We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel but make sure this is the location you require” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but make sure this is the location you require”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We found all the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and showed a genuine interest in ensuring we enjoyed our 4 night stay. The Hotel is of a very high standard and you can see that a great deal of attention has gone into everything.
The Spa facility with its swimming pool, gym and all its other facilities is superb. One of the very best we have ever come across in any hotel. Nothing has been scrimped and it is a real credit to its designers and builders. It is very large but does spoil the views from the first floor spa rooms.
The Spa Rooms are again excellent, very modern and may not suit everyone, but we really liked these. The bathroom again is huge with a superb walk in shower and one of the deepest baths we have seen. A safety rail here would be advisable for elderly people using the bath.
A fully opening glass window and glass doors leading to the balcony makes the room very comfortable, and we had no problem with this, and enjoyed the balcony.
On arrival we had been allocated Room 118 on the first floor but we turned this down as it was in the corner and had a very poor outlook. We then were offered Room 112 but this had the Spa Roof right in front of it and gave an even poorer outlook. The Hotel only had one room available on the higher floor No. 214 but the aircon in this room was broken, but we were not bothered and agreed to have this room. We did not regret this at all as we were quite happy to sleep with the window open. Overall the quality of this room and the bed comfort exceptionally good.
Breakfast again excellent with good choice and quality. The staff again very efficient and friendly giving good personal service.
The Aroma cafe again gave us all we required and has a sensible and good menu choices.
So overall an excellent hotel, but if you have not been to Jersey before and are coming here for a holiday make sure this is the location you require. We had a hire car and toured the island so the location was very good for us, but if you are here for a beach holiday then a Beach Hotel such as those at Brelade may suit you better.
We were not impressed with St Helier itself. Ok for one visit but that was all. We much preferred other parts of the island and its good for driving around, providing you have a small car and don't mind narrow lanes. Plenty to see and do.
The Hotel gardens are on the small size but pleasant and the terraces by the cafe very good, providing you have the right weather.
We would certainly use this hotel again if we wanted to stop at this location

Room Tip: The Hotel rooms do vary a lot. We had booked a Spa Room which is in the new part of the hotel and ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    527
    154
    45
    18
See reviews for
250
847
99
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

From the moment we pulled up in the car to the minute we vacated, It was just a great experience,the hotel staff were fantastic, everything is catered for, our room was spotless with a great view over St Helier, on my wifes birthday we ate in the Saffron alacarte restaurant which was impecable, never have we eaten such good Indian/style food. The Spa was out of this world and available to all residents.
Can not reccommend this hotel enough.

Going to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayballcyclespo... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Based on the recommendations here, we decided to try the tasting menu at Saffron and we were not disappointed. From the delightful amuse bouche at the start, to the wine flight and the chocolate, ice cream and rice crispy cake pudding, the dishes were original, fresh and absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We booked this hotel/package through Secret Escapes and were 100% satisfied with everything.
The hotel is better than any we have stayed in in the UK. Although it is a large hotel the service and facilities are truly 4*. The breakfasts and evening meals are excellent, staff helpful and friendly, rooms very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a short walk in to town (10 mins max) car parking is easy and grounds lovely to sit in and sunbathe or just relax. The spa was also worth a visit.
A very enjoyable break and Jersey is fab!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room - stunning views out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanadooCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked through 'Secret Escapes' after another break fell through. Hotel is really excellent although some distance from the town centre. Reception staff were cheerful & friendly. The room was a good size, very clean. We used the restaurants in the hotel & they were both excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobporthcawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Steep hill from town a 20 min walk. Too far for us so £6 taxi fare each way. Would book a hotel nearer civilisation next time. No minibar and hair dryer needed an upgrade. Television tiny! Reception staff could be better informed would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1953moonbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nice hotel indeed. Stayed here for 2 nights, although the reason for visiting Jersey was to attend the funeral of a very dear relative. The hotel itself is impressive, very big, but not impersonal. The rooms clean and comfortable if quite basic. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

The health spar was great, with a nice pool, sauna and an excellent steam room

The location is not ideal, being a bit of a stroll to the town centre and on a slope, so would not be great for young children or the disabled. However, there is ample car parking here.

I would recommend and certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing