We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jersey 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jersey 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Twelve people from our town joined up with 560 other people for a conference in Jersey held at the Hotel de France.It was a lovely hotel but with about a 25min. walk to the centre of St. Helier it's situation would have been a problem but fortunately the Organisers had arranged a number of shuttle minibuses.The staff were excellent and the food was up to a high standard.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel with a view of St Helier and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    535
    157
    45
    18
See reviews for
257
868
101
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Only by experiencing this hotel will you know what makes it great. It's immaculately clean, spotlessly decorated and the staff are very effective and polite. It's run by the Parker family and their presence and attention to detail shows. Staying here is always a pleasure. There are flasher hotels, and hotels with more facilities and luxury. But I think you'd struggle to find one that's run better.

Room Tip: I've stayed here six times, never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

To start with this is a bit out of town but as I had a hire car this made parking a whole lot easier. I have clients on the Island and need to get about so a car park is a nice touch. It would be nice if you were met on arrival but I guess the size of the hotel makes this difficult. The food was excellent- especially Cafe Aroma - and the staff were very attentive. I have stayed here a few times in the last year or so and it is always a pleasent experience. The spa facility is superb. Very clean which a few other hotels in Jersey should take note of and no exclusion for guests!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham, england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice hotel in always but one! Apart from the pool areas, there are no facilities for teenagers/ children. A games room would be a nice extra to this hotel..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice hotel although a bit out of the centre and away from everything. A big supermarket is about 4 mins walk and to reach centre is about 10-15min walk.
The staff in reception is not always speaking good English, but were very helpful and friendly.
Hotel rooms are clean and looking new. Bed is comfortable, décor is neutral (perhaps would be nice to hang a picture or two on the wall), free wifi and access to the pool/spa area.
Only downside was that my room 620 had its view blocked by what looks like an ugly rooftop of a complex of garages. This would be a problem for all rooms on this floor and probably even the floor above.
Breakfast was ok, not much to cater for vegetarians but very tasty smoked salmon.
In short, nice romantic getaway providing you get a room with more inspiring views!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel has been converted and modernised but not to a very high standard. The rooms have WiFi but no refrigerator or safe and the TV is not flat screen!
The bathroom is adequate but has no towel rail for hand towels and the lighting and mirror is poor for shaving.
The restaurant and cafes are good with high quality food, particularly fish and other local produce.
The location is not good for guests without a car although there is a hotel shuttle bus 4 or 5 times a day.

Room Tip: A number of the, rooms have a (rather distant) sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is probably the best hotel we've been to. Our room was excellent we had a spa room which included a lovely view. The bathroom was huge with a lovely big bath and wet room style shower.
The only bad thing was for the size of room our TV was very small but we didn't spend lots of time in our room so was not a problem.
The choice at breakfast was brilliant.
We ate one evening in the Cafe Aroma which was nice although a little expensive and I would have preferred more veg, instead of a teaspoonful of mushed stuff.
It was good value as we traveled on a special deal by Travel zoo.
I didn't sleep very well as I couldn't get the air conditioning cool enough but my husband slept like a log so probably my problem!
The Ayush Wellness spa was fantastic very relaxing we used it every day we were there.
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade or pay extra for spa room really enhances the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing