We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but clean and bright”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but clean and bright”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Huge beds, powerful showers and great breakfast. Spa well worth a visit. 10 minute walk to town but shuttle buses laid on by hotel. They do say plenty of parking but such a big hotel and 2 functions on and we struggled. 20 minutes parking the car just not acceptable

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Jules2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    555
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
274
907
105
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel having moved from the Radisson Blu and were really impressed, we had not booked this hotel originally because of the walk into town.
But we found the walk only about 10 minutes interesting especially as there are several different routes you can take. There is a curtesy bus but the times did not suit us.
The room was wonderfull with views out over the town and the spa was probably one of the best we had been to. We heard noise from the function room on our first night when we mentioned this we were given keys to an alternative room we could sleep in if we wished, though we did not use it after all.
Nice and quite in the morning for the early morning swim and steam and not to busy in the late afternoon having returned from a day out.
Breakfast was good, we walked into town for our evening meals but found the recommended restaurants pricey but there are plenty or alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJTUpminster_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I also stayed for the large conference and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Check in very efficient. Bulb not working in bathroom and fixed immediately without fuss. Drinks prices were a bit expensive but somewhat expected at a quality hotel. Slightly disappointed in lack of any bubble bath etc in bathroom as its impossible to bring these things with you these days. Overall a qualty stay with helpful efficient staff who all helped to make the conference a great success. Food outstandingly good especially considering the numbers catered for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crapaud62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

We had a week at this hotel combining a conference with a holiday. Someone said this hotel was specialising in conferences, and as I had no involvement in the organisation of the conference, I will omit that aspect from the review.
The reception was always efficient and welcoming. The room was spacious and the housekeeping well up to scratch. Though one really quirky and surprising aspect, there were no drawers in the room at all. Imagine, all the casual clothing for a weeks holiday for two and not one drawer available.
Breakfast, buffet style, poached and boiled eggs could be ordered fresh; the only time I tried a fried egg, it was hard, so I stuck to scrambled which was always done the way I liked.
Never had lunch.
Had an evening meal in the hotel when there was inclement weather, I had an excellent beef burger.
The conference meals catering for 120, 400 and 530 on succeeding nights were of a standard I had not experienced previously, congratulations to all concerned. The meals were all plated when served, no complaints except that on two nights the gap between main and desert was longer than expected.
I found the cost of drinks a little higher than expected, and on evening found the beer on the wine menu incorrectly labelled, with the alcoholic content incorrectly listed, I complained and they took appropriate action very quickly, well done.
Regarding the rooms available for meetings seemed to have many, ranging in size from small to over 500
If you are thinking of visiting Jersey or arranging a conference, have confidence in the Hotel de France

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Twelve people from our town joined up with 560 other people for a conference in Jersey held at the Hotel de France.It was a lovely hotel but with about a 25min. walk to the centre of St. Helier it's situation would have been a problem but fortunately the Organisers had arranged a number of shuttle minibuses.The staff were excellent and the food was up to a high standard.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel with a view of St Helier and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Only by experiencing this hotel will you know what makes it great. It's immaculately clean, spotlessly decorated and the staff are very effective and polite. It's run by the Parker family and their presence and attention to detail shows. Staying here is always a pleasure. There are flasher hotels, and hotels with more facilities and luxury. But I think you'd struggle to find one that's run better.

Room Tip: I've stayed here six times, never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

To start with this is a bit out of town but as I had a hire car this made parking a whole lot easier. I have clients on the Island and need to get about so a car park is a nice touch. It would be nice if you were met on arrival but I guess the size of the hotel makes this difficult. The food was excellent- especially Cafe Aroma - and the staff were very attentive. I have stayed here a few times in the last year or so and it is always a pleasent experience. The spa facility is superb. Very clean which a few other hotels in Jersey should take note of and no exclusion for guests!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing