friendly service and presentation, which are required of them and I very much regret that we failed to live up to expectations regarding your stay.


Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at The Savoy for a week 3-10 July, this was our first visit to Jersey. Check-in was quick and easy, and the polite receptionist even gave us a tour of the main areas - a very good first impression. There was no problem with our room (97) which was very clean, plenty of storage, very good TV and very comfy bed. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was extremely good and the staff were the most polite and helpful that we have experienced in a long while, especially Erik who always seemed to be on duty! Even the cleaning and maintenance staff smiled and said hello if you passed them. Breakfast was extremely good - the buffet was well stocked and the cooked breakfasts were plentiful and well cooked, however the tea/coffee was sometimes weak and tepid. We ate twice at the hotel, once in the Montana restaurant and once in the bar. On both occasions the food was very good, although we did have to wait a bit in the restaurant. Roberto's bar had an enjoyable ambience and again the staff were very friendly and courteous. Our only negative was with regard to the pool area; the flooring in the sun lounge area was dirty in places, a lot of the loungers were broken and we noticed that the cushions on them were not always removed at night therefore getting wet if it rained. We also noticed that loungers were being 'saved' by the sun worshippers! However, overall we had a great holiday at this hotel, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just completed a four night stay in a family room at The Savoy with my Wife and 16yr old Daughter. Excellent hotel - great value, very clean, fast FREE WiFi throughout, big car park, very polite and attentive staff and very clean throughout. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a big airy room. Recommend the Jazz In The Bar on a Friday evening - good food and good music.
10 min level stroll down to the main shopping area. Feels very secure being sited opposite the main police station on the island!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the savoy from the 1st to the 5th of July. We couldn't fault the service, food, cleanliness or location of this hotel. We have stayed at numerous hotels in jersey over the years and this was definitely the best one we've stayed in and already want to go back! The rooms were modern, comfy and clean. The breakfast was one of the highlights of our holiday! There was everything you could think of on their buffet every morning and their cooked breakfast was really tasty. Despite everyone's comments, we found the wifi reliable and could always be used. Although we stayed bed and breakfast we ate two evening meals and both were lovely! The steak from the Montana restaurant was the best steak I've had in ages! The staff, the breakfast staff in particular, were all really friendly and polite. The only thing I would change would be how the tea is served on a morning as it is stewed as the other comments say and to have more sun loungers around the pool on a daytime as there was only around 6 which were permanently occupied by sun worshippers- not giving anyone else a look in! Apart from these tiny changes it was a brilliant stay and we would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soph2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing