We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave about the Hotel Revere”
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Visited the hotel for a few days in this sept, a warm welcome by all staff. Breakfast very good, we were fortunate to have half board upgrade evening meal was fab you don't go hungry. The hotel has a rustic look, the bedroom (31) was a suit very nice let down by the wardrobe "very strong smell of damp" and the bathroom not the best I've seen tired would be a word. The bed and the pillows were one of the most comfortable I've had since (The Hilton Heathrow)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hotel full of character with excellent staff - real people - not robots.
Nice breakfast.
Very welcoming.
Keep up the good work.
This review is to be a minimum of 200 characters - I don't know why - I like things to make sense so I'm writing this to use up my characters - that should do it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flo3bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As per the previous reviewer, the only reason I am setting the rating at 4 out of 5 is because the hotel itself is in need of a bit of tlc. The staff, especially the barman, Tony, and gentleman on reception, Marius, were fantastic and a credit to the hotel, as were the all the waiting staff too. Nothing was too much trouble. The food in the Candlelight Restaurant was a real experience. It is not cheap but was absolutely delicious. Probably the best way to describe it would be "food theatre", what with the flambe carts and extra attention to detail which can make or break an evening meal. There was also a pianist in the dining area, which made for a cosy atmosphere. The hotel is ideally positioned, being near the town and well-served by local transfer coaches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theocsbury21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Revere Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Revere and the Candlelight Restauarnt. Your personal comments concerning Tony, Marius and the team are much appreciated. I hope we will have the opportuinty of welcoming you back soon, when you can be assured of the same high standards and attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The reason I am not giving this Hotel 5 stars is because the rooms need renovating urgently. However, bearing in mind the price paid the room had all the necessary facilities.
We went to Jersey for a short weeikend and found the Hotel to be very central. The reception staff were exceptional and so was the Restaurant Manager and the Bar Manager, the service is next to none. There's a small outdoor pool and a couple tables to sit out. The restaurant is very cosy and obviously very popular. We decided to dine in the hotel one night as it looked very romantic, my husband had the flambe steak which was prepared at our table, it was lovely to see a restaurant do flambe as you do not find many left. I had a normal steak which unfortunately was extremelly tiny for £21.95 although it tasted ok. This was dealt with in a professional manner and I was not charged. I would recomend the Revere hotel for the simple reason that the rooms are good value for money (still need decorating so do not expect a high standard 3 star), the staff are exceptional, the breakfast was good, the restaurant is cozy and the food is very good, the location is very handy if you rather be in St. Helier. Overall very charming with good head of departments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivone186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about our team and your dining experience in the Candlelight Restauarnt. The hotel and restaurant prides itself on traditional hospitality and food for which we are renowned. We currently have a schedule of works planned to uplift a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms in the coming months. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

1. Woken at 6am with spider crawling on arm.
2. Stripped back bed linen and killed a large cockroach in bed. ( given to the receptionist)
3. Looked under bed for spider and failed to find it but noted:
(a). Very dusty carpet, even a coin still there
(b). Very old mattress base - sagging hessian under and could see springs
4. Mattress is old and stained
5. Just noted that one of the glasses in the bathroom has old toothpaste marks in the bottom.
6. There was an old piece of soap stuck to the top of the small cabinet in the shower.
7. Bath towel was frayed around the edge.
We were given a 4 poster bed - not requested (and not really wanted)
Leonie and John Morris

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Leonie_M46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Excellent location, good value, friendly staff, great breakfasts and comfortable rooms. We didn't eat in, so can't comment on the restaurants, but the breakfast was generous and well presented. The pool appeared well kept and was pleasant to use. No lift, but suitcases are carried up to rooms by staff. Not outstanding, but good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPG841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Staff really freindly and helpful and really go that extra mile to help you have a great hoilday. We had a lovely large room with a four poster bed, room and the service was wonderful. The hotel is very quirky, the decor is a bit tired and could do with a refresh without taking away it's unique personality. The area is not the most fashionable, but some great resturants in this area and only just off the main esplande. The room numbering system is interesting - need a trail of bread crumbs to find the room again and we were not show or saw signs of how to get to the "secret" swimming pool, which we found a few days later! The room was bit noisy if you open the windows, which you needed to do because it was hot and no air con. Great buffet breakfast and candlelight restaurant was ok (Doran's next door was nicer) Bar staff nice. Lovely atmostphere, great staff, nice room and the other guests were very friendly - all in all a great place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St Helier
#10 Business Hotel in St Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £45 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing