We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.......”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very small single room, TV not much bigger than my iPad. Felt welcome was flat and was concerned about giving my PIN number as well as credit card details even though I had paid in full. A good 15 minute walk to town, though I was given a map. Yet to try spa but no information given. No information in room about meal times, check in / out times etc. felt as a single traveller that I was irrelevant.. Very disappointed, does not live up to its advertising.

Room Tip: Don't go on your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveswitzerland0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here on business for the week, the hotel is nice but I found it to be very dated, in need of upgrading, especially the shower.
The food is good, I had a 3 course Indian meal for £18 on Thursday and the food was excellent.

Staff were always friendly and they had excellent wifi. I would stay here again on business but it's not a hotel I'd choose for my own personal taste, slightly too dated for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just arrived at Hotel de France. Supposed to be a 4 star hotel. No safe in the room. Have to go to reception to put jewellery and passports into a safe round the back. How ridiculous and inconvenient especially as room is on the 9th floor and at the end of a corridor. Also asked for room with a view and got one overlooking a huge blue roof with the sea miles in the background that you can see if you happen to have a pair of binoculars handy. Smacks of Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surreyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here on business for one night as I was presenting at a major local conference for the island's many accountants. It is an ok hotel but nothing special. Very business focused with good conference facilities but personally it wouldn't be the kind of place I would choose to stay at when on vacation. In fact, even as a business hotel it isn't great. My room was a decent size but it was rather bland and felt a little dated. I'd expect a bit more character in what is a historic property dating from the mid 19th century. Some may be interested to know that the TV in my room was tiny though personally I didn't use it. The lack of an in room iron & iron board is disappointing when you need a well pressed shirt ahead of your big presentation. Having to get one delivered from reception is a pain. Ok for a one night work-related stay but nothing better than that. I'm sure St Helier and Jersey have many better options.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was not the hotel standard we were expecting. It advertises itself as a four star hotel I would suggest the standard of other four star hotels in Jersey is far higher. This is not a hotel for the person wanting just a holiday the focus of it is based upon the corporate market, conferences and business clients.

We booked 13 nights at the hotel and when we enquired about the room we would be allocated. We were informed they were unable to tell us as rooms are allocated the day before arrival. We told staff we wanted a room with a view but not of a wall, and we needed a fridge in the room to put medication in. We were assured that as we were staying for a reasonable period of time our request would be met.
The day before arrival we were told the room had been allocated and we would be pleased. It was reported to be over looking a residential area.

When we arrived the room had a ten foot wall outside the window (what a view!) no residential area or anything else could be seen and there was no fridge!!

The fridge was resolved really quickly but the room - we asked for another room, when we went to reception the person we saw could not understand what we were saying!

We then got a room change five days later which was better but certainly not what I would call four star!!

The windows which were approximately five feet high did not have curtains but basic roller blinds one of which had been fitted incorrectly and therefore would not roll/close and we had to ask for it to be repaired twice!

The hotel shows a lovely picture of the front of the hotel on the website however it does not show the medical centre and car park in the front. When you are in the front of the hotel your room looks over it as our second room did.

The café Aroma for evening meals was very cramped to many tables and very poor choice of food the only change being the chefs special. The tables were awful, cramped and to close together and you could not sit comfortably because your legs hit the pedestal - they were not dining room tables.

The length of wait for a table was appalling so we went to other hotels for dinner. The other dining room only served Indian food.

Apart from reception, the spa and the new rooms the hotel is looking tired and worn and in bad need of a really good refurbishment.

On the positive Gemma in reception was very good, the staff and food at breakfast was good and the hotel porters were good.

The hotel is supposed to be part of the luxury hotels of Jersey group - very disappointed.

Whilst there we heard a radio programme about Jersey falling out of love with the tourist - the Hotel De France certainly has.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing your room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Would recommend the hotel and spa. The staff were very polite and helpful. The facilities were good. However our break was ruined by the rudeness of the lady in the salon whose attitude was far from inviting and her claim that there was "a three month waiting list" left us somewhat confused as to why this facility would be advertised for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was the second time we have stayed, a repeat visit of 5 nights because of the wonderful experience we had with a week in July 2013. All of the staff give truly excellent service, polite, helpful, and made the stay a very pleasant one to such an extent we will probably be coming back next year. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, excellent food both at breakfast and the evening meal (we had a half board package). It was a little noisy one night when there appeared to be a party on the outside patio, we did mention this & the hotel did say they would review how they manage this in future.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the front with a great view, air conditioning when it got a little hot was very welc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_chambers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £88 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing