We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night at the Savoy”
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great night at the Savoy”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Savoy for her birthday last year. We had one of the best rooms in the hotel and the bathroom was stunning! Champagne was left for us in a iced bucket in the room which was a very welcome and lovely touch.

The Hotel is being updated as alot of hotels in Jersey are or recently have been and from the looks of what has been achieved so far the hotel will be stunning on completion. The staff are attentive but not invasive and they all speak good english which for some other hotels in Jersey is not a guarantee.

This is a town hotel so the comments about the view are somewhat unfair. Although while being in town the hotel is quiet and close to all the shops etc.

The bar is great and has a nice patio out front to soak in the sun after a busy day exploring the sights.

All in all a lovely hotel and when it's completely finished will be one of the best on the Island.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurric8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    404
    132
    32
    13
See reviews for
166
646
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CREWKERNE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

First stay at the Savoy (2 days) and I was really impressed with it. I liked the bar which is a glossy boutique affair and they had sky sports which was a godsend. The staff were polite and didn't mind having chat while still taking good care of me. I ate at the restaurant on the first night and the meal was excellent, upto the standard many of the good restaurants we get in . The room was big enough for the to spread out my stuff without having to clamber all over it.
I'm considering taking my wife in the summer - she's normally very picky but having seen it I (think!) I'm on safe ground.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMaximmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Due to various issues, taps not working, no heating, freshly varnished rooms we ended up moving rooms 7 times over a 3 night stay.. Paco from the front desk did try his best but sadly this tarnished the entire weekend and we will not be returning to this hotel. In their defence they comp'd us a meal in their very nice restaurant. Down side was after so many moves the room we finally ended up in was the smallest in the hotel, I did feel they could have provided us a better room as the moves were due to hotel faults and not us being fussy (unless you think wanting heating, hot water and no overriding smell of varnish is being fussy)
Had we had a fully functioning room from the beginning this would be a 4 rated hotel, but it turned into a farce very quickly...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHappyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

we stayed at this hotel for three nights 12th/14th of march and all though the hotel is on the edge of town it only took about ten minutes at a leasurely stroll to reach it, the hotel is situated in its own ground that now acts as the car park i believe that it was once a mansion for a rich family and it was built in 1840 it is spotless throughout and the staff were very polite and helpfull the breakfast is a buffet style with everything you could think of to eat and there is a small pool at the rear of the hotel but it is not heated so unless you go in mid summer i doubt that you would use it also there is a small gym near to the pool i would most certainly stop here when i next visit st helier

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsilverf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I am a regular traveller to Jersey and have stayed at Hotel de France many times, The Radisson and The Royal Yacht etc. We got a great rate so changed here, and found the rooms very good, and as I had a room at the back of the premises there was no road noise. We had food at the bar which was good and the fish very good. However the service was poor, and there was only one english person that they employ. This could be a very good hotel yet isn't yet...it does have potencial if they can get more attentive staff....and get the wireless working properly as it does in all the other St. Hellier hotels

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

As a Jersey resident we have not stayed overnight but have enjoyed several Friday night jazz and meal sessions. Great service (staff attentive but not in your face) and lovely food (a bit short on veggies but you only have to ask!) and we started and finished our evenings enjoying the music being played in the bar. A fantastic way to relax and finish the working week.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseymum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Do not accept a front room in this hotel unless you like to watch Firemen practising, Police cars coming and going at all hours and announcements being made on the Tannoy in the Fire station opposite.We paid a lot extra for a balcony room with two French doors which we had to close at night to keep the noise out and for security. The room was in the front. overlooking the car park which in literature is described as "own grounds". Beyond the "own grounds" was the main A9 North/South road carrying heavy traffic all day and night, and on the other side of the road was the combined Fire/Police Station open 24/7.
Montana Restaurant was over described with limited choice and no atmosphere.Great buffet breakfast.Pool looked good but we did not use it as the weather was not too good.
Otherwise fairly average, clean and comfortable. Would only recommend if you take the above points into consideration

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idontbeleiveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing