We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Niche Hotel”
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed in this hotel twice now and will continue to come back.

The hotel is tucked away down an alley way behind the hospital, this location has been great for us as its not too far away from the main town area, but far enough away to avoid any late night revellers.

The staff were extremely friendly, and of course helful. Finding your room through the rabbit warren hallways would be impossible if not for a guide. Once you've navigated your way once, you should be fine.

We have stayed in 2 seperate rooms, both have been original and unique in both layout and design, we both found this delightful.

Breakfast was as expected, which was the typical English buffet style of fried food, fruit, yoghurts and cereals. This of course meant it wasn't disappointing to us, as we knew what to expect.

We hired and car and parked in a car park a few doors down from the hotel, this is paid parking, however I don't recall it being that expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwitchTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have had a week at the Revere and could not find a fault.
The staff are friendly, helpful and go out of there way to find information for you and are always willing to offer advice on the places to visit and even recommend other restaurants.
The restaurant serves excellent food with attentive waiters. Breakfasts are buffet style, but the hot food is hot. We could not fault the service or food quality, quantity ort variety.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and even on a cold October day are warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our fifth visit starting with our honeymoon and with various anniversaries in between, this was our ruby wedding! The location is ideal, breakfast and dinner excellent. Staff exceptionally friendly. We have always found this to be the case and can only complement the family for continuing to source staff throughout the years that provide that ''je ne sais quoi'' which has made our holidays at Revere so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian8253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I will begin by stating two negatives. First the hotel definitely needs some redecorating/repairs. Secondly, the rooms at the front overlook the narrow but quite noisy road, and there is a cafe opposite with outside seating and the clientele were making the most of the good weather most nights until the early hours. And boy were they loud! This wasn't a major problem for us as we can sleep through earthquakes, but if it's hot and you're a light sleeper you should probably ask for a room at the back. However, these complaints were minor when set against all the plus points. The hotel is perfectly located a ten minute stroll from the centre of St. Helier and the bus station, where fares are a maximum of £1.70 single where ever you want to go on the island. Services are frequent, although beware some routes get very crowded, particularly on the return journey towards the end of the day. Guests seemed to be mainly aged 50+ with the odd family group. We booked a deluxe double with a four poster bed and although the room decor was tired the bathroom was modern and bright. We booked bed and breakfast and were glad we did as the restaurants in St. Helier are plentiful and mostly good - there are five restaurants in the same street as the hotel - and in fact we ate at a different place every night. However, the hotel does do 24 hour room service if you ever get stuck. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a great choice of juices, cereals, fruit, croissants etc. plus the obligatory hot choices of bacon, eggs, sausages and the like. The staff were wonderful, extremely attentive and cheerful every morning. The maid service was good and staff at reception were also very helpful when approached. Lastly I will say that the free wifi worked very well - we even streamed live football on Sky on our laptop one evening (after an exhausting day walking the coastal path from L'Etacq to Devil's Hole in case you were wondering why!) - so if you are there on business and need to get on line you shouldn't have a problem. We would certainly recommend Hotel Revere for it's convenient location, friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy if you need the windows open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Microtraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself, my wife and our little one stayed here for two nights 30/09 - 01/10 and really enjoyed our stay. It's a very friendly hotel where we've enjoyed our breakfast and dinner. No request was ever a problem (ie. cheese and beans at 4pm for my daughter :) ).

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariosPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just came back from a five night stay on Jersey. I always wanted to visit the island but sad to say I can only rate the island as average at best. It is like they have put Torquay and Bournemouth on an island. Attractions not that good (exceptions being Maritime Museum and the Orchid place) and all wanted top money ie £11:20 pp for a visit to the tunnels. Other positive for me was the bus station I wish our town has something like that! We stayed at the Revere Hotel that has a fantastic team of people working there which makes you relax straight away. But the hotel needs some TLC to turn it into a little gem. Small example the reception area chairs and fireplace are a little tired. Our room was small but okay, seemed to have been decorated recently but missed the main reason for staying in a hotel and that was the beds they really need to be changed. If these had been updated my scores below would have been much higher. Nevertheless thank you to all the staff who looked after us, not fair to pick out one person as they were all excellent but on this occasion i will mention one person. Peter on the bar / restaurant great sense of humour, polite and very hard working. Credit to the management in selecting the whole team. NB travelled with Flybe and enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinWBadHomburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is quaint and the decor is a little worn and wild.

The staff at this hotel are the friendlies staff that I have encountered in a hotel - everyone was so friendly!

The food in the restaurant was excellent quality.

A few things needed fixing during the stay but with the staff being so friendly and helpful it more than made up for something not working (like the shower).

Decent location - just behind the hospital, down the road from the beach. St Helier town centre 10 - 15 minute walk. St Elizabeth castle 5 minutes walk.

I loved it here and when I return to Jersey I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and your kind comments about the team are much appreciated. It is very encouraging when we receive comments of this nature, thank you. I hope we will have the opportuinity of welcomiong you back soon, when you can be assured of the same high level of hospitalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St Helier
#10 Business Hotel in St Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £45 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing