We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in St Helier”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just returned from a week in the hotel. My wife and I were delighted with the style and comfort of the hotel. Everything about it was quality. Impeccably clean and we enjoyed the meals in the restaurant. We had a 4th floor room overlooking the garden and the town. Waking up to such a lovely view was a bonus. All in all we were exceptionally pleased. Some less mobile guests might find the out of town location not to their liking but for us it was a pleasant 15 minute walk into town and 20 minutes (back up the hill). We hope to return.

Room Tip: A room on the 4th floor overlooking garden is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil186243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,671 - 1,677 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel as it gave us the best value compared to some of the others on the island. We chose a standard room which was bright, airy and clean . . what more could you ask for. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service in the restaurants (both were very good by the way) was excellent. I used the spa for the swimming pool & steam-room. A lovely addition to the hotel. Location is great - only a 10 min walk into town. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to the front of the hotel where the sun goes down making it a sunny bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pa_ryan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel, as it was on a offer with secret escapes, and it was soo much better then we expected. Rooms was spacious, nice bathroom, separate room, the only bad thing i could say about the room was the tv, very tiny!

In our package we got breakfast and a dinner one evening. The dinner was a voucher for up to £24.00 per person, we used this at aroma, the scampi is toooo die for here, we definitely do not get fresh scampi like that in London. The breakfast was also delicious, the food was always hot, and there was such a good selection of food, which was all great quality.

The staff were very friendly, and we never had a problem with anyone.

The spa....WOW not like any hotel spa i have ever seen. Its free for hotel guests :)

whenever in jersey again, will definitely visit this hotel again if the price is right :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzieee_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for our first time in Jersey, and we are so glad we picked this hotel, from the moment we entered the place had a really nice atmosphere. We had a front facing room which gave us a really nice view over the town and the spa was incredible, really nice and modern and good value for money as you can use all the facilities as much as you want. Breakfast offered a good choice for everyone and the same with the cafe as well for lunch or dinner, only a short walk from town meant that you can always head out if you want a change. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially Anneleen and Steve on reception who between them were always happy to help to answer our endless questions about the island and the hotel.

Highly recommend a visit and we will defiantly come back again if we return to Jersey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in June for a corporate event hosted by Jersey colleagues. The hotel itself is dated and pretty uninspiring yet the prices charged in the bars and restaurants indicate something different. The accommodation is average at best but the biggest disappointment was the poor customer care from the staff. Problems with the booking on arrival, sloppy reception arrangements and an inability for even the simplest financial transaction to be resolved effectively were all annoying. From the fixed wardrobe hangers, to the insistence on having a credit card imprint almost before you enter the hotel, to the crass presentation of a bill for everything at a time to suit the staff, not the customer - all these combined to create a feeling that guests are not to be trusted. Not the most customer focused approach I've ever encountered! This hotel could be so much more but to do so, it has to put its guests at the heart of what it does. As things are, I felt I was causing them inconvenience just by staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just returned from a four night break. What a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean. Room was a very good size. Towels changed everyday. Breakfast excellent. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We booked through Secret Escapes and had the most wonderful trip. The hotel is amazing, large, with spacious rooms and everything spotlessly clean.
The food was lovely. The staff could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
Everyone we met whilst driving around the island was so helpful. When we stopped to look at a map a car would stop and the driver offer help with directions.
Lots of things to see and do, we're keen to return

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £88 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing