We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, with fantastic spa”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, with fantastic spa”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Yes, as last reviewer said, hotel was quiet, but it's January and the weather is cold and wet, but the hotel is warm, comfortable, staff are welcoming and friendly. The spa is excellent, fantastic pools, steam room and sauna, with places to sit and chill out, which we made use of on wet afternoons. The gym is well equipped, air conditioned and up to date.
Our spa room was large, warm, a nice comfy bed and bathroom with shower and bath. The included breakfast was lovely, and if we wanted a full cooked English we just had to ask. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thegizzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    570
    162
    46
    19
See reviews for
279
930
106
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a car, we were given room 308 which was right by the lift. The hotel was deserted, we didn't even see another guest during our time here. The bedroom was small, bathroom incredibly dated and the pipes were noisy when toilet was flushed and shower used. We felt incredibly ripped off as we paid £76 room only! We checked out early and headed to the car to see a rude note left on my windscreen about the carpark being for guests. I headed back to the hotel to complain as I had written down the registration upon check in. No apology from the girl at reception, she just took the notice and said it was fine. That isn't the point. It's unprofessional. Could have stayed at the radisson for £4 more and had breakfast! I do recommend that you do this, funnily enough our boat was cancelled and we had to stay another night in Jersey. Radisson is much better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelKelly7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a recent business trip to the area in Janaury. Check in was very efficient and I was given a room on the second floor facing the rear which does provide a particular nice view. The room was small and very warm on entering but was very comfortable and offered homely facilities.

Breakfast is offered both as a buffet and a la cart dinning, I found the quality of food and service to be excellent. In addition we made use of the business facilities which are excellent and the hotel overall offers excellent WIFI.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on a business trip to Jersey.
The Hotel and the Room were warm, cosy, clean, and comfortable.
The bed was soft and comfortable and the general appearance of the establishment is one of being looking after.
The staff were courteous and on hand to assist where needed.
If ever visiting Jersey in the future I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Loved the large Spa Room with balcony and view over St. Helier. Walk-in rain shower. Large choice for breakfast - nice to have Jersey Cabbage Bread on offer every day. Room was clean and room service was good. We ate on the terrace one evening and the food was excellent, although with such a wide choice on Jersey we were out every other night! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a Spa Room and would recommend it - spacious with a large bed, balcony overlooking St Helier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdCar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Food excellent, service first class. Downside was the steep climb back into the hotel via the medical centre, but that can't be helped. Swimming pool tremendous, sauna and steam room v ery good

Jersey and indee the hotel is ideal for the long week end or the Monday to Friday break but it's limitations especially in times of poor weather does not indexer itself to a week or two break length

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.
The room was well equipped with kettle and trouser press and was also well heated and ventilated. Staff were all hard working, polite and friendly.
The pool(s) were the best I've seen and were clean and well maintained.
There was always plenty of choices at breakfast and always freshly prepared fruit and Jersey yoghurts.
A courtesy bus runs frequently to town or it is a 10 min walk.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,496 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing