We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A gorgeous hotel. Staff friendly and welcoming. We were in a Spa room which I would highly recommend, it was extremely spacious, everything was a high standard, the bath was huge, seperate walk in shower and under floor heating. Breakfast consisted of a very good selection of everything, again, all good quality. Spa facilities wonderful. Had one meal in the Cafe Aroma which was delicious....a beautiful place to stay, cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    570
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
278
927
106
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for a couple if nights on business. Excellent hotel and facilities, excellent staff. Having a top quality spa, pool and gym is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The stay involved a conference and the facilities were very nice with a short walk into town. Very clean and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with this hotel. We had been given an up grade to a spa room and it was spacious, modern, and beautifully equipped and decorated with the additional bonus of a great view down to the bay.
We made good use of a well equipped gym as well as of the lovely pool area. I treated myself to a massage in the Spa and it was superb.
Breakfasts are first class. We ate one evening in Saffrons and can highly recommend that too.
Staff lovely and helpful.
Hope very much to return again soon.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YHtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed over a long weekend recently and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable, if I was being picky a slightly bigger wall mounted TV would have been nice but that is being picky! The food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was of a very good standard and in some cases excellent. Breakfast was buffet style but again generally tasted fresh, items were replenished and there was a good variety.

Bar prices were quite high but I suppose in line with hotels of this type.

The spa area, pool etc was excellent, spacious and even though it was quite busy it never felt noisy or uncomfortable, it was a great place to chill out.

Above all, the staff were first class, helpful, friendly and it seemed to us genuinely interested in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Whilst this may not be the cheapest option I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazyboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
third rock from the sun
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

10 day visit, checked in after an exhausting flight from USA. Jersey doesn't have disability rules or real rooms for disabled.. Our first room 701, was a nice sized room with double and single beds. lovely bathroom BUT, Elderly disabled mother couldn't get into the bathtub (right after we got there, told them that would be an issue due to her mobility) to take a shower so what did the hotel do?? The manager told me that they would upgrade us to a suite on the 10th floor that had a walk in shower! It all went uphill from there! Room 1001. The manager said since we were staying so long, they wanted my mother to be comfortable..
HUGE bath sheets and robes.
The hotel was packed due to the commonwealth fencing that was going on. Kids everywhere but not noisy!
the view is spectacular of St Helier. Fort Regent & Elizabeth Castle are in view from the front of the hotel.
Our 2 room suite included 1 full bathroom with jacuzzi style tub and enclosed shower. 2nd bathroom was toilet & sink but still quite large. Main room had a couch, 2 matching overstuffed comfy chairs, wide screen TV in a lovely armoir, etagere, and a lovely table and chairs..
bedroom had 2 double beds that were beautiful sleigh beds! A little short to the ground but nice. Very comfortable. Dresser, TV, Table and chairs.
in the closet, there is a lovely nearly full sized refrigerator.
The view from our 2 rooms were fantastic of St Helier.
Daughter used the pool and spa and LOVED them! The ice bath was a new experience but she enjoyed being able to use all the facilities!
Shuttle to and from town is brilliant. don't forget to put your seat belt on, they frown on that even in a shuttle bus.
Taxi to and from town will run anywhere between 6-8pounds(each way). But if you plan on spending 2 hours in town, take the shuttle. It drops and picks up at Snow Hill which is right near every shop downtown!
The Cafe Aroma has lots of choices but is on the expensive side. a soda (pepsi) is 1,85pound. I reccomend the Turkey & Bacon with lettuce & guacamole sandwich 9.65pounds and comes with chips. its quite nice.
Being there for 10 days, the food at the Cafe Aroma kind of got old.. another close option would be nice but the hotel is really kind of remote if you don't have a car or no where you are headed.
The full buffet breakfast in the Orangery, consisted (and is included in your stay) daily of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sauteed mushrooms, fried potato triangle cakes, roasted tomatoes, beans, pastries, toast, loads of cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, juices galore, coffee, tea & hot chocolate. Bagels would have been a nice option.
again, 10 days the breakfast gets monotonous.
Grande Marche food-coop is a lovely grocery store that is seriously a 6 minute walk from the hotel. and about 10-12 on the way back (steep hill to walk up with groceries). has a selection of everything you can imagine.
Bring bags or pay the .10pence for each.. nice with handles!
If you go into town, go to the .99p store.. you can get cans of soda (all the usual, coke, dr pepper, etc) 3/.99p! Hotel shop they are .85p. Suggestion to bring a bag to haul them back to your room and refrigerate them. alot less $$ than buying them in the hotel or grande marche. Plus they have a restaurant that has the best sausage rolls that are about 9inches by 2inches and are quite tasty! they also have sandwiches and pies and pastries, PLUS you can eat in!.. nothing over .99p!
Every employee was first class. After 10days, we got to know each other and they were very genuine. They were very helpful.

CON: yes, there actually is a con and this is the reason I gave it 4 out of 5.

The doors to the room (suites have 2) have a bit of a gap so you can actually feel a breeze blowing.. However, the heat (I was told all through the hotel is affected) gets shut off between 2am-5am! They said "the management figures guests will be snuggled asleep".. They brought us a room heater which did a nice job between 2am-5am..
It was very cold between 35f-40f degrees during our stay. and again, when your nose and face are cold....
The flower arranger they have at the Hotel de France is spectacular! The flowers are tended and refreshed daily! Some of the arrangements are huge!
Clean, fresh and fantastic... STAY AT THE HOTEL DE FRANCE!
taxi to hotel is approximately 22-25pounds
Winter months are slow, spring & summer will be busy, but oh what a beautiful hotel...

Room Tip: get a suite for the view, if you don't need a view regular rooms are quite as nice too. no issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hologramqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As someone who normally stays in chain hotels within the Intercontinental group I found the Hotel de France to ooze old world charm. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 11am, so they took our bags and had them in our room when we got back. An older male employee offered to carry my wifes bag to the room when we returned, small things that made a difference. I requested a large room when we booked as we had a child with us and lots of luggage, our room was huge but lacked individually controlled heating/air con. Beds were very comfortable but TV was tiny, but had a good selection of channels. Bathroom was fine, however the toilitries could use an upgrade, no individual toiletries provided, only one large bottle of shampoo/bodywash, this was a big negative for us. Breakfast on the other hand was fantastic, one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had anywhere in the world. The selection was huge, featured lots of local products (butter, bread, sausages, yoghurts and milk), a very upscale fool breakfast offering included in the room rate.

Overall this must be one of the best hotels in Jersey. If only they'd do something about the toiletries.

Room Tip: We asked for a large room when booking and received one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkIreland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,938 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,493 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing